We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
24
36
7
13
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
36
7
13
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2014 via mobile

Jane and her husband were awesome!! They welcomed my family and our dog to their resort with exceptional hospitality. The food was the best we have had in fiji. Jane and her two cooks make the best kakonda!! It was a great value and a perfect place for us to stay with our dog. They even gave our 11 month old a gift on our departure and emailed us pictures of our stay. Great little place. Simple and sweet.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bentzy1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

owners were very friendly and helpful. Great place to relax and forget everything. Food was very delicious. Staff is very friendly. Both myself and my wife stayed here for 4 days and it was a very good start to our trip.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank surendar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

I stayed here at the end of September for 3 nights for a very last minute trip away to escape and relax, in which was very much achieved. Throughout my stay the staff were more than accommodating and very welcoming as a solo traveller ( not a very prepared one), this was an absolute godsend.

Being approx 10 minutes drive from airport was also a big plus for me and my short stay. Food was lovely and great value, loved the home man ginger beer also. I made the mistake of eating in a nearby resort one of the days whilst out and about but didn’t make that mistake twice.

The accommodation is a few minutes walk from beach which was less than ideal but welcoming atmosphere, travel tips etc made up for it.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stlainey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

Ok, this is a cheap hotel, but please find another one. "Beachside" is just a name, because first of all it is not on the beach, and second you can't swim on the beach because that is the beach fishermen use to throw out dead fish. The location of the hotel is very off, so you would have to take a taxi wherever you would like to go, and that is fine, just remember that the hotel will charge you for making the call for you.. We booked the hotel for a whole week, and were supposed to stay some nights on one of the islands. We arrived at Beachside 3 days later, sometime after dinner, and then the gates into the hotel were closed locked, and the whole place was just completely dead. We found a hole in the fence and managed to sneak in. We had paid for our room for the whole week, so we still had our keys and were still guests there, so we found this extremely weird. We were also the only ones who stayed at the hotel, so we felt pretty alone out there in the middle of nowhere. The owners where not that friendly either. We had a misunderstanding with our driver the last day, and when we told the owner about this she clearly took the drivers side - which we found extremely disappointing, as everyone knows that the customer is always right. She at least could have stayed neutral. So we ended up paying the hotel's driver for a whole day we did not book. We also asked if we could keep our room a couple of more hours after checking out, because our friend was sick. That was not possible, even though we were the only ones there….. Fiji is AMAZING, the only bad thing about the trip was our stay at Beachside.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Camilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideResortFiji, Owner at Beachside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

We are sorry that Beachside Resort did not meet your expectations.

We apologise for the gates being locked on Tuesday 30th Sept.

By the same token I feel compelled to offer the other side of the story.

When you left for the Island were were told that you would be returning on Monday 29th,however you did not arrive that night and we did not receive any notification from you that you would be coming instead on Tues 30th or that you would be arriving at 10.30 pm, not shortly after dinner. Your friends accompanying you had no booking with us, and were knocking on our door to get a room.

We thought that maybe you would not be returning to stay with us - sometimes guests book for several nights but go to the Islands and do not return.

We have a duty of care to ensure that our guests are safe at night so we lock the gates when all guests have gone to bed at night.

We did our best to look after Mari, your friend who was so badly sun burned.We gave her panadol and cold pressed coconut oil for her burns. We also strongly suggested she did not go on the island day trip you booked with us and had our staff check on her throughout the day, taking her meals and drinks to the room, when you were gone and did not return until late. We assisted her packing up her room and carried her bags over and assured she was comfortable lying on our super large couch with cushions ,under the fans for an hour or so before you left.

We have housekeeping staff rostered on, they were waiting to clean your rooms having completed the other early checkout rooms.

The issue with the Taxi tour was regrettable - and this is the main reason you wrote your negative review because you stongly objected to paying the Taxi driver you had booked to take you on your Tour.

If you had told us the night before that you did not want to go, we could have cancelled the taxi - but as you had made arrangements directly with the taxi driver the morally correct thing to do would have been to contact the Taxi driver yourself - the night before.The poor guy is only trying to make a living,feed and educate his kids.

In Fiji and worldwide if you order a taxi then the protocol is to pay them if you cancel without prior notice.


We respect and appreciate any positive criticism from guests so that we can ensure that they have an enjoyable stay.

Cheers,
Philip and Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrived late at night due to a delayed flight and found the owners very accommodating to the point where we were made dinner at around 10pm even though the kitchen was closed and cleaned.
The meal we had was the most delicious we had the whole time we were in Fiji.
The rooms were simple but adequate and clean. Especially in relation to the price I would not have expected more and was very happy with what we had.
This hotel had a lovely inviting atmosphere and was very relaxed and friendly. Thank you very much

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews