We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“small add to Machu Picchu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huayna Picchu

Huayna Picchu
Book In Advance
US$52.00*
and up
Private Guided Tour in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Huayna Picchu is located towards the north of the Inca city of Machu Picchu. To climb the mountain of Huayna Picchu, should reach the checkpoint and entrance to Huayna Picchu and the road begins a few meters from the Sacred Rock is followed, it is an area with very dense vegetation, this road is very steep and quite and includes sections of narrow stairs and steps made of granite stone placed irregularly, there are some that appear carved into the rock. The promotion lasts between 45-60 minutes depending on the physical state of the person.
Poland, Zielona Gora
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“small add to Machu Picchu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I mad it as a small spice to main dish: Machu Picchu. To do it you must buy the ticket earlier, only 200 peoples can climb at 8am and the next 200 at 10am. The way is hard, according to description it is for 1 hour, I made it in 35 (!) minutes. The view from a top was hopeless, it was fog and many clouds and many tourists. This was only the satisfaction that I made it and I was on the top of this mountain from all pictures with Machu Picchu.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cezary59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,794
    357
    67
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DFW
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent morning hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I did the 7am hike -- as I'm sure everyone knows by know, hiking HP requires a ticket for either the 7am group or the 10am group. Tickets can be purchased online or via a tour company. Group size is limited to 200 hikers per group per day.

We took the bus up from Aquas Caliente around 6:20am the morning of our hike. It was a bit overcast in town, but we were hoping for clear views from the top of HP.

If you haven't toured Machu Picchu, the entrance to the Huayna Picchu hike is at the far end of the complex - you need to go thorugh the main MP entrance and then walk the length of the complex.

We arrived a few minutes before 7am and were probably about 50th in line. The entrance line moves very slowly as each hiker must be "signed-in" with their start time. For some reason the roster of hikers didn't really seem to be in any order so finding your name takes some searching, thus the line moves very slow. All things being equal, if I were doing this again, I'd arrive closer to 7:30 - 7:45 and have let the queue clear out.

The hike itself is very steep at some points, but there is no need to hurry and you'll find that you might pass (or be passed) by the other hikers at any point on the trail. It took us 50 minutes to reach the top and just under 40 minutes to walk down.

I was amazed at the amount of ruins at the top -- not sure what I was expecting, but the summit exceeded those expectations.

We stayed up top for about 30 minutes taking pictures, walking around and waiting for the clouds to clear.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom_and_KarenDfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More scary than physically difficult”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

There are some small and narrow stairs that can be slipery when it rains (which it does daily). The top is just a pile of big bolders with no rails so when there are a lot of people up there it can get tricky to maneuver.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexaPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If you have the time don't miss this adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Apparently only a limited number of people are permitted to make the climb each day but I had arranged it well before we went so no problem. It is not an easy climb as it is very steep in places with steps cut into the rocks. Allow at least one hour, more if you are not in good physical condition.

Great views from the top if it is not foggy or cloudy. There are also some ruins at the top. Well worth the effort.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghosttown22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This climb made our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

If you visit Machu Picchu and do not do this climb, you miss out on such a huge aspect of the site. Getting to the top and down is not easy, but well worth the time and effort. During our climb there a variety of ages from 9ish to 70ish, so anyone can do it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyAlaxParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huayna Picchu also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Huayna Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing