We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aremango Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Avarua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We loved the communal and shared living at Aremango BUT if that's not your idea of fun then perhaps a resort is for you? Shared facilities aren't always (actually never) spotlessly clean. We thought the shared kitchen and facilities are great with everything you need to prepare your own meals.
Although mainly younger people staying there are also some 'older' visitors.... including us!
There are nine rooms altogether not counting the separate fully contained bungalow.
Room Descriptions:
Rooms 1+2 : Each have a courtyard and sliding door. They are at the front of the house so have an extra front screened window as well as the sliding door for extra ventilation. Both have an outside shower with hot and cold water. It was great to have our own garden shower. We stored our bikes in our courtyard and felt As though we had our own private sanctuary.
Rooms 3+4:
These are also courtyard rooms and exactly the same as Rooms 1 and 2 but without the front windows. Possibly a bit quieter? They also have a private courtyard and outside shower.
Rooms 5,6,7,9,10:
These are large rooms with a window. They are closer to the toilets.
When you arrive the front door it may be shut and locked. Don't freak out. Your name should be on a piece of paper stuck to the glass with your room number. If it's not too late knock on the door to gain someone's attention OR just walk around the side and walk in through one of the unlocked sliding doors. Hopefully someone has left a light on for you. It's a little 'off putting' to arrive in the dark with the front door locked but don't let it worry you. Everything is safe. (Not a bad idea to carry a torch or have your phone torch handy)
Each room gets its own spot in fridge and your own cupboard.
There is a nice outside area to sit.
Lovi comes everyday to check on everyone. She is lovely and very helpful.

The location of Aremango is great in every aspect.
For supplies: Walk out and turn left and walk less than 5 mins to small general store or a bigger one if you turn right.
At both places you can purchase alcohol/ limited fruit and supplies are available
Walk out and turn right to cafes, an amazing bakery with coffee at (LBV), scooter, car and bicycle hire, shops and the Muri night market. There is also a pharmacy and doctor within minutes walk.
Everything is within 5 mins plus short walk.
For more substantial supplies walk out of Aremango and turn left to Wigmores supermarket.(About 2 kms or so )You really need to ride a scooter, bicycle or catch the 'clockwise' bus (same side as Aremango) to get there.
The best place for lunch is Moorings cafe. If you walk out of Aremango and turn right it's about a 20-30 minute walk. (1km) It's in the same side as Aremango. They catch their own fish each day and their fish sandwiches are amazing. We would share one between us both. Everything is so fresh and delicious. The beachside setting is lovely.
The Muri Night market is on Tues/Wed/Thurs and Sun. Thursday and Sunday markets are bigger and better. Get there early because things sell out. We are their a few times but food really wasn't that great.
We also ate at Vili's the busy burger place opposite but don't really enjoy it. Others do so it's just a matter of personal taste.
Our favourite activity was snorkelling... you can walk 5 mins down the track to a lovely beach. At low tide it is very shallow but you can still walk out and snorkel on the other side of the island opposite.
The best place for snorkelling is further down the beach opposite the 'Fruits of Rarotonga' shop. They hire out cheap snorkelling gear as well as make nice smoothies.
We really enjoyed our Aremango experience.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Suesuetonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2017

2 things are important to me in regards to accomendation; location & cleanliness. Aremango nailed the location part, but failed (big time) when it came to cleaning.

The place has in fact a great potential, but sadly the lack of maintenance shines through (hammocks are full of mold, the garden is not taken care of etc). The shared facilities were not cleaned during the 4 days we were there, the floors and the bathrooms became quite dirty. The kitchen and the rooms are nice, however. The owners are never around, so remember to call in advance to arrange for the payment.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebl1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

I stayed at Aremango Guesthouse twice in September 2015: once on arriving at the island, and a second time passing back through on my way elsewhere. Both times I stayed in a room with a private garden/deck, but to be honest the main garden at Aremango is lovely too (hammocks!). It was a nice laid-back place: Brendon and other staff such as Lovi are around at various points in the day if you need help with anything, and there is plenty of useful local info and a phone if you need to book trips, taxis to the airport etc. Shared kitchen and bathrooms were clean; good amount of storage space and fridge space for each guest; and communal areas like the outside deck to dine on and the TV room (with DVDs and books). Basically a great place to stay at the budget end of the scale, you can meet and socialise with other folks passing through or have some alone time if that's what you prefer. Good value for money and very comfortable, I'd definitely stay at Aremango again.

Room Tip: Rooms with own private garden (with shower) are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

This guesthouse located in Muri area and very accesible with public transport. It's clean and equipped with kitchen,refrigerator which is very useful.
To go to the beach you have to walk for a very short distance(only 1 minute)
To find a restuarant and supermarket also just a short walk from this place

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Loved it here. Other guests were very friendly. Rooms a good size.
Near to the beach.
The owners were lovely.
The cleaner was especially nice.
Would highly recommend
Good sized kitchen with labelled cupboards and fridge.
Laundry facilities
Lots of places nearby for eating out

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wiggerycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
7.1 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.6 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.3 km away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
244 reviews
0.7 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
7.7 km away
Wellesley Hotel Rarotonga
Wellesley Hotel Rarotonga
#2 of 9 in Rarotonga
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aremango Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aremango Guesthouse

Address: Muri Beach | P.O box 3115, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Avarua
Price Range: €43 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Muri Lagoon in Rarotonga, Aremango Guesthouse welcomes travelers, explorers and sun searches from all over the world, offering affordable comfort, warm friendly service and peaceful relaxation on our little island of paradise. The guesthouse surrounded with coconut palms, banana and mango trees, is seconds to the beach down a garden path and is in an ideal location for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Aremango Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aremango Guesthouse Hotel Avarua
Aremango Guesthouse Cook Islands/Avarua, Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing