We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, self catering on Rarotonga.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Kiikii is a cheap, self catering option to stay on Rarotonga island. Agree with many other commentators that the place is dated, my room looking like it had been stuck in a time warp since 1977. Rocky beachfront and away from main areas of the island so you will need to have own transport or the hourly bus service to get to towns, attractions and sandy beaches. Staff were polite and able to assist with me any queries and help organise transport.

My biggest gripe (and not the fault of the hotel) is that the location is right under the flight path of the bigger jets who often fly in at night. Being used to a city with a night flight ban I was startled in the night by jet engines roaring overhead around 2.30am, only to then be woken again an hour later by arriving guests dragging their suitcases on the gravel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank TurkishGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

KiiKii was a great price, and although the rooms are a bit tired, the place is having a major makeover and THAT POOL! We loved it, will stay again mainly for the pool and the awesome manager who let us book in for an extra day on the spot as we had a 2am flight, we cannot thank you enough for that hospitality. This place is great for travellers wanting a good pool, decent bed and easy access to town.
Can't wait to see the place after the renovations :-)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We only stayed here one night (after a late flight in) and whilst it was very cheap I'm glad it was only one night! We were in a room towards the front of the complex and it was SO noisy! we had cars and scooters going in and out all night. None of us slept a wink. The room could also do with a bit of a makeover/some repairs. The bedroom louver window fell out in my hands, the bed was rock hard and the bathroom sink was black (mould?). Once we ventured out of our room in the morning and into the daylight we found a very nice looking pool and some of the other rooms towards the back appeared to be "nicer". Perhaps check which room you are getting before you book?

Room Tip: Don't stay in one of the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank charliw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

This has been my third July trip in the past 3 years...the staff has always been so kind and helpful!....As of this past 3 week stay, I found the Kiikii to have shown so many renovations and improvements!...the pristine pool area and decking look great and the flowers/plants look beautiful!...whenever I mentioned little things, like the ceiling fan switch not working properly, it was attended to right away....the lagoon/reef view is gorgeous...awesome for whale sitings!..great buy for your money with smiles from staff!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

While we have been here the Telephone wires have been run throughout the property. I bought a Wi-Fi package of 2GB for $30(NZ) so I want to write my review before I max out my usage. The room #23 is right on the bay, the balcony is wonderful and the views are unbelievable. The buses can take you anywhere if you have no vehicle. All the staff were lovely to us. There is water in the office to resupply your containers saving money and keeping plastic bottles limited. Housekeeping was available every day, though we didn't need it daily. The pool is a huge hit, particularly with the kids and adolescents, fun to watch. People talk to each other, what a novel concept! There is one channel on the TV and it carries a variety of programming. Last night we watched the Lions win a test over the All Blacks, it was good to be able to see. News is on in the evening. The fan can be very handy, but sometimes just having the windows open is enough breeze. The sound of the sea will lull you to sleep. The kitchen has an electric skillet, pans with lids, plates, bowls, silverware and cooking tools and we ate every meal "at home". We truly enjoyed (are enjoying) our time here. There are a lot more expensive options but KiiKii has heart. It is not new, but it is well kept up and work is being done to bring it current with what travelers need these days.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa N, Owner at Kiikii Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Kia Orana Ruth and Vern,

Many thanks for your lovely review. You reflected exactly what we are aiming for our guests to see and feel: Our Cook Islands heart! What a nice surprise to read your review and to feel that every little effort that we are making to get this Inn up to date is worth it.

We are enjoying your company over here and your stories about your travels. You are a lovely couple and we certainly want to have stay with us again!

Kia Manuia (Good Luck)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
7.8 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
7.7 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
4.5 km away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avarua
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
8.7 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.3 km away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiikii Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiikii Inn & Suites

Address: 1 Tupapa Road, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: €55 - €81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kiikii Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KiiKii Inn & Suites is locally owned and operated, lending it an intimate, comfortable feel. The KiiKii is not a five-star foreign-owned resort, which gives the place its unique charm. It’s laid-back and local, and a great place to meet people. The KiiKii Inn & Suites front yard offers one of the island’s best, most consistent breaks for surfing – and the hotel’s got an outdoor shower and a pool for post surf-session recuperating. ​ The KiKii Inn & Suites has a range rooms and prices that can accommodate students and budget travelers, but it also offers deluxe waterfront rooms from which you can watch whales breach during winter and outrigger paddling teams racing through the water throughout the year. Whether you’re backpacking on a budget or looking for a safe, family-friendly environment, you won’t be disappointed with KiiKii Inn & Suites Rarotonga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Kiikii Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiikii Hotel Avarua
Kiikii Inn & Suites Cook Islands/Avarua, Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing