We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit far off but simply flawless!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Very nice hotel in the Carrasco neighborhood of Montevideo. Do beware that it is not centrally located but halfway between the airport and the old city center. Breakfast buffet is good. The breakfast room itself is slightly small and it can get crowded but ok. In order to go the beach you need to cross the road ("Rambla") which can take some patience (depending on the traffic). The hotel provides towels, umbrellas and beach chairs. The swimming-pool is quite small but ok for a quick dip after the beach. Personnel was very friendly & helpful at all times. Rooms are clean and with modern design. Just one bad thing: WiFi has regular drop-outs (especially when all guests tried to use it) and that requires you to wait for 1-2 minutes before being able to reconnect (not a big deal but still tedious). We stayed here for three nights and I can really recommend this place for your stay in Montevideo.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank saltacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilde E, Gerente at Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

Dear Saltacity,

Initially, I would like to personally thank you for leaving such a detailed review about your positive and excellent experience with us at our Regency Rambla Hotel!

We are all happy to hear your kind words about our respective services and especially the ones related to the service from our personnel!

I will personally tell them about your words since they all love to hear when guests value their daily efforts to provide positive and excellent experiences to our guests!

In regards to your amiable words about our location, you are correct, we are approximately about a 15 minute car ride from the Carrasco International Airport and from the Center of Montevideo (maybe to the center, depending on the traffic, it could imply 5 additional minutes).

Concerning our breakfast room, we tend to agree with you that it is not big and that sometimes it can get crowded, however, it was designed considering our 30 room capacity and we always tend to accommodate our guests comfortably.

In relation to our wi-fi “drop-outs”, we must admit to you that this is not common at our hotel, since we have an top quality router and high speed internet connection, we are sorry to hear you didn´t received the appropriate wi-fi service. I guarantee you I will pay special attention to this aspect in the following days.

Last but not least, thanks for your recommendation, we appreciate it!

We look forward to have the pleasure of receiving you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2015

we came to Montevideo for our honeymoon a few years ago and stayed at the Regency Rambla. It was the perfect spot for the perfect honeymoon. The rooms were very large with a secluded patio the had stairs doen to the pool. It's right on the beach and in walking distance of great restaurants. The breakfast was a normal continental reakfast,but was set up beautifully, everything was fresh and there was plenty to choose from. We had lunch in our room a few days as there is a shop close by and the room has a nice kitchen. We are already planning ournext trip to this perfect spot!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angelique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilde E, Gerente at Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear Angelique K,

To begin with, I would like to personally thank you for leaving your review about your positive experience with us at our Regency Rambla Hotel.

We are also happy to have been part of your “perfect” honeymoon! Thanks for you amiable words!

Moreover, it is also a pleasure for us to read that you really enjoyed our strategic location in Montevideo, the comfort of our spacious rooms and our daily fresh breakfast.

We look forward to have the pleasure of receiving you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

I had the chance to stay at the Regency for a week in October. From check-in, the staff was extremely helpful, providing information on the neighborhood, calling taxis for me and helping with an issue in my room when the power was tripped.

The hotel is more of a small boutique style -- with 3 levels of rooms. My room was in the back, overlooking the garden and was blissfully quiet. The rooms are nicely furnished with modern style furnishings and flooring. A mini kitchen makes it a comfortable for those staying for longer periods of time. A great breakfast is set out each morning with yogurts, cereals, pastries and meats/cheeses.

The hotel is located on the Rambla, across the street from the beach. Living in a city, I am accustomed to walking everywhere, so I did not mind the 10-15 minute walk to downtown Carrasco where there are a wide assortment of boutiques and restaurants. I walked back and forth each night (by myself) and never felt threatened or unsafe. Carrasco is a lovely suburban neighborhood of Montevideo. The only "challenge" with the location is that the Rambla is very difficult to cross (to get to the beach side) -- there are limited crosswalks and people drive incredibly fast down the street. I made a run for it a few times, but it was really tricky. If you're having a taxi drop you off, insist that they drop you on the hotel side, as it's not safe to cross at night.

There is a bus that runs along the rambla and goes directly to the old city center. I took this bus a few times to visit tourist sites, and taxied back to the hotel when I was ready to return rather than navigating finding the return buses in he bustle of downtown.

There is a small pool and yard in the back that could be used in summer-- although the beach is at your doorstep! I took many lovely walks around the neighborhood marveling at the interesting European meets Latin American architecture. Carrasco is a very interesting neighborhood -- and is very close to the (modern and new) Montevideo airport!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet room, ask for something overlooking the back gardens rather than f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank E-ETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilde E, Gerente at Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Dear E-ETravel,

First of all I would like to personally thank you for leaving such a detailed review about your experience with us at our Regency Rambla Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, valued our different services and particularly the service from our staff, since we all make a great effort in a daily basis in order to try to provide positive and excellent experiences to all of our guests. In addition, I will personally tell the personnel about your amiable words about their service, since they all love to hear when guests value their service.

Concerning our neighborhood, thanks for your words, we appreciate them. Further, we also tend to think similar about our lovely neighborhood, we are proud of it!

On the other hand, you are correct in regards to the Rambla being difficult to cross sometimes. However, we have a personal agreement with the local government, consisting in that they programed the lights in order to facilitate the cross of the Rambla. Further, now the closest possibility to cross the Rambla is only 4 blocks distance to the right of the hotel.

We look forward to have the pleasure of receiving you again at our hotel!

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights over Xmas 2014 with our two teenage sons.

It's a good 15 minute drive from Downtown, we rented a car, and I'm really glad we did as restaurants and shopping etc were all slightly too far to walk to comfortably.

Pros:
1. Friendly, helpful, English speaking staff.
2. Nice little pool, though it was absolutely freezing.
3. Across from extremely nice beach.
4. Good sized rooms, comfortable, everything worked.
5. Free parking.
6. Good Wifi, which except for here we found hard to find in S. America.

Cons:
1. Hotel is separated from beach by an extremely busy highway with no crosswalk for 1/2 mile. Crossing the street is scary and you can wait 10 minutes at times. This is this hotel's fatal flaw, I am afraid.
2. For the same reason, front facing rooms are quite noisy with traffic noise, though this didn't bother us as we live in a city.
3. Room was kind of ugly, bland design and decoration.
4. Quite expensive for this location and the type of room.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregT895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilde E, Gerente at Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2015

Dear Greg,

First of all, thanks for leaving your detailed review about your experience at our Regency Rambla Hotel.

Further, we also appreciate you valued our personnel´s service, since we all make a great effort day by day in order to pursue service excellence,

Concerning your Cons:

1 – It is true that we have a busy highway between the hotel and the beach. However, we made some negotiations with local Government in orden to find a solution and they coordinated traffic lights regulators in order to have some minutes without cars. Also there is a safe place to cross about 3 blocks from the hotel.
2 – In regards to the front facing rooms, you are correct about the noise, although we have anticipated that and we placed specialized double glassed windows and additional materials in order to reduce noise impact from the highway. We have also some back rooms which are quiter
3 – We apoligizes because our design wasn´t aligned with your personal taste. Regency Rambla is a 3 year-old design apart hotel with minimalistic decoration and although its decoration is valued by most of our guests we understand your personal opinion.


Last but not least, we hope that the Pros “weight” more than the Cons, and to being given a second opportunity in the near future so that we can provide you a great experience!

Warm regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

Montevideo que bien que te veo...!!! when enjoying Montevideo..Uruguay you must be near the beach..

Off course the beach is not Caribbean BUT the sunsets are one of the best in the world.

The regency is across the road from Carrasco beach.. walking distance to Arocena main street for shops and casino.

It is away from the city so if you are looking for downtown this is not it!!

If you want away from it all and still closeby this is it.

Modern, kitchenette great!!!

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvimangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PABLO L, Gerente at Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2015

Dear Alvimangles,

Thanks for your positive words about your stay at our Regency Rambla and even our city, Montevideo!

We are happy to hear that you valued our location, since as you well said, we are located at the neighbourhood of Carrasco, in front of the Río de la Plata (River), and a few metres from one of the main avenues of the zone, Av. Arocena, which offers several options of different services.

On the other hand, we are also located about 5 minute car-ride from one of the 3 Shoppings of the city, being the Portones Shopping, about 10 minutes from the neighbourhood Pocitos and also approx. 10 minutes from the International Airport of Carrasco.

We look forward to have the pleasure of receiving you again at our hotel.

Warm regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Carrasco
Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel
Regency Golf Hotel
#20 of 87 in Montevideo
747 reviews
Carrasco
Regency Suites Hotel-Montevideo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Park Hotel + Spa
#35 of 87 in Montevideo
240 reviews
My Suites
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
1,251 reviews
Carrasco
Hotel Cottage Carrasco
Hotel Cottage Carrasco
#26 of 87 in Montevideo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel

Address: Rb. Republica de Mexico 6079, Montevideo 11408, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: €66 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing