We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome stay at Sunset Palms Beach House”
other travellers have booked this property
Beach House decking area - Sun, Sea & Sand, they only one missing is you.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach House decking area - Sun, Sea & Sand, they only one missing is you.
Garden Sea View Bungalow ~ Newest Addition ~ Brand New Signature Photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Beach House decking area - Sun, Sea & Sand, they only one missing is you.
Garden Sea View Bungalow ~ Newest Addition ~ Brand New
Signature Photo
Beach House Bedroom
Beach house bathroom area
Beach house decking, front on shot
The gardens
The beach, north
The beach, south
Garden Sea View Bungalow - lounge area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - bathroom area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - lounge area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - sleeping area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - lounge area, view of the lagoon can be seen from here
Garden Sea View Bungalow - lounge area, sleeping area and kitchen area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - kitchen area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - decking area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - view from lounge and decking area
Garden Sea View Bungalow - decking area
Beach Bungalow - Kitchen area.
Beach Bungalow - Sleeping, lounge and decking area.
Beach Bungalow - Lounge area, sleeping area and kitchen area.
Beach Bungalow - decking area.
Beach Bungalow - Lounge area and part of the decking are.
Beach Bungalow - Evening shot, decking area, onto the front yard and onto the beach.
Beach Bungalow - Sleeping area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Avarua, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen B
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome stay at Sunset Palms Beach House”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wow... what can I say, sure I can find the words!!!
We had nearly two weeks at this lovely beach house and gorgeous setting on the best West side of Raro. Sunset Palms was everything we needed and more and was what we required. Full kitchen with fridge/freezer and laundry which is what I love, plus seperate bedroom.
We can snorkel in the lagoon right out front no problem but of course there is Fruits of Rarotonga for snorkelling with the real big fish!! If you wish to stay where the so called better beaches are as the previous writer obviously wanted then it is busier around the south side and not nearly as peaceful, also they don't have the absolutely beautiful sunsets and is much more windier there too. Personal preference- we prefer the West side though.
Then owners of the beach house and studio unit are wonderful, are right on site at the front of the land, leave you alone but always there if you need to ask anything. Also Nootoa great to deal with doing the bookings and answering my questions!!! We have been to Rarotonga 5 times now and loved this accommodation and intend using it again next year and hopefully many more years to come.
Have to finish with saying.... ANTS- WHAT ANTS!!!!!! Still haven't seen all the hordes of ants the previous writer had to deal with!!!!!!
Thanks again Nootoa, Annie and Terry x

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything:)
Liked least: Shower pressure but not a biggie!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet beach house on the west side of the island”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a decent stay at this beach house. It was fairly clean, but our biggest concern/problem was the ants that were in the house. A bit off-putting to have them on the furniture and on your clothes. We also would suggest that more screens be put in the windows so you can be a bit cooler without getting so many mosquitoes in the house.
The beach was nice, but there are lots of rocks in the water preventing a real "swim". The water was very warm for our stay though so we often just brought the plastic chairs right into the water to soak a bit. You could sort of snorkel and see fish while in the small spots that have rocks cleared away.
The caretaker, Pu, was very friendly. She explained about the dogs on the island and helped get us a plunger when the shower drain was slow.
We rented bikes to get around the island, which was good so that we could go to the south side of the island where the beaches are nicer for snorkelling and swimming.
We had a decent stay, but would have preferred somewhere closer to the better beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right on the water
Liked least: The insects
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S
Saratoga NSW
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A fantastic spot to explore Raratonga”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Sunset palms is owned by Noota and he made it very easy to book and answered all our questions very promptly by email. Annie and Terry are the managers. Annie checked in on us most days to see that everything was ok and to address any issues, the most important thing was to bring fresh fruit. She was warm, hospitable, friendly and welcoming.
We stayed in the beach house and there is a studio next door.
The house is approximately 13 years old, spotless but a bit tired. It has everything you could possibly need including a washing machine and a bbq. These were great.
Because the beach house is at the end of a driveway it is away from any traffic noise and very quiet. It is right on the beach so you can go swimming/snorkelling right from your accommodation.
There is a community water station for refilling your water bottles and a Friendly Mart less then 5 minutes walk. I had problems with the hotspot for internet but it works perfectly at the Friendly Mart.
There are a couple of restaurants within easy walk.
Down town Avarua is about 20 minutes on the bus which stops almost any where on the main road.
My husband and I don't like staying at big resorts, we find them plastic and impersonal. We loved Sunset palms as it is completely the opposite. If I am ever lucky enough to return to Rarotonga, Sunset palms would be my first choice to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the back verandah, glass of wine watching the sunset
Liked least: The noisy rosters but wear ear plugs at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Spot - Beautiful Location - Quiet & Peaceful”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Sunset Palms in the Beach House with our daughter & partner in the Studio in February. Arrived early in the monring & Annie had everyting ready to greet us.
The location right on the beach is fantastic & surrounded by leafy trees keeps the whole complex cool & shady. Easy walk to nearby restaurants along the beach. Property facilities has everything you need for your stay. Large deck out the back suitable for relaxing in the evening over a cool refreshing drink. One suggestion I would have is to upgrade the fans in both house & studio. It is difficult to get a cool breeze going on a still night so a simple refresh of this would be a positive step.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & service
Liked least: Fans need upgrading
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had been on holidays for 2 months and ended our travels with a one week stay at Sunset Palms. We enjoyed every moment in this beach house with ever constant views of the ocean. Annie our hostess was very pleasant and helpful. We hope to return one day and would definitely stay at Sunset Palms. You should too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$163
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing