We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed My Stay at Club Raro”
Review of Club Raro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Raro
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I spent a total of 16 nights at Club Raro. Generally, it met my expectations. It would be a two star property by Canadian or United States standards. The property is located close to Avarua and the clockwise and anti clockwise bus stops in front of the resort. Muri Beach and Lagoon is a short bus ride away. The staff are friendly and helpful.
My room was ok. The bed was comfortable. However, the shower in the bathroom is very small. They also need to do a better job in cleaning the room and especially the bathroom. The airconditioner was very noisy. The grounds around the property are neatly kept with many native plants etc. However, I was disappointed in the size of the pool; it is very small. The lounge chairs are old and not very comfortable. There is a nice terrace overlooking the lagoon-ocean. It was a nice spot to view the whales that were breaching. I found the food at the restaurant to be quite good. Be aware that food is very expensive in the Cook Islands. They have a Happy Hour from 4-6 at the pool bar. Be aware that you cannot drink the tap water in your room; they need to have free drinking water available. In regards to Wifi, I purchased a data plan from Blue Sky but there is no hot spot at this property; you need to walk a short distance to a nearby resort.

Room Tip: The rooms in the overlooking the lagoon-ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank squamish482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro.

Thanks so much for your feedback and taking the time to post - we really appreciate it.
We know we have some areas that need fixing and we are working on that so we would love to see you again so we can show you.
If you are considering travelling back to Raro please do not hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a great deal together for you.

Meitaki maata again from the Management Team at Club Raro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

We really enjoyed our time in Club Raro- if you're after something that is money well spent then Club Raro is a great place to stay. The staff were very welcoming and always made sure you were looked after. We ate in the resort nearly everyday and really enjoyed the food, the continental breakfast is also very nice! We stayed in a lagoon front room where we could see the ocean from our bed. The rooms also have air-con and a fan to help stay cool. The resort has a pool and plenty of room to relax and enjoy the sun. Being only a 20min walk from town was handy too. Yes the resort is a little tired in places but the staff do a fantastic job in keeping it clean and tidy. The only downside is that there isn't a sandy beach out front but the resorts provides plenty of rock shoes so you can still swim out front, and its not too far to a nice beach anyway. Would give it a 3.75 rating- definitely above average and not too expensive. Thanks Club Raro :)

Room Tip: Definitely get a lagoon front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chelsea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro,

Thanks do much for your feedback and review. We work hard to make our guests feel look after and as a 2.5 to 3 star resort we know we may not be everyone's cup of tea but we are happy we worked for you and would love to see you again.

Please do contact us direct on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a great deal together for you.

We would love to see you again
Kia Manuia
The Management team at Club Raro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

The resort staff were helpful although at times not attentive and forgot our orders. Overall it was an ok stay. The room we had was fairly dated and the air con pretty loud. There was some renovations which may improve the quality of the resort overall. The swim up bar is novel but small.
It was close to Avarua which was good for the airport and the Saturday market.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mrtynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we do appreciate feedback. We are currently undergoing renovations and look forward to sorting out those issues you mention.

We would love to have you come and stay again with us so we can show you our improvements. Please contact us directly on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a great deal together for you.

Kia Manuia
The Management Team at Club Raro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 nights, poolside rooms are unclean, totally no tea and coffee facilities, linen needs to be upgraded, bath towels old and worn, and the pool was totally D grade. However if you're on a budget- Club Raro is for you! Handy to town and the staff were amazing and extremely warm and gracious. For an Australian owned property you should be ashamed!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank campbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Kia orana from Club Raro,

Thank you for posting your review, the issues you raise have been forwarded to the Operations Manager to deal with immediately as the rooms should not be like that and we apologise to you.

Please if you are considering returning to the Cook Islands we would like to make amends. Please contact us directly on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will put a great deal in place for you.

Kia Manuia
The Management team at Club Raro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed 5 nights and there where good aspects of the resort, but unfortunatly the condition of our room was shocking. In my view I think these rooms should be closed down, and have a complete makeover, some of the rooms obviously have been done, so I hope that they continue. Our room had a connecting door to the next unit, that we could hear every word, showering etc. When the neighbours put the light on, it shone right into our room through the gaps around the door.

Will let the photos show how bad our room was. We should have said something, but we did'nt like to complain, as the staff where lovely, especially Lindsay at the reception.
Our beds where comfy, and when it did quiet down we got a good sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea side appear to be in better condition,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro ,

We apologise to you and have notified our operations team to look into the rooms and provide an condition audit as we do not want this happen to any of our guests.
Please next time do let us know as we want to make your holiday the best it can be.
Let us know if you are ever coming back to Raarotonga we would love to show you how great we can be and we will happily put a deal together for you so contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck

Kia manuia
The Management team at Club Raro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
7.8 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
6.4 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
7.6 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
8 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
8.7 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Raro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: €72 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia orana from all of us at Club Raro, We love what we do and what our resort offers. From the early 1990's we have been delivering great holidays, weddings and events for our guests and we welcome you to our friendly, sensibly priced resort that suits all who want an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails.Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again. Club Raro is a friendly Resort offering 68 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms: Comfortable and tidy these rooms offer great value for money. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. With a small patio for you, a ceiling fan and air con this room type is a great low cost option. Poolside Rooms Framing our pool these rooms are a popular option with a small patio overlooking the gardens and pool area they are a perfect option for couples, families, and group stays. With ceiling fans and air con these rooms are comfortable and we can configure to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Self-Contained Rooms these rooms are limited and fill up quickly. A simple and convenient space again another great value room with air-con a kitchenette and a shared courtyard set in the gardens it really works for our budget savvy guests. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Our studio apartments are an excellent option for our guests who want a good deal and are perhaps a larger family or a group of friends or someone who is thinking of staying a little longer. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks and with ceiling fans , air con, and a kitchenette your stay is comfortable and affordable. The premium Lagoon front Rooms with a view of the Pacific Ocean these rooms are our premium and well liked by all. They are a studio style bedroom with a Super King bed, with air-con and a spacious bathroom, a private patio that overlooks the sun decks the Lagoon and the Ocean. Heaven! All rooms are comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES We think part of the joy of being on holiday is not having to cook so dining out is something we can make easy for you. Our Chef and kitchen staff are talented and have created great menus that offer excellent choices that incorporate fresh local produce. Couple great food with Happy Hours with great deals on Cocktails, Mocktails and beverages your stay at Club Raro is just what we say it is - an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands Our Food is delicious and reasonably priced! We have an a la carte Menu running that offers a brilliant combination of local and international food. You can dine in our Palms restaurant or take a table along our waterfront and poolside areas. We also have a Tapa's menu that RUMBA offers from 4pm - 9pm. Club Raro offers plenty of options for you so if you are one of our in-house guests or just decided to pop in and try and our menu we welcome you. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort! Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Cook Islands/Avarua, Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing