We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Sayacmarca
from US$700.00
More Info
from US$650.00
More Info
from US$630.00
More Info
from US$765.00
More Info
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
49
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dead woman's pass steep steps our inca trail hike worth the effort track ruins site climb mountains
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

As others have noted, the ruins of Sayacmarca come on day 2 of the Inca trail, after you've already gone through the 2 high passes, including the highest on the entire trek - Dead Woman's Pass.
So you may not feel like tackling another set of quite steep steps to see yet more Inca ruins, especially when you the know the best - Machu Picchu itself - is yet to come.
My advice - make the effort. The ruins are rather spectacular, and chances are, you'll never be here again.
They overlook another set of ruins - Qonchamarka - but you'll see them from the track anyway.
Sayacmarca is pretty big - I spent about half an hour to go all around it.
It's very close to the next camp (and the ruins are visible from the camp), so you don't have all that far to go after it. Hang on to that knowledge, grit your teeth, and climb those stairs!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is a beautiful area, that many people enjoy so our advise is to go early or vary late. Take rain gear !!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank rollinsthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Outside of Huayna Picchu, Sayacmarca has the scariest stairs to get to the site only there is no cable or rope to hold.

Once you are there, you are rewarded with a great view of the valley so I recommend getting over any fear you may have and step your way to the top.

As the other sites that we visited were built on the side of the mountains, this one appears to be build almost vertical out of the mountain itself making the construction of this site even more impressive.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank IA_Hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

sayacmarca affords one of the nicest views of the mountains and canyons around machu picchu, so dont miss it if you are travelling all the way down there to peru

Date of experience: November 2015
2  Thank robnkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Our guide pointed out that Sayacmarca (UP) and Conchamarca mean below (seashell). This is at 11,800 feet high, a new name discovered by an Archeologist named Pearl Pecors (Spelling?) Sayacmarca means inaccessible. It was a function for the army sector. This is a well-preserved Inkan town. We were able to access this at the beginning of our third day on the hike. Again, you can only access this while hiking the Inka Trail. If you look on the map, it will be after the second pass after Chaquiqocha.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank Indiana_Jonesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews