We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Islander Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
57
69
68
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
69
68
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadisland nightclose to the airportcheap drinksbetween flightsseafood platterairport hotelshort stayflight homehappy hourswimming poolouter islandsbuffet dinnerhour layovercomfortable bedsearly checkika mata
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Friendly staff, good food at restaurant, rooms OK, BUT even though they have put in double glazing, the thumping noise from the bar music is still audible - till 11.30 each night. My complaint was with the very bright spot lights which easily illuminated the rooms through the very thin curtains - all night. The hotel does offer earplugs and masks like on planes, but I can't sleep with these attachments. After complaining about the needless and intrusive light on my second morning, I was promised that they would be switched off once everyone had left around midnight. Night 2 was the same as night 1. After complaining again (more assertively), I was again promised that they would be switched off. Night 3 was the same as night 2, with the added frustration of a night watchman who I could not wake up at 2 am. After complaining yet again, night 4 finally got what I'd asked for - switch out the lights when there are no more customers. The place is lit up at night like they are expecting a terrorist attach - what a waste of electricity. If they have to keep the lights on, why not invest in proper blackout curtains? In short, I would not stay again or recommend. This place should decide if it wants to be a hotel or a bar, but won't succeed as both.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney_sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Our lighting arrangement has been resolved - all garden & beachfront spot lights now turn off at midnight.
Our live band at the Hula Bar operates 9-11pm (2-hours per night except Sundays); and the Hula Bar shuts down at 11.30pm.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

This place is great for a last minute mean before your flight home to NZ

Had a hankering for the last fish meal on Raro for a while so dropped into The Islander

Ordered the grilled game fish that came with a kumera (sweet potato) mash and some nice twists

Fish was cooked perfectly and hit the spot nicely

Recommended

Also great for general meals and a beer or 3. Two minutes walk from airport. You can see it from the arrival/departure area at the airport

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank McTravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you having lunch with us before flying home. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived into Rarotonga late in the evening so this suited us to stay here as it's across the road from the airport. The price was fine and the service was good. The standard was basic. We have the buffet breakfast and it was fine also since we were only having it once.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TopPaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. Wee are pleased you enjoyed your overnight stay with us.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the islander twice initially after our flight arrived and it was early morning with 4 kids under 7 (while extended family). After a muck up with our batch it was a last minute booking. The venue was basic and costly. However this is morning in Raro.

Please be aware that the islander is a party central with a hula bar so it was loud with music and bar noise until 1am.

The second time we stay was due to an illness and it was close enough to hospital if needed. Very close to airport with free shuttle. However so close you can walk it in a few minutes.

The tv didn't work in the room it kept stopping half way during movie.

Comes with a free breakfast which is great. But can order a cooked meal if desired at extra cost.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank nicolagP1225DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. The Hula Bar music turns down at 11pm and shuts down at 11.30pm (not 1am). If movie on the hard-drive may have a glitch - you could select another movie to watch. The free breakfast includes cooked options: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, baked beans, ratatouille, toast & spreads, muffins, seasonal fruit, orange juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We arrived at The Islander for Sunday morning brunch just after 10.30am and were promptly seated. The waitress advised of the all you can eat buffet for $20 however we politely declined and stated that we’d prefer fresh cooked food so ordered big breakfasts off the menu at $21 each. Between 5-10mins later our breakfast was delivered to our table. However, apart from the freshly cooked poached eggs, it was clear that everything else on the plate had been served from the buffet that we’d just said we didn’t want. Every single food item was between stone cold and luke warm. The creamy mushroom consisted of 3 slices of mushroom. The sausages had been cooked hours ago. The toast was cold. The bacon was more fat (cold!) than bacon.

Rather than complain, we ate a small portion each and went up to pay. I advised the server that apart from the eggs, everything else had come from the Buffett, just before they stopped service and that its not good practice to try such a thing on. I was looked at blankly, given a shrug of the shoulders and asked to pay $51 (we also had coffee and juice). So not only did they serve us up buffet food, they still charged us menu prices. An absolutely terrible experience and one that we’ll avoid by not visiting this establishment again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review.

Our breakfast menu options comprise different items to our breakfast buffet.

Eggs: scrambled on buffet vs. cooked to order for menu.
Sausages: chicken mini sausages on buffet vs. fried 'spicy chorizo sausages' for menu.
Hash browns: not available on buffet vs. fried & plated for menu.
Mushrooms: not available on buffet vs. fried & plated for menu.
Focaccia: not available on buffet vs. toasted & plated for menu.
Bacon: crispy on buffet vs. cooked (soft) & plated for menu.

There are differences between our menu items and buffet. The issue is that the items were served warm. We will address this by heating our plates prior to plating and serving.

Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews