We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
51
140
119
53
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
140
119
53
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews g adventures ceiling fan yogurt beautiful courtyard tour company breakfast was included good size few blocks storage laundry soles
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Was booked for us as part of an Intrepid tour, do not too sure of its cost to us.
To be fair, we’d just come from a 5 plus star resort in Costa Rica, so our expectations were colored.
Very friendly and helpful man on reception
Just around corner to a fairly large supermarket
Our driver said it was in a safe area
Love the architecture... Spanish inspired architecture squashed in by high rises
No lift. But reception man helped us carry bags up to 2 nd floor
Lovely central courtyard with tables chairs and very well maintained garden. Had our dinner there. Just lovely
Free WiFi that works really well.
Room smelly.. like moth balls covering up bad smell, but seems pretty clean
No English tv at all
No air con
No shampoo, body wash, bath mat, washer or hair dryer
No tea/ coffee making facilities
No fridge
Would I stay here again??? I’d ask the travel agent for cost and probably choose a better hotel even if it cost a little more. But this one is probably value for money.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susanif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

One step up from Hostel accomodation. Wifi slow, daily breakfast is toast and Jam. Bathroom old and power outlets loose and I had very hard time charging.

No lifts so expect to carry your luggage on 2nd floor and above.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 872qasims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We stayed at La Castellana on the outward and return part of our trip. It is a basic, clean, functional no frills hotel but dated and was draughty/cold when we visited.The waiting staff were lovely and the breakfast is tasty and you can order additional items for your breakfast. The reception staff were helpful and pleasant with us. We were allocated this hotel as part of our Intrepid Tour. The location is good as it is convenient for the local restaurants and shops. The Parque Kennedy which had a lovely craft market when we visited swas within easy walking disatnce.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Loulou174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel looks cosy from the outside. We stayed here as part of our Intrepid tour for the Lares trek.
Staff is friendly and a good location in Miraflores. Rooms need to be updated. We were disappointed in the lack of hot water and pressure when showering, and it was very cold in the room. And no own to loan to the guests. This is a very basic hotel if you are looking for more look elsewhere.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Cathrine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Like many others that stay here, we stayed as part of a g adventures tour. This is a budget option and it is very apparent. The beds were uncomfortable and pillows were even worse. Breakfast consists of bread, butter, orange juice and coffee.
Unfortunately when we stayed there was a power cut in the morning and no effort was made by any of the staff to ensure we had any method of light even in the public areas.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sarahmc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews