We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Santuario Historico de Machu Picchu
from US$48.00
More Info
from US$129.90
More Info
from US$31.00
More Info
from US$351.00
More Info
Reviews (18,324)
Filter reviews
18,324 results
Traveller rating
16,799
1,121
273
71
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16,799
1,121
273
71
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus bucket list sun gate inca trail seven wonders magical place next morning once in a lifetime early in the morning awe inspiring dream come true uncover latin america bug spray sanctuary lodge hiram bingham private guide south america
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 18,324 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

If this is not on your Bucket List then enter it now! We did the one day trek up here which was hard work but so worth it. The view over this from the Sun Gate is something not to be missed.
I cannot stress just how amazing this Inca site is. Get there early and take a guide! The longer you leave it the more crowded it becomes!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Colliedog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Thank goodness the Spanish never found this sanctuary that honors the rain and thunder.The Incan culture were amazing architects and builders of there temples. Using the rock formations as part of the structures was necessary and pure genius.

If you desire to learn a bit of the Incan culture and the many niches they built in which to honor nature, it's worthwhile hiring a guide. We had a Quechuan guide who began our tour with a tossing of cocoa leaves to honor the new day(sun). There are other structures that honor rain, the beautiful condor and don't forget to locate the sundial. A real treat is seeing llamas feast on the grass.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank denise73AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Hard to believe this magical place... It’s worth every step to get to it...
We hiked in along part of the Inca Trail and first saw it from the Gate of the Sun... then hiked down for a closer view..
Then actually came back the next day to explore the ruins.
One thing.. definitely take the bus from town up...there is a walk but it looked brutal..
Everyone said to expect crowds... but we managed to hit it a day when the tourist train from Cuzco was derailed (no one was killed it injured, thank the Lord); however, it left us almost alone touring the ruins...
Also - take water - it’s can get hot... and take a rain poncho!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank ClemsonTiger1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

This is an amazing place to visit, worth every step of the journey however you arrive. We added the Huayna Picchu hike and were very glad that we did for the incredible views. Interesting to learn of how the Incas lives at this high altitude.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank FontanaBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

I'm still fascinated from the Inca culture and what our guide shared with us that day, a 3 day trip with visiting the Machu Picchu and alternative Rainbow Mountain. We had the morning session as we stayed in Aguas Calientes, tried to be the first but the waiting line for the bus was very long. Anyway, we made it as one of the first groups and it was worth it to wake up that early. The view over Machu Picchu was incredible, especially as we still had some hours of free time walking around. We followed Erik's tip and went up to the Sungate, a spectacular view ober the ruins and mountains. It was our main reason to come to Peru.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank SunHK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews