We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
159
89
23
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
89
23
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot shower small fridge bread with great water pressure leave early in the morning the main square outstanding staff coca tea min walk inca trail machu picchu quiet neighborhood breakfast area rooms face the san blas neighborhood rooms are clean double bed
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

The staff here are so lovely and really tried their best to accommodate our every need this being said I have to be honest when reviewing the property and sadly we were very disappointed in how noisy the property was. We had a room facing a court yard which was unbelievably noisy all day and night and we didn't get one decent night sleep in the full 3 nights we stayed. Every sound echoed through the room which had thin panneled windows looking out into the courtyard.
The room itself had everything you could need. A fridge, extra blankets and I was loaned a hair dryer from reception. The shower was hot and powerful and the room was very clean.
Location wise it is at the top of a hill, not too bad if you're able bodied but if the walk is too much a taxi is between 5/6 bolivianos about £1.50 really handy for us and the hotel we're happy to call a taxi for us.
Breakfast is not too bad, standard continental but they also offer a menu of omelet or pancake which ok however the portions were tiny.
Overall if you can handle the noise it is a nice place but sadly we value sleep more.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ROW4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

El Mariscal is located in the San Blas area of Cusco. We loved the location and the proximity to the Plaza de Armas. We walked by the 12 sided stone multiple times!! The San Blas market is close by for some tasty juices and sandwiches. Elizabeth, the owner, was very helpful in answering all of our questions about Cusco and how to get around. They arranged pickup from the airport for us. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the rooms were very modern and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms were clean and the hot showers were great. The breakfast was delicious. The unlimited coca tea helped us acclimatize to the altitude. The staff were very helpful and always available if needed. Not all rooms have windows to the outdoors, some faced the inside common area. We loved the fourth floor room facing the street. This is a great value hotel, we highly recommend it. We stayed 3 nights before our Inca Trail trek and 1 night after. We were able to store our luggage while we were trekking. We hope to visit Cusco again and plan on staying at El Mariscal. Thank you Elizabeth, Stitch, Pancho and all the staff!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank singtring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel is ten minutes away from Plaza de Armas. Some staffmembers speak English. They offer you breakfast in your room if you need to leave early in the morning. Make sure that they will make a note of it, they forgot it on our first day and so we did not have breakfast. Also they will take care about your bags if you are going to do a tour. You can leave your stuff in the hotel for multiple days. The rooms include a bathroom and are very clean and big.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sander v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Its a badic hotel with friendly staff and free coca tea at anytime! 15 min walk from the centre. Beds were comfortable and showers were hot but basic.
Was there for only 1 night before setting out on the 5 day Salkantay trek. However, they were kind enough to keep our extra luggage until we returned.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank smoochyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

One of my favorite parts of my trip to Cusco was staying at this hotel. It was clean, modern, and the staff were friendly and attentive! My only regret is not tipping the staff more :) Our first day checking in, the woman at the front desk greeted us with coca tea, and gave us the lay of the land, specifically directing us on how to get to Plaza de Armas. Then another staff member took both our suitcases and hauled them up to the 4th floor (no elevator needed). She was also the same staff member that cooked us breakfast the next day. Overall, the hotel had a really "homey" feel. Our room was spacious and modern, with a 180 degree view of Cusco and quick access to the cafeteria area, which was convenient. Rooms also get cleaned every day - again a testament to their amazing service!! I enjoyed coming back to the room every night after long days walking through Cusco.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dara Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews