We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning local”
Review of The Islander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Islander Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Straight across the road from the airport so it's very handy as I fly out to the outer islands. Basic rooms with air con which really helps but your can't alter it if you want for some reason, great kitchen to order food and 3.50 happy hour all day can't get better than that. Expensive for a single person but ideal for a family, I probably wouldn't stay here if It was my first time in Raro I'd go to a more touristy accommodation. Not a swimming beach either.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank kuki682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We booked in to The Islander for a half night before our 1am departure from Rarotonga back home out of pure convenience to the airport (2min walk).
What we weren't expecting was a beautifully pre-air conditioned room, super comfy beds & pillows and the most amazing bar and restaurant!
What started out as a fill-in accommodation ended up being somewhere we wish we had of had time to stay at for longer.
We had drinks at the beachfront bar watching the sun set, served by a fantastic bar tender who was friendly and talkative.
The food we had in the restaurant was incredible! The seafood platter which priced for one came out huge and big enough for the two of us (photos do not do justice).
So fresh and great flavours.
The live music was a perfect accompaniment to the whole experience.
Couldn't fault these guys!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ashlea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

On the one hand absolutely awesome customer service. Special mention to Naomi, David, Lafala, Mama Ina. On the other hand a few grumpy staff members who were reminded to speak nicely when talking to inhouse guests who must have looked like locals and not your usual touristy types..?? On the one hand a beautiful view of the beach, sea, whales - on the other hand unable to safely swim in it. Too many corals and too shallow. Yay for the swimming pool onsite.
Kids didn't mind swimming in front of guests in the miiddle of the restaurant. Now on the one hand the Hula Bar - on the other hand the noise it generated till 11.30pm at night 7 days a week. Loved the option of ordering a drink in a Fishbowl size glass. Loved the Cheap delicious Buffet breakfast and or lunch onsite. $15 per person. Sticky Chicken finger licking good. Alacarte menu a little slow to be served. Sometimes arrived cold.. Aircon and fans available. Only 1 Cook Island TV channel but many in house movies to choose from. Hire a bike or car onsite. Wifi available but not free. Compared to other resorts weve stayed at on Rarotonga maybe a 75 out of 100. If u want a quiet evening this is not the place. There is always something happening here. The Islander hosted a few events while we were there on top of their regular weekly Island Dance and Dinner Shows...we stayed for 12 days and had 3 rooms for all of us. If u want to experience and enjoy the island way and want to be part of that then this is the place for u. They need to offer White toast bread for breakfast. I took my own loaf to breakfast as they only served island bread. Some days the bacon and eggs were burnt. The chef said she added cream and cheese to the eggs which gave it a funny taste? Waitresses did the best they could to collect the empty plates in a timely manner. No self service Laundry. But reception happy to pass on any Laundry to the house maids and it will be back in your room clean and folded at $12 per load by the end of the day. We tried to search a local laundromat but the ones we found were too busy and too grumpy to take anymore than their usual motel loads. Overall a dream holiday for our family...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 3Raymarie469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Kia Orana.
It was a pleasure to look after your family for your 12 day holiday on Rarotonga.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Hop step and a jump from the airport (yup we just walked across the road lol) Friendly welcome from staff at 2am ... beds are comfy, room was clean, breakfast was great and staff were very helpful ... thanks again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WalkersNZ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Friendly staff, good food at restaurant, rooms OK, BUT even though they have put in double glazing, the thumping noise from the bar music is still audible - till 11.30 each night. My complaint was with the very bright spot lights which easily illuminated the rooms through the very thin curtains - all night. The hotel does offer earplugs and masks like on planes, but I can't sleep with these attachments. After complaining about the needless and intrusive light on my second morning, I was promised that they would be switched off once everyone had left around midnight. Night 2 was the same as night 1. After complaining again (more assertively), I was again promised that they would be switched off. Night 3 was the same as night 2, with the added frustration of a night watchman who I could not wake up at 2 am. After complaining yet again, night 4 finally got what I'd asked for - switch out the lights when there are no more customers. The place is lit up at night like they are expecting a terrorist attach - what a waste of electricity. If they have to keep the lights on, why not invest in proper blackout curtains? In short, I would not stay again or recommend. This place should decide if it wants to be a hotel or a bar, but won't succeed as both.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney_sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Our lighting arrangement has been resolved - all garden & beachfront spot lights now turn off at midnight.
Our live band at the Hula Bar operates 9-11pm (2-hours per night except Sundays); and the Hula Bar shuts down at 11.30pm.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
9.3 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.8 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.3 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
6.8 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
4.1 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Hotel

Address: | Main Road, Panama Beachfront, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: €103 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Airport Hotel is a great value for money 3 star beachfront hotel directly across the road from Rarotonga International Airport on the waterfront featuring 13 Cabanas, Coco Grill Restaurant, Tiki Bar, pool, outdoor dining, sandy beach, daily sunsets, low-cost wifi, Sky Sports on Big Screen, Live bands and unpretentious island style service from a team of dedicated Islanders. Our HULA bar on the beach offers all day happy hour from 11am to 11pm Mon to Sun with NZD3.50 beers, spirits, wines and soft drinks. Bring your own music with our 'U-DJ' product. Great for friends and family who wish to soak in Rarotonga's warm sunshine with cold cold drinks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Rarotonga Avarua
The Islander Hotel Cook Islands/Avarua, Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing