We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appreciated the extra service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Toronto
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Appreciated the extra service”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This hotel is in aguasclientes not in machu picchu directly. We stayed at this hotel because we had reserved in another location and that room wasn't acceptable to stay in. This hotel helped us in a pinch and we were grateful they had space.

This hotel is a weird set up and the walls are thin with sliding glass windows to the hallways. This means that you hear all the guests and with early morning trips to Machu Picchu consider you will be up too. There is also a lot of construction going on that starts early.

The rooms are worn and dated. The rooms have weird art drawn directly on the wall and things are kind of thrown together. Our shower leaked and the tiles were old.

You can negotiate price directly depending on occupancy and they admitted to having reservation issues on some of the larger reservation sites. They can send out your laundry for you, and rooms have a TV.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, there are a lot of other options in Aguascalientes.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    142
    130
    74
    56
See reviews for
81
203
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Bedding smelled like mildew...I booked a suite and when I arrived in my room the shower doors were laying on my bed! For a hundred dollars a night at least clean my room..there was a layer of mold on the tile floor basen in my shower..This hotel is a dump.. Gringo bill has no thrill here..he should pack his panama hat and head back to a new hustle game..word of advice and my comments are light..STAY AWAY FROM THIS DUMP..walking around town I saw places better and cleaner and cheaper

Room Tip: Tip..if you stay bring a handkerchief to cover your nose from the nasty moldy smell in the bedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estotsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Machu Picchu hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at Gringo Bill during our trip to Macchu Pichhu in August 2011 and we had a great experience there! The hotel had a very quaint, family feel to it, especially as it is set against a mountain backdrop and has locally chosen decor. The food was great, the staff very friendly and welcoming and the owner kept in touch with us to help us out with a personal issue even after we left their hotel. My husband and I really appreciated this help as we were backpackers in a country where we didn't speak the language. They also have a room for you to store your luggage if you want to check out but don't want to be encumbered by your stuff while you sightsee till your train departs. All in all, a very memorable but very affordable trip. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: This hotel has a lot of levels as it is set against a mountain backdrop which adds to its quaintness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mousam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were looking forward to staying at Gringo Bill's for one night before our early ascent to Machu Picchu the next day. However, we were met by the daughter at the train station, and she informed us that Gringo Bills was closed. How closed? Had been closed for the past 5 days by local authorities, allegedly because the hotel had failed to issue a receipt in a transaction.

We had only booked the room about a week prior to our intended stay. So two days after we booked, they knew they couldn't take us in, and they didn't bother to tell us. We could have definitely gotten other rooms ourselves, given that it was the low season!

Instead, they took us to an insect-infested, loud, moldy hotel and kind of dumped us in the reception area on a rainy night at 10pm. We had no alternative but to stay at the hotel of their choosing (which we would have never chosen), and the quality of the room at this other hotel was worse than anything I've ever seen in all of my travels.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Former_grad_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We only stayed there for 2 nights during our Machu Pichu trip. The room was clean, bathroom not so. Staff was helpful. a bit overpriced in my opinion. Only go there again if nothing else is available.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lihn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
2.3 km away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
0.4 km away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.2 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 km away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel

Property: Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Colla Raymi 104, Machu Picchu, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After 29 years of service in Machupicchu Town, Gringo Bill's has become one of the best choices for mid-range tourist. We have been working non-stop to improve our small family owned business to provide our guest with a special place in an "out-of-the-ordinary" type of hotel in Machupicchu Town. We thank all those who have commented on our hotel and we are taking any bad comments to good use to help us prepare much better. Thank you kindly, Lawrence Kaiser ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing