We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
135
77
16
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
77
16
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town sacred valley buy candy train station machu picchu plenty of hot water cancelled due overnight stay continental breakfast fun to watch corner room small hotel excellent location hotel lobby aguas caliente breakfast was excellent stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We stayed here two nights, on our way to and from Aguas Calientes and Machu Picchu. The host and staff are very nice and helpful, and the breakfast was good in the usual Sacred Valley style (eggs, fruit, fresh bread, local cheese, juices, jams, tea). Our first room was the attic level at the top of the stairs, which was kind of fun and nicely quiet. The angled ceilings impinge a bit, making it a small space, and the bathroom is tight, with a narrow shower. All OK for us, though, as we were off to explore amazing Ollantaytambo and didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The second room was on the front of the hotel, just above the entry door, so it was less quiet, though not too bad. It was a bit chilly but the staff gave us extra blankets and a space heater, so we were comfortable. The location was excellent, just around the corner from the main square and a short walk to the main ruins. A fair amount of traffic flows right by on the main road out of the plaza, but the hotel is built well enough to shield most of it. We also appreciated the filtered water always available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal S, Gerente at SAUCE Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear Don,
Thank you for your appreciations,
We'll be glad to have you with us in another ocation.
So you can enjoy our renovated rooms...

Our staff was happy to help you out with cold...
Next year we'll have ecological chimenees in each room.
You'll love them...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in this great hotel with our 2 children. Room 13 has an impressive view on the Ruinas. The staff is super child-friendly and the breakfast is great. I would directly book again!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jan_Pla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal S, Gerente at SAUCE Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you Jan,
we'll be happy to have you with us again...
And you would enjoy our renewed rooms.

Best WIshes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Quaint Hostel with nice big room overlooking the village and only two blocks from the ruins and the market. Lots of cafe's around. Good hike over uneven surface to train station but only 3 S ($1) in rickshaw to the train station main area.
Lots of nice wood in the hostel with some interesting artwork.
Breakfast was basic, and not on time with manageress with an attitude. Otherwise great overnight stay in quaint village en route to Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: room with view of the village on 2nd floor
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank docCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal S, Gerente at SAUCE Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you Criag,
Soon our breakfast will be improve, and sorry for the attitude of our personal.
We'll check it out.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. Breakfast was good and they cooked up fresh eggs along with continental breakfast. There is a comfy shared lounge area. The bed was comfortable and there is a safe in the room. They will also let you leave your bags locked in a room if you aren't leaving till later in the day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KTJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal S, Gerente at SAUCE Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for you kind words,
we hope you can visit us again...

Best wishes from Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Overall: This is a very small hotel in the heart of the town, not that the town is that big to begin with. It is a 2 minute walk over cobblestone streets to the ruins and a 3 minute walk to the main square. The hotel itself was very clean and after 10pm it became very quiet outside. The hotel is near a school and in the morning it's fun to watch the kids going to school and stopping outside the hotel to buy candy from the local street vendors. Breakfast was included and they make eggs to order.. The essence of coffee, which you add hot water to at breakfast, was unique and surprisingly good. The staff is exceptionally friendly and understands English. They were accommodating to our needs including storing our luggage overnight when we went elsewhere for a day. Other than the hotel lobby there are no amenities at the hotel.

Rooms;
The rooms all seem to be a little different. Our room, 11, was a corner room with a king size bed. There is no tv and there is a portable heater in the room for warmth. It is rustic, but clean. A reminder for most hotels in Peru is that you can’t flush toilet paper so be prepared for that. The bed was comfortable. It has a shower, hair dryer and typical amenities. Storage is adequate and there is a safe in the room. Room 12, on the other hand, had only full size beds that were sized differently. There is an aqueduct that runs along he hotel and it sounds like a babbling brook at night which many people might like. Lighting is poor.

I gave it 4 stars for its class of hotel, but please do not confuse this with a 4 star hotel. It was a nice clean rustic place to stay and we would stay there again, but it is no frills.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews