We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
249
134
41
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
134
41
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common areas sacred valley machu picchu train station space heater the main square beautiful grounds bread stayed nights hotel grounds are breakfast was delicious lovely hotel tea and coffee wi fi rooms are basic small town hot water
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We didn't get to spend much time at the hotel itself due to a tour of Ollantaytambo and then leaving early in the morning for our inca trail trek. However, the grounds are stunning. We walked around and took photos. We loved the rooms, very clean, great water pressure. Breakfast was delicious with some hot food options as well as cold. Overall, very pleased with this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanapaq, Director General at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you for choosing us to be part of your trip and even if it was not a long stay you could have enjoyed it !.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We visited Hotel Samanapaq after Machu Picchu. We walked from the train station to the hotel just fine. Check-in was easy, room was roomy, shower was hot, a nice break from a tiring day. Breakfast was plenty and we seemed to be the only one there!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mariarenyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanapaq, Director General at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

A reservation after visiting a wonder like Machupicchu always makes us nervous, but if guests can have a relaxing night to continue their adventure through Ollantaytambo - Cusco is a goal fulfilled !! Thank you for having been your option in Ollantaytambo !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

I booked for a garden view, thinking its a courtyard like many hotels in Peru have, but no, they have a huge beautiful garden. I am talking Bench swings, hammocks, and even a garden cat. the service was very good and the grouds secure( you need to ring the bell to get in)

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanapaq, Director General at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018


Our garden is very valuable to us because we believe that it keeps us connected to the earth and that makes us feel at home even though we are a bit far away !!
Thank you for being your option on your trip to Ollantaytambo - Cusco - Peru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

First of all we are happy that the hotel moved us to another room after we were unhappy with Room #25. We went thru a travel agency and did not realize the difference between the quality of the rooms (regular, deluxe, etc.) It was winter here in the valley and at night the temperature got to 38degrees Farenheit. We live in Minnesota & are accustomed to the COLD but we have heat in our homes. This hotel had no heat. They did give us a heater after requesting it. The first room #25--the bed not comfortable at all & made squeeking noises everytime one of us turned in the bed. There was no water pressure in the shower (barely a few drips came out) & we could not wash the soap off our freezing body. There was no plug-in the bathroom so we could not move the heater into the bath and you couldn't dry your hair. You really don't need the heater on at night while sleeping cuz you can cover up but in the bathroom you do to take a shower. Also we could hear our neighbors next door (very thin walls)

The 2nd room was much better (I think it was a deluxe & Room #29) & I would have glady paid more to get this room right away. The bed was great, the shower was hot with good water pressure and we got a heater that we could plug in the bathroom cuz it had a plug-in.

The breakfast was okay but the restaurant was freezing cold in the morning so we wore our winter jackets, ate fast, and waited for out guide to pick us up.

I'm sure this hotel would be nice in the spring/summer with the beautiful grounds/flowers etc. but our lst room #25 in the block of rooms #24, #25, #26... was not acceptable because of the bed, the shower, & was very very cold.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanapaq, Director General at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

We appreciate your comments and will take your suggestions seriously. Our standard and view rooms have the same water service, breakfast and amenitis, however the observations made to improve the service in all our rooms will be verified. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

The hotel is a few hundred meters from the Plaza de Armas. It's about a 15/20-minute walk to the train station. Lovely grounds. Helpful staff. Nice breakfast. WiFi works well, but only in common areas (and perhaps some of the rooms close-by -- but not in ours...best to check). Rooms were very comfortable. Great shower. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanapaq, Director General at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for having been your option in Ollantaytambo !! The internet is a topic that we have been working on for a long time but we depend a lot on the operator of that service, it is a necessary service that we want to offer 100% ... we will continue working.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews