We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveller rating
464
210
39
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
210
39
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anchorage restaurant beach front drumbeat bar beachfront room reef shoes onsite restaurant bbq night happy hour palm trees cook islands restaurants within walking distance our honeymoon smaller pool come home yogurt rental car sunday night
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 732 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay staff are extremely friendly and accommodating the food at anchorage restaurant is excellent and staff are so friendly and helpful. The resort is handy to everything the rooms are clean even though it's fully booked there were never times when it felt full it's a very roomy resort.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank coreydick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Kia orana

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. travel safe and we hope to see you back again at the resort for your next stay on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We stayed at this resort in late July/early August, and had one of the beachfront units. We really recommend beachfront if you are able to get it - so private and just a short walk across the lawn to the beach, which we have to say was kept immaculate by the gardener . As the area tends to be a little rocky, you had to pick your way a bit carefully into the water, and when you go for a stroll along the beach, you can see why the resorts put such effort into raking the beach and removing any rocks. The only negative thing we discovered was there were small bits of glass (from bottles; green and brown) in the sand more noticeable than we'd have liked - rather a shame, we felt.
On the subject of the resort itself, we really could not fault it. We were treated with utter professionalism by everyone from the moment we were picked up at the airport. Robyn and Christina at reception were amazing, always ready to help; Dawn and her team at the Anchorage restaurant took good care of our meals and drinks from the bar, not to mention the Sunday night dinner and show. We really loved Tani and Rose for their smooth musical tunes to accompany the meal that night.The other smaller Drumbeat bar was a frequent stopping point at 5 each night for cocktails outside our unit and huge thanks to Candace for making them all so enjoyable- particularly the Pina Coladas! Best I had whilst in Raro. The gardens around the resort were kept in tip top order by the gardening staff, and the housekeeping staff were always polite, pleasant and professional.
The weather for the majority of our stay was fine and hot, so much better than what we left behind in New Zealand. As for those sunsets, we have dozens if not over 100 pictures to remind us what a great place Rarotonga is and already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Book early if you want the beachfront units. They're expensive but worth it. Away from the walkway to beach is the quietest.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R_and_CMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Our beachfront bure enabled us to get a good view of the lagoon and the open sea beyond. It was roomy with a well appointed full kitchen and many cupboards.
We arrived on a Sunday, a widely observed rest day in the Cook Islands. The room servicing had obviously been rushed. Small ants were thick, the air conditioning did not work, one window louvre was broken, the swimming pools were full of leaves and debris.
On Monday the airconditioning was fixed, the pools were cleaned but the broken louvres were not repaired during our stay. Differing receptionists gave us different information. Despite these limitations the Sunset Resort was a well located and pleasant spot at which to stay.

Room Tip: I would always prefer a beachfront villa with its pleasant sunny patio.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrahamChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Kia Orana

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sunday is considered a day of rest and family for local Cook Islanders and we do not have a grounds person working that day. I am glad we were able to respond on Monday morning to your air conditioner issue. We do have replacement louvers on order but unfortunately they have to be sourced off Island and deliver time frames are beyond our control. We do hope you enjoyed the Island and come back to stay with us again

Travel safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Great place to just chill out, snorkel, swim in the pools or on the beach, what a great relaxing area to be in on the Island, pool just outside our room, restaurant a few steps away, bar a little further down, restaurants both left and right from the resort..

Room Tip: About mid resort would be the best place then you are centre to all it has to offer.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bevan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed here for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute. From the pick up at the airport to the drop off, the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The room was very comfortable with a King size bed, ensuite and kitchenette (although with so many yummy restaurants withing walking distance, why would you!?). The Anchorage Restaurant on site provided a lovely fresh breakfast and the Sunday evening event was great fun.

The beach is just there, and the snorkeling was very good - free mask/snorkel and reef shoe loan available.

As others have said, not having the pool bar open outside 5-7 is a missed opportunity - we would have stopped by for a night-cap several times if it had been open.

We met several other guests who were on their 4th, 5th, 20th year coming to the resort, usually having tried others on the island first. Hopefully we can become returning guests too!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Quentin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews