We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spicy squid”

Myeong Ga Restaurante Coreano
Ranked #59 of 1,194 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Squid is very good. In an area which is dangerous to walk at night. The casino is across the road which makes for interesting people watching.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank GourmetMVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2018

Being, currently, the only Korean restaurant in town, gives the place a certain edge and draw. Located, however, just a half block off the main square, across the street from the biggest casino in town, and surrounded by expensive hotels, they take advantage of the neighborhood when it comes to pricing. We found the food to be of mixed quality - good dumplings, a great chicken dish, a barely mediocre seafood noodle dish. And all for close to double the price we'd have paid for the same back home across the river in Buenos Aires. Service was friendly though somewhat haphazard.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank saltshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Food was pretty good. We enjoyed all except for the sweet & sour pork because they used lemon instead of pineapple so it left a sour and bitter after taste. Overall we enjoyed and will come back again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

This fabulous restaurant located few meters from Plaza Republica offers you a very good Korean dish with several levels of spice (from non spice to really hot). Waitress are very gentle and speak Spanish, English and Korean. Don´t forget ask the level of people but if you love spicy food this is your place to have a fantastic lunch or dinner.
They don´t accept Amex, only Visa, Mastercard and Debit.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P5678KJcarlosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Having been travelling in Chile, Argentina and Uruguay and started feeling spice withdrawal symptoms, I immediately entered this restaurant when I discovered it down the street from my hotel (it happened to be dinner time). I found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful (the young man of Korean origin spoke outstanding English).

The food was excellent. I had a sweet and spicy chicken dish - and liked it so much that I went back for lunch the next day to try another chicken dish (this time in sour soy sauce). While the latter also was very good, it was not as delicious as the sweet and spicy chicken. I also tried the fried dumplings, which were much better than those served in most Chinese, Korean or Japanese restaurants I have tried in Europe or North America.

The atmosphere of the restaurant is a bit plain, but it was clean and inviting.

Prices were fair and the staff remained efficient throughout both meals I had there.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tiralb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myeong Ga Restaurante Coreano also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Myeong Ga Restaurante Coreano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing