We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed 10 January 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights over Xmas 2014 with our two teenage sons.

It's a good 15 minute drive from Downtown, we rented a car, and I'm really glad we did as restaurants and shopping etc were all slightly too far to walk to comfortably.

Pros:
1. Friendly, helpful, English speaking staff.
2. Nice little pool, though it was absolutely freezing.
3. Across from extremely nice beach.
4. Good sized rooms, comfortable, everything worked.
5. Free parking.
6. Good Wifi, which except for here we found hard to find in S. America.

Cons:
1. Hotel is separated from beach by an extremely busy highway with no crosswalk for 1/2 mile. Crossing the street is scary and you can wait 10 minutes at times. This is this hotel's fatal flaw, I am afraid.
2. For the same reason, front facing rooms are quite noisy with traffic noise, though this didn't bother us as we live in a city.
3. Room was kind of ugly, bland design and decoration.
4. Quite expensive for this location and the type of room.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregT895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilde E, Gerente at Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2015

Dear Greg,

First of all, thanks for leaving your detailed review about your experience at our Regency Rambla Hotel.

Further, we also appreciate you valued our personnel´s service, since we all make a great effort day by day in order to pursue service excellence,

Concerning your Cons:

1 – It is true that we have a busy highway between the hotel and the beach. However, we made some negotiations with local Government in orden to find a solution and they coordinated traffic lights regulators in order to have some minutes without cars. Also there is a safe place to cross about 3 blocks from the hotel.
2 – In regards to the front facing rooms, you are correct about the noise, although we have anticipated that and we placed specialized double glassed windows and additional materials in order to reduce noise impact from the highway. We have also some back rooms which are quiter
3 – We apoligizes because our design wasn´t aligned with your personal taste. Regency Rambla is a 3 year-old design apart hotel with minimalistic decoration and although its decoration is valued by most of our guests we understand your personal opinion.


Last but not least, we hope that the Pros “weight” more than the Cons, and to being given a second opportunity in the near future so that we can provide you a great experience!

Warm regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

Montevideo que bien que te veo...!!! when enjoying Montevideo..Uruguay you must be near the beach..

Off course the beach is not Caribbean BUT the sunsets are one of the best in the world.

The regency is across the road from Carrasco beach.. walking distance to Arocena main street for shops and casino.

It is away from the city so if you are looking for downtown this is not it!!

If you want away from it all and still closeby this is it.

Modern, kitchenette great!!!

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvimangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PABLO L, Gerente at Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2015

Dear Alvimangles,

Thanks for your positive words about your stay at our Regency Rambla and even our city, Montevideo!

We are happy to hear that you valued our location, since as you well said, we are located at the neighbourhood of Carrasco, in front of the Río de la Plata (River), and a few metres from one of the main avenues of the zone, Av. Arocena, which offers several options of different services.

On the other hand, we are also located about 5 minute car-ride from one of the 3 Shoppings of the city, being the Portones Shopping, about 10 minutes from the neighbourhood Pocitos and also approx. 10 minutes from the International Airport of Carrasco.

We look forward to have the pleasure of receiving you again at our hotel.

Warm regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2014

The hotel is far from the downtown or old town area (15 min by taxi), but has a nice view of the river and the area feels very upscale.

About a 15 minute walk away is a nice pedestrian area with restaurants, supermarket, shops which is enjoyable. The rooms with views of the river are large, with a separate living room. Rooms have fridges, microwaves, and kitchen utensils and dishes. The bathrooms are modern and clean.

Breakfast includes pastries, breads, fruit, spreads, juice. The breakfast area is small.

Front desk staff was helpful.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank christinern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PABLO L, Gerente at Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2015

Dear Christinern,

Firstly, thanks for leaving your kind words about your positive experience with us at our Regency Rambla Hotel.

We are also happy to read that you valued positively our different services.

Concerning our location, as you well said, we are located about 15 minute walk or 5 minute car-ride from Arocena Avenue, which has several restaurants and shops.

Further, as you also mentioned, we are located at an up-scale neighborhood called Carrasco, in front of the Río de la Plata (River).

Furthermore, in regards to our breakfast, we also include coffee, tea´s, different yogurts, milk and a fresh fruit salad, being a complete continental breakfast.

We look forward to receive you again in your next stay at Montevideo!

Warm regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Stayed here for ten nights at the start of April with my wife and son (3 year old)

Room was very good. Plenty of hot water, A/C worked well and the bed was good, I actually prefer the hard floors over the carpet, we had a room at the rear of the property so there was absolutley no noise from the road or adjoining properties. TV had some english channels and the cartoon channels. Kitchenette was a bonus although some instructions for the microwave in english might be handy.

Breakfast was good and always tasted fresh. Some mornings, I was able to get a tray and take the food back to the room which was very handy. Staff also had no problem providing us with warm milk late at night when we ran out. There is no restaurant but when you can get La Pasiva to deliver to the door, it's a great option.

Special mention to the cleaner who did a fabulos job with our room, always clean by the time we got back and always well stocked.

Location was perfect for us as we had a hire car and were visiting family nearby which meant we could avoid the chaos of the city compared to the previous visit when we stayed at the Sheraton. There are about 10 car parking spaces below the hotel but in summer, I would imagine it could get full and you may have to park around the corner. I didn't think it was that far to walk to the resturants but we did use the car everyday.

Overall, we found it to be fantastic value for the price. Staff were very good with our son and we felt safe here. Would easily consider staying here again when we return in a few years.

Room Tip: Stay at the back to avoid the road noise. Rooms at the front would have a good view on the other han...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlottaMargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Everything you need to be comfortable and rest well. Comfortable bed, and room was well appointed. Not the best location as a taxi is needed to avoid a long walk to any restaurant. Overall decent value for money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tommy2ties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PABLO L, Gerente at Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Tommy2ties,

We appreciate you kind feedback about your last stay at Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel; we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

Once again we thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Matilde Elhordoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
Carrasco
Best Western Pedro Figari Hotel
Carrasco
Hotel Cottage Carrasco
Hotel Cottage Carrasco
#33 of 87 in Montevideo
332 reviews
Carrasco
Belmont House
Belmont House
#50 of 87 in Montevideo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Golf Hotel
#23 of 87 in Montevideo
715 reviews
Holiday Inn Montevideo
#43 of 87 in Montevideo
552 reviews
Carrasco
Regency Suites Hotel-Montevideo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel

Address: Rb. Republica de Mexico 6079, Montevideo 11408, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: €66 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Rambla Design Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing