We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of Club Raro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Raro
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We had booked the room through booking.com and realized we had made a mistake with out check in/out day. We called them up and they sorted it out for us quickly and kindly!
When we arrived they were friendly and welcoming.
During our stay my boyfriend asked me to marry him and the ladies in reception were so incredibly helpful and excited for us!
They gave us a voucher for 6 free drinks to help us celebrate, Which we quickly made use of! The beach out front is a bit rocky and rough but nothing a quick bus ride down the road can't fix!
On the last night we stayed in and decided to get some food at the resort, my partner ordered the seafood bar snacks, I know it wasn't on purpose but something wasn't cooked properly or wasn't stored properly and he ended up with a rough round of gastro. Not a fun way to spend the last day/night. None the less it was an amazing trip and I would definitely go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SaPa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Kia Orana from all of us here at Club Raro,
Oh so sorry to hear about the gastro incident we will look into that.
Congratulations again for your engagement so happy for you and we would love to see you again, so don not hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily provide you with a great deal
Kia manuia
The Management team at Club Raro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Cons - Construction starting every morning but Sunday the week we were here, right outside our room :(
No coconuts at the bar, asked four days in a row
Room was noisy, basic and the springs were just about through the mattress
The most expensive and unreliable wi-di on the island, if you are staying here get a Bluesky prepay pack

Pros - the staff were friendly, the front desk ladies were all amazing, and honestly pulled the rating of this property from a 2 to a 4 - its a2.5/3 star resort with great reception staff.
We would come again, its a bit like school camp, but if you get a scooter and explore all day you'll love it

Room Tip: Lagoon room only choice lol unfortunately we didn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro

Thanks for posting your review - you have pointed out some areas we will be looking into. Yes you are correct our staff are awesome and we would love to see you again so please do not hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a great deal together for you.

Kia Manuia e meitaki maata
The Management team at Club Raro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a garden standard room adjoining room to another friend. Garden is a generous description. Would only stay here again with a beachside room. Poolside would be unpleasant, too. Pool is TINY and we booked in here for two reasons: swim up bar and reef right on the edge of the resort. The tiny pool is a turnoff but having snorkelling on the doorstep is great. They have quality snorkelling equipment, too. Room was clean, staff were the best part of our stay. I truly enjoyed talking with them and they embodied the Cook Islands hospitality I thought was a tourist mask, but no, lovely ladies every one of them.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Kia orana from Club Raro,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our resort and so pleased you enjoyed snorkeling our the front. We would love to see you back with us some time so please contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a deal together for you.
Kia manuia
The team at Club Raro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The facilities a bit tired, the staff are A 1 very lovely and helpful.
Disappointed after checking in midnight and the morning was woken with construction site outside the bedroom. Every day except Saturday work began at 7 am, so not sleep ins noisy all day so could not just have a siesta when you felt like it.
Disapponted that no-one told us they were building outside our room.

Room Tip: quiet after the construction had finished for the day. Check our what work they have on before you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lshastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro.

Firstly please accept our apologies for the construction noise our Operations Manager is making sure that this is controlled to certain hours. Please if you are still with us notify Front desk and we will happily organise an alternative room for you.
Kia manuia
Management team at Club Raro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Although the food served at the restaurant is really good, the staff managed to get our orders wrong on four separate occasions.

That being said, if you're looking for peace, quiet,and tranquility the Club Raro Resort is the place to go.

The wonderful staff at the will make you feel right at home the moment you arrive.

The sunset views over the lagoon from the seating on the terrace is a beautiful sight, and the steps down to the water's edge makes access to the lagoon easy. If you're lucky, you'll be able to spot whales from your vantage point.

If you're in the mood for adventure, someone from the team will hook you up recommendations and reservations for the array of things to do on the island. And they'll even arrange for transfers, if needed.

A stay here is highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Public Relations Manager at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro,
Thanks so much for posting your review. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to do this. We have great staff and a team that genuinely cares for our guests and are keen to provide you with info on all the experiences Rarotonga has on offer and to make that easy for you to access so thanks for mentioning our staff.. The sunsets and whales are a definite treat and so happy you were able to see them as this time.

We would love to have you stay with us again so please do not hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a great deal together for you.
Kia manuia e meitaki maata
The Club Raro Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
7.8 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
6.4 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
7.6 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
8 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
8.7 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Raro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: €70 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia orana from all of us at Club Raro, We love what we do and what our resort offers. From the early 1990's we have been delivering great holidays, weddings and events for our guests and we welcome you to our friendly, sensibly priced resort that suits all who want an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails.Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again. Club Raro is a friendly Resort offering 68 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms: Comfortable and tidy these rooms offer great value for money. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. With a small patio for you, a ceiling fan and air con this room type is a great low cost option. Poolside Rooms Framing our pool these rooms are a popular option with a small patio overlooking the gardens and pool area they are a perfect option for couples, families, and group stays. With ceiling fans and air con these rooms are comfortable and we can configure to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Self-Contained Rooms these rooms are limited and fill up quickly. A simple and convenient space again another great value room with air-con a kitchenette and a shared courtyard set in the gardens it really works for our budget savvy guests. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Our studio apartments are an excellent option for our guests who want a good deal and are perhaps a larger family or a group of friends or someone who is thinking of staying a little longer. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks and with ceiling fans , air con, and a kitchenette your stay is comfortable and affordable. The premium Lagoon front Rooms with a view of the Pacific Ocean these rooms are our premium and well liked by all. They are a studio style bedroom with a Super King bed, with air-con and a spacious bathroom, a private patio that overlooks the sun decks the Lagoon and the Ocean. Heaven! All rooms are comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES We think part of the joy of being on holiday is not having to cook so dining out is something we can make easy for you. Our Chef and kitchen staff are talented and have created great menus that offer excellent choices that incorporate fresh local produce. Couple great food with Happy Hours with great deals on Cocktails, Mocktails and beverages your stay at Club Raro is just what we say it is - an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands Our Food is delicious and reasonably priced! We have an a la carte Menu running that offers a brilliant combination of local and international food. You can dine in our Palms restaurant or take a table along our waterfront and poolside areas. We also have a Tapa's menu that RUMBA offers from 4pm - 9pm. Club Raro offers plenty of options for you so if you are one of our in-house guests or just decided to pop in and try and our menu we welcome you. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort! Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Cook Islands/Avarua, Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing