We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
245
133
40
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
133
40
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common areas sacred valley machu picchu train station the main square beautiful grounds included eggs bread bag breakfast lounge area spent two nights breakfast buffet is lovely hotel tea and coffee thin walls week trip rooms are basic
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016

This hotel is ideally located. It's a level 4-minute walk to the town square. Rooms were sparse but comfortable. Central heat is not available but the hotel provides portable heaters in every room. Hotel grounds are immaculately landscaped with a variety of local plants. The breakfast buffet was adequate to start the day. WIFI is not available in the rooms; WIFI was very spotty in the lobby - due to infrastructure in the town. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, a very charming stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 has great views.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanapaq, Gerente at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you to choose the Samanapaq Hotel as a part of your trip. We are very pleased that the experience with us had been charmed. We also expect the internet service improves in the town. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We spent 4 nights here in late December. We loved the town of Ollantaytambo and the hotel was perfect for our group of 10 (4 adults, 6 teens). The rooms were fairly basic but comfortable and spacious and included a space heater and tv. Our rooms were in the back of the hotel, relatively quiet and with nice views of the surrounding mountains, which we never tired of seeing.

The staff was pleasant and helpful and the common spaces were an unexpected surprise. We spent Christmas day relaxing around town and in the hotel and lucked out as we were the only guests in the entire hotel (mind you it's not a large hotel) and enjoyed the comfortable common spaces, including the fireplace, all to ourselves.

Breakfast was included and was a tasty spread though nothing extraordinary. Wifi, like almost all of the places we visited in Peru, was hit or miss and only available in the common spaces. Note that the plumbing throughout the Sacred Valley and Cusco apparently does not support use of modern paper products. Hence be prepared to regularly dispose of your TP in a waste can vs flushing it.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rswjbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanapaq, Gerente at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

We are pleased that your group stay has been lovely, and you were able to fully enjoy all our facilities. We also expect the internet service improves in the town. For ecology, we still recommend discarding the pt in a waste can. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

My daughter and I stayed only one night after our visit to Machu Picchu, but wish we have stay there on our way to MP too. We had a few hours before taking the train to Aguas Calientes on our way to MP, and even though our booking was for the next day, the front staff was very accommodating and allowed us to relax in the common area of the hotel, and enjoy the beautiful garden. We were welcomed by the owner the next day, who is genuinely friendly and super nice. Hotel is very well located, minutes away from town center and train station, and walking distance to the ruin of Ollantaytambo. If you are heading to MP, you may skip a visit to this ruin, most ruins looks the same. The hotel is well kept, clean, pretty, and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 5tjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanapaq, Gerente at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you for your comments. We really expect you stay with us again. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here after a trip around sacred valley. A lovely lounge to sit in with a open fire. Good room. Great gardens within the walls of the hotel so a quite and private. So a great place to stay before you set off on your inca trail as it is a few hours near than cusco to the starting point 82km

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanapaq, Gerente at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you for your comments and recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Clean hotel, great staff, they have great breakfast, the only thing I didn't like is after a long day and your tired, you come home you could at least watch some TV but it seems you have to pay extra for a room with TV. After all the years of checked in different hotels TV comes standard in the room. I never seen a hotel with no TV in the room, this is my first. WiFi is weak in my room have to go to the front office for a strong signal.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rey - Roleta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samanapaq, Gerente at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thank you for choose the Samanapaq Hotel. We regret that your room hadn´t had a TV. But, you don´t have to pay extra for a room with TV, but a bigger room, view garden. Anyway, in this year , it was programed that all rooms have a TV. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews