We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
61
75
72
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
75
72
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadisland nightclose to the airportairport hotelseafood platterflight homeshort stayhappy hourbuffet dinnerswimming poolouter islandshour layovercomfortable bedsearly checkika matanew zealandhula
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We booked in to The Islander for a half night before our 1am departure from Rarotonga back home out of pure convenience to the airport (2min walk).
What we weren't expecting was a beautifully pre-air conditioned room, super comfy beds & pillows and the most amazing bar and restaurant!
What started out as a fill-in accommodation ended up being somewhere we wish we had of had time to stay at for longer.
We had drinks at the beachfront bar watching the sun set, served by a fantastic bar tender who was friendly and talkative.
The food we had in the restaurant was incredible! The seafood platter which priced for one came out huge and big enough for the two of us (photos do not do justice).
So fresh and great flavours.
The live music was a perfect accompaniment to the whole experience.
Couldn't fault these guys!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ashlea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

On the one hand absolutely awesome customer service. Special mention to Naomi, David, Lafala, Mama Ina. On the other hand a few grumpy staff members who were reminded to speak nicely when talking to inhouse guests who must have looked like locals and not your usual touristy types..?? On the one hand a beautiful view of the beach, sea, whales - on the other hand unable to safely swim in it. Too many corals and too shallow. Yay for the swimming pool onsite.
Kids didn't mind swimming in front of guests in the miiddle of the restaurant. Now on the one hand the Hula Bar - on the other hand the noise it generated till 11.30pm at night 7 days a week. Loved the option of ordering a drink in a Fishbowl size glass. Loved the Cheap delicious Buffet breakfast and or lunch onsite. $15 per person. Sticky Chicken finger licking good. Alacarte menu a little slow to be served. Sometimes arrived cold.. Aircon and fans available. Only 1 Cook Island TV channel but many in house movies to choose from. Hire a bike or car onsite. Wifi available but not free. Compared to other resorts weve stayed at on Rarotonga maybe a 75 out of 100. If u want a quiet evening this is not the place. There is always something happening here. The Islander hosted a few events while we were there on top of their regular weekly Island Dance and Dinner Shows...we stayed for 12 days and had 3 rooms for all of us. If u want to experience and enjoy the island way and want to be part of that then this is the place for u. They need to offer White toast bread for breakfast. I took my own loaf to breakfast as they only served island bread. Some days the bacon and eggs were burnt. The chef said she added cream and cheese to the eggs which gave it a funny taste? Waitresses did the best they could to collect the empty plates in a timely manner. No self service Laundry. But reception happy to pass on any Laundry to the house maids and it will be back in your room clean and folded at $12 per load by the end of the day. We tried to search a local laundromat but the ones we found were too busy and too grumpy to take anymore than their usual motel loads. Overall a dream holiday for our family...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 3Raymarie469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Kia Orana.
It was a pleasure to look after your family for your 12 day holiday on Rarotonga.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Hop step and a jump from the airport (yup we just walked across the road lol) Friendly welcome from staff at 2am ... beds are comfy, room was clean, breakfast was great and staff were very helpful ... thanks again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WalkersNZ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Friendly staff, good food at restaurant, rooms OK, BUT even though they have put in double glazing, the thumping noise from the bar music is still audible - till 11.30 each night. My complaint was with the very bright spot lights which easily illuminated the rooms through the very thin curtains - all night. The hotel does offer earplugs and masks like on planes, but I can't sleep with these attachments. After complaining about the needless and intrusive light on my second morning, I was promised that they would be switched off once everyone had left around midnight. Night 2 was the same as night 1. After complaining again (more assertively), I was again promised that they would be switched off. Night 3 was the same as night 2, with the added frustration of a night watchman who I could not wake up at 2 am. After complaining yet again, night 4 finally got what I'd asked for - switch out the lights when there are no more customers. The place is lit up at night like they are expecting a terrorist attach - what a waste of electricity. If they have to keep the lights on, why not invest in proper blackout curtains? In short, I would not stay again or recommend. This place should decide if it wants to be a hotel or a bar, but won't succeed as both.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney_sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Our lighting arrangement has been resolved - all garden & beachfront spot lights now turn off at midnight.
Our live band at the Hula Bar operates 9-11pm (2-hours per night except Sundays); and the Hula Bar shuts down at 11.30pm.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

This place is great for a last minute mean before your flight home to NZ

Had a hankering for the last fish meal on Raro for a while so dropped into The Islander

Ordered the grilled game fish that came with a kumera (sweet potato) mash and some nice twists

Fish was cooked perfectly and hit the spot nicely

Recommended

Also great for general meals and a beer or 3. Two minutes walk from airport. You can see it from the arrival/departure area at the airport

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank McTravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you having lunch with us before flying home. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews