We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go while waiting to fly.”
Review of The Islander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Islander Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This place is an easy place to be, in fact its where you would go while you wait to fly home. food is not fine dinning but it is very good and very well priced.
I would recommend the Hula bar as the drinks are much cheaper there than the main bar(not sure why though). Its good, its easy, its simple.

Room Tip: If you can afford a little more than backbacking, this would be the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Rizzla33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Kia Orana, thank you for your review. Our meals are fresh, fun, tasty and affordable. Hula Bar is cheaper because there is no service - you have to buy and collect from the bar. The inside restaurant bar provides table service. We will be opening 3 new restaurants around the island that will offer finer cuisine just to mix things up. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

Went for dinner as recommended and didn't disappoint. Service exemplary and had a few starters in the Hula Bar before moving on to dinner. Wine selection reasonable but cant praise the seafood enough. Fresh and not overcooked. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We buy fresh seafood daily and our chefs are well versed in cooking seafood beautifully. If we sell a bottle of wine for NZD35, you will buy the same bottle in other restaurants for NZD55 - on average. We focus on fresh, fun, tasty and affordable. Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

The location across the road from the airport is very convenient if you are flying out or in. The restaurant is good, with reasonable prices and it's right on the water so sunset dinners are the go. Rooms are large, clean and well equipped. 'All day happy hour' at the Hula Bar offers cheapest drinks on the island . but this also attracts hordes if revellers at night so if you plan to go to sleep early forget it as the Hula Bar is only 20 meters or so from the windows of the rooms and the music is on till late ...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank thomastsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Islander Hotel, meals, and drinks. We are installing ear plugs and eye masks as a temporary measure until double-glazed windows are installed to ensure a quiet stay. We do switch off all music at 11.30pm daily. Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Last day, we flew back to Rarotonga and stayed at The Islander Hotel which was conveniently across the street from the airport. We didn't stay overnight because our flight back home was at 12 midnight. The hotel was much nicer than expected such as being very clean, very little bugs (cockroaches, ants, flies, mosquito) compared to other places we stayed at. It had A/C, ceiling fan, small refrigerator, coffee/tea station, TV, and phone. Bathroom was good size and clean. We arrived at 10 am and they had room available so they allowed us to check in 4 hours early (official check in is 2pm) which was nice of them to do without charging me. We had room that overlooked ocean but there is not beach access from hotel. We walked 5 min. north to a nice calm beach area where we snorkeled. We had our own snorkel mask/pipe but borrowed fins from them which is complimentary. The hallway can be very noisy as well as the band playing at the bar at the beach in evenings. If you're in the 2 rooms that face the street, then band noise is probably not heard but the rest of the 11 beach facing units will. The rooms safe did not seem to work where digital display said "Error".

Room Tip: If you want ocean view, you'll have to put up with noise from band/bar else get rooms facing str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Kia Orana.
Thank you for our review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us. Our housekeeping team do their best to present clean & pleasant rooms for all guest stays. Our in-room safes have a reset button in the inside door area which will remove the 'error' message - which is written on the instruction sheet. We have a private sandy beach reserve with direct lagoon access where our beach bungalows are locate 500m west of the hotel. We hope you had a great vacation in the Cook Islands.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We arrived and were given a room, went there to find it not made up, we were given another room.. 3.30am someone (We assume security) unlocked and came into our room, muttering something about didn't know this room was in use. We were offered no apology when we talked to reception in the morning..The room had no blackout curtains, the windows rattled with the music from the bar and people sounded like they were right outside.. The meal (seafood platter) was disappointing.

Room Tip: As we were only there the one night I have no idea if there are quieter rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ammoanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Kia Orana,
Thank you for your review. Room assignments in a busy hotel require an efficient housekeeping service - we apologise for not having your original room ready in the first instance, but we are pleased we assigned you a vacant-clean room within minutes of your arrival. Our security officer mistakenly entered your room in the wee hours of the morning and we apologise for this error. Our eye masks and ear plugs will be installed very soon as a temporary measure until we install new double-glazed glass to muffle noise from the beach front area. Our seafood platter features fresh 'raw' and 'seared' items with very little cooked or deep fried options which is crafted for local tastes. We move on average 20-25 double seafood platters daily.
Despite all this, we do hope you enjoyed your Rarotongan holiday.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
9.3 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
7.3 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
7.4 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
6.8 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
4.1 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Hotel

Address: | Main Road, Panama Beachfront, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: €87 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Airport Hotel is a great value for money 3 star beachfront hotel directly across the road from Rarotonga International Airport on the waterfront featuring 13 Cabanas, Coco Grill Restaurant, Tiki Bar, pool, outdoor dining, sandy beach, daily sunsets, low-cost wifi, Sky Sports on Big Screen, Live bands and unpretentious island style service from a team of dedicated Islanders. Our HULA bar on the beach offers all day happy hour from 11am to 11pm Mon to Sun with NZD3.50 beers, spirits, wines and soft drinks. Bring your own music with our 'U-DJ' product. Great for friends and family who wish to soak in Rarotonga's warm sunshine with cold cold drinks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Rarotonga Avarua
The Islander Hotel Cook Islands/Avarua, Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing