We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect once again!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Beach House decking area - Sun, Sea & Sand, they only one missing is you.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach House decking area - Sun, Sea & Sand, they only one missing is you.
Garden Sea View Bungalow ~ Newest Addition ~ Brand New Signature Photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Beach House decking area - Sun, Sea & Sand, they only one missing is you.
Garden Sea View Bungalow ~ Newest Addition ~ Brand New
Signature Photo
Beach House Bedroom
Beach house bathroom area
Beach house decking, front on shot
The gardens
The beach, north
The beach, south
Garden Sea View Bungalow - lounge area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - bathroom area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - lounge area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - sleeping area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - lounge area, view of the lagoon can be seen from here
Garden Sea View Bungalow - lounge area, sleeping area and kitchen area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - kitchen area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - decking area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - view from lounge and decking area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - decking area
Beach Bungalow - Kitchen area.
Beach Bungalow - Sleeping, lounge and decking area.
Beach Bungalow - Lounge area, sleeping area and kitchen area.
Beach Bungalow - decking area.
Beach Bungalow - Lounge area and part of the decking are.
Beach Bungalow - Evening shot, decking area, onto the front yard and onto the beach.
Beach Bungalow - Sleeping area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Avarua, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Karen B
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect once again!!!!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our 3rd stay was as perfect as the other two!!! We just love it here and certainly recommend Sunset Palms - whether it be the beach house we stay in or the other 2 bungalows-. So peaceful and a great place for us to relax on our annual trip to Rarotonga, look forward to our next stay and seeing Annie, Terry, Nootoa and the family again :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genericlo...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying in the 1 bedroom beach bungalow. It was a home away from home. Beautiful home, in a superb location with only the sound of the waves. This is my happy place and I will definitely be going back for a visit. Communication before and during our stay with Nootoa was brilliant. Don't hesitate, book it now. You will have no regrets.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiBu_72
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay in Beachfront Property”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I had a great time staying at Sunset Palms Rarotonga. The property is conveniently located between the main town of the island and the southern beaches which are great for snorkeling. The bungalows are quite new - have kitchen, washing machines, and all one needs. There are three on the property - two beach front and one Garden which is just slightly set back. If you can try to reserve one of the beach front bungalows. The local beach is nice, with beautiful sunsets, and the water it not very deep, so it is great for beach walks, lying under a palm, or just take a short plunge into the water. The hosts are delightful, always willing to help and available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarris07
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect, quiet location”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

If I go back to Rarotonga I will definitely go back to Sunset Palms. I wont bother looking for another place. I travelled with my partner and we stayed in a beachfront bungalow. We wanted self catering options and a place where we could keep to ourselves if we wanted to (i.e. not a resort). What I loved about the bungalow is that the kitchen has a full size fridge and stove. The bed was comfortable. We had a view of the beachfront from our back porch. The bungalow was clean.
What I loved about the location is that we were right in between either Wigmores Supermarket (which also has fuel) or the main supermarket in town. There is a lovely church within walking distance and if you are like me and don't go to church, just head along on Sunday anyway and listen to the beautiful sounds of their singing. Swimming out the front of the bungalows is not ideal. For us it was fine, I found a little sandy patch to flop into and cool down but if splashing around is your style, you cant do much of that here. Too many rocks. You can snorkel around though. I didn't but I saw others doing it. We snorkelled around Aroa which was beautiful. Another good point about the location is that Castaway Resort is just up the road which has a great beachfront bar. When you walk to the beachfront from your bungalow walk up the beach to your right, no more than 5 mins walk, you cant miss it. The food is great and there are $10 cocktails going. Great for sunset drinks. Food might appear pricey for what the place looks like but trust me you wont be disappointed. The food is filling and I will go back there for more when I return. Waterline Bar and Grill is just a little further up the road (can walk if you are keen but we scootered). I suggest you also try this place out. Had sunset drinks here and dinner. Both were very good.

We hired scooters and that's how we got around. At $14 a day, you cant go wrong! Plenty of space to park your scooter at the bungalows.

If I had one downside to mention, it was that at the time of our stay (March 2016) there was no sign for the accommodation and our taxi driver had trouble locating it. There is another accommodation with a similar name, Sunset something....so be careful and have an address/suburb for the driver.

Its a family run business and we found all were happy to chat, help and offer advice. We did not feel their presence whilst lazing around but its easy to just pop up to the main house if you need something. Very welcoming environment.

**Nootoa, sorry I left it too late to review you on Air BnB and it has now expired. We really loved our stay and are glad your parents enjoyed the fish. We did too! Keep it up, you are doing a good job running the Sunset Palms accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic again at Sunset Palms:)”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned home from another awesome holiday on Rarotonga and our second stay at Sunset Palms. As in my first review this place is just perfect for us, nice and peaceful and has all the things we need in an accommodation place. Once again a big thankyou to Annie and Teri for being the perfect host and also for all their help and compassion when my partner feel ill and was rushed to hospital for care, they were brilliant!!! All is well now by the way, was just a wee hiccup at the end of our holiday!!!!!
Also Nootoa thank you to you and of course your family for having such a great place for us to stay, can't wait to see you all again next year :)
Karen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and on the best side of island
Liked least: Water pressure but can't get over that !!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$162
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing