We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$204
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$82
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$364
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$332
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Paradise Inn(Avarua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
59
71
70
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
71
70
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadclose to the airportisland nightcheap drinksseafood platterairport hotelshort stayflight homehappy hourswimming poolouter islandshour layovercomfortable bedsearly checkika matanew zealandhula
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Went for dinner as recommended and didn't disappoint. Service exemplary and had a few starters in the Hula Bar before moving on to dinner. Wine selection reasonable but cant praise the seafood enough. Fresh and not overcooked. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We buy fresh seafood daily and our chefs are well versed in cooking seafood beautifully. If we sell a bottle of wine for NZD35, you will buy the same bottle in other restaurants for NZD55 - on average. We focus on fresh, fun, tasty and affordable. Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

The location across the road from the airport is very convenient if you are flying out or in. The restaurant is good, with reasonable prices and it's right on the water so sunset dinners are the go. Rooms are large, clean and well equipped. 'All day happy hour' at the Hula Bar offers cheapest drinks on the island . but this also attracts hordes if revellers at night so if you plan to go to sleep early forget it as the Hula Bar is only 20 meters or so from the windows of the rooms and the music is on till late ...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank thomastsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Islander Hotel, meals, and drinks. We are installing ear plugs and eye masks as a temporary measure until double-glazed windows are installed to ensure a quiet stay. We do switch off all music at 11.30pm daily. Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Last day, we flew back to Rarotonga and stayed at The Islander Hotel which was conveniently across the street from the airport. We didn't stay overnight because our flight back home was at 12 midnight. The hotel was much nicer than expected such as being very clean, very little bugs (cockroaches, ants, flies, mosquito) compared to other places we stayed at. It had A/C, ceiling fan, small refrigerator, coffee/tea station, TV, and phone. Bathroom was good size and clean. We arrived at 10 am and they had room available so they allowed us to check in 4 hours early (official check in is 2pm) which was nice of them to do without charging me. We had room that overlooked ocean but there is not beach access from hotel. We walked 5 min. north to a nice calm beach area where we snorkeled. We had our own snorkel mask/pipe but borrowed fins from them which is complimentary. The hallway can be very noisy as well as the band playing at the bar at the beach in evenings. If you're in the 2 rooms that face the street, then band noise is probably not heard but the rest of the 11 beach facing units will. The rooms safe did not seem to work where digital display said "Error".

Room Tip: If you want ocean view, you'll have to put up with noise from band/bar else get rooms facing street
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Kia Orana.
Thank you for our review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us. Our housekeeping team do their best to present clean & pleasant rooms for all guest stays. Our in-room safes have a reset button in the inside door area which will remove the 'error' message - which is written on the instruction sheet. We have a private sandy beach reserve with direct lagoon access where our beach bungalows are locate 500m west of the hotel. We hope you had a great vacation in the Cook Islands.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We arrived and were given a room, went there to find it not made up, we were given another room.. 3.30am someone (We assume security) unlocked and came into our room, muttering something about didn't know this room was in use. We were offered no apology when we talked to reception in the morning..The room had no blackout curtains, the windows rattled with the music from the bar and people sounded like they were right outside.. The meal (seafood platter) was disappointing.

Room Tip: As we were only there the one night I have no idea if there are quieter rooms available
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ammoanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Kia Orana,
Thank you for your review. Room assignments in a busy hotel require an efficient housekeeping service - we apologise for not having your original room ready in the first instance, but we are pleased we assigned you a vacant-clean room within minutes of your arrival. Our security officer mistakenly entered your room in the wee hours of the morning and we apologise for this error. Our eye masks and ear plugs will be installed very soon as a temporary measure until we install new double-glazed glass to muffle noise from the beach front area. Our seafood platter features fresh 'raw' and 'seared' items with very little cooked or deep fried options which is crafted for local tastes. We move on average 20-25 double seafood platters daily.
Despite all this, we do hope you enjoyed your Rarotongan holiday.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Just across from the airport, handy first stop for your Cocktails!! All day Happy hour- great friendly staff - we had a seafood platter which was just a tad below average but the Pizzas are delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank randl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Kia Orana.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your cocktails, pizzas and the service from our team. Our seafood platters comprise mainly 'raw' or 'seared' seafood dishes designed for local tastes. Most places on Rarotonga prepare cooked and deep fried platters - not us.
We hope you had a great time in the Cook Islands.
Kia Manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews