We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
68
108
69
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
108
69
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar lagoon room rumba bar great cocktails seafood chowder star resort tropical breakfast kia orana enjoyed my stay cleaned every day stayed nights poolside room staff were friendly and helpful happy hour main town reef shoes muri beach
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I spent a total of 16 nights at Club Raro. Generally, it met my expectations. It would be a two star property by Canadian or United States standards. The property is located close to Avarua and the clockwise and anti clockwise bus stops in front of the resort. Muri Beach and Lagoon is a short bus ride away. The staff are friendly and helpful.
My room was ok. The bed was comfortable. However, the shower in the bathroom is very small. They also need to do a better job in cleaning the room and especially the bathroom. The airconditioner was very noisy. The grounds around the property are neatly kept with many native plants etc. However, I was disappointed in the size of the pool; it is very small. The lounge chairs are old and not very comfortable. There is a nice terrace overlooking the lagoon-ocean. It was a nice spot to view the whales that were breaching. I found the food at the restaurant to be quite good. Be aware that food is very expensive in the Cook Islands. They have a Happy Hour from 4-6 at the pool bar. Be aware that you cannot drink the tap water in your room; they need to have free drinking water available. In regards to Wifi, I purchased a data plan from Blue Sky but there is no hot spot at this property; you need to walk a short distance to a nearby resort.

Room Tip: The rooms in the overlooking the lagoon-ocean are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank squamish482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro.

Thanks so much for your feedback and taking the time to post - we really appreciate it.
We know we have some areas that need fixing and we are working on that so we would love to see you again so we can show you.
If you are considering travelling back to Raro please do not hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a great deal together for you.

Meitaki maata again from the Management Team at Club Raro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We really enjoyed our time in Club Raro- if you're after something that is money well spent then Club Raro is a great place to stay. The staff were very welcoming and always made sure you were looked after. We ate in the resort nearly everyday and really enjoyed the food, the continental breakfast is also very nice! We stayed in a lagoon front room where we could see the ocean from our bed. The rooms also have air-con and a fan to help stay cool. The resort has a pool and plenty of room to relax and enjoy the sun. Being only a 20min walk from town was handy too. Yes the resort is a little tired in places but the staff do a fantastic job in keeping it clean and tidy. The only downside is that there isn't a sandy beach out front but the resorts provides plenty of rock shoes so you can still swim out front, and its not too far to a nice beach anyway. Would give it a 3.75 rating- definitely above average and not too expensive. Thanks Club Raro :)

Room Tip: Definitely get a lagoon front room!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChelseaO224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro,

Thanks do much for your feedback and review. We work hard to make our guests feel look after and as a 2.5 to 3 star resort we know we may not be everyone's cup of tea but we are happy we worked for you and would love to see you again.

Please do contact us direct on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a great deal together for you.

We would love to see you again
Kia Manuia
The Management team at Club Raro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

The resort staff were helpful although at times not attentive and forgot our orders. Overall it was an ok stay. The room we had was fairly dated and the air con pretty loud. There was some renovations which may improve the quality of the resort overall. The swim up bar is novel but small.
It was close to Avarua which was good for the airport and the Saturday market.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mrtynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we do appreciate feedback. We are currently undergoing renovations and look forward to sorting out those issues you mention.

We would love to have you come and stay again with us so we can show you our improvements. Please contact us directly on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a great deal together for you.

Kia Manuia
The Management Team at Club Raro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 nights, poolside rooms are unclean, totally no tea and coffee facilities, linen needs to be upgraded, bath towels old and worn, and the pool was totally D grade. However if you're on a budget- Club Raro is for you! Handy to town and the staff were amazing and extremely warm and gracious. For an Australian owned property you should be ashamed!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank campbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Kia orana from Club Raro,

Thank you for posting your review, the issues you raise have been forwarded to the Operations Manager to deal with immediately as the rooms should not be like that and we apologise to you.

Please if you are considering returning to the Cook Islands we would like to make amends. Please contact us directly on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will put a great deal in place for you.

Kia Manuia
The Management team at Club Raro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed 5 nights and there where good aspects of the resort, but unfortunatly the condition of our room was shocking. In my view I think these rooms should be closed down, and have a complete makeover, some of the rooms obviously have been done, so I hope that they continue. Our room had a connecting door to the next unit, that we could hear every word, showering etc. When the neighbours put the light on, it shone right into our room through the gaps around the door.

Will let the photos show how bad our room was. We should have said something, but we did'nt like to complain, as the staff where lovely, especially Lindsay at the reception.
Our beds where comfy, and when it did quiet down we got a good sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea side appear to be in better condition,
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro ,

We apologise to you and have notified our operations team to look into the rooms and provide an condition audit as we do not want this happen to any of our guests.
Please next time do let us know as we want to make your holiday the best it can be.
Let us know if you are ever coming back to Raarotonga we would love to show you how great we can be and we will happily put a deal together for you so contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck

Kia manuia
The Management team at Club Raro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews