We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel room ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best hotel room ever!”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the plaza suite - room 6 I believe - and it was simply a wonderful experience. From the cup of tea at the door, the friendly greeting, delicious pancakes and great location, this place was a delight. I loved the fireplace and deep soak tub - perfect after a day of hiking the hills of Cusco! We hope to come back to this beautiful and peaceful hotel!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhead2681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    32
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
270
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OKC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here for one night only but this place is fantastic. The staff were very accommodating. It is right across from the Monasterio, but apparently the Inkaterra rooms are larger. This may have been the biggest King bed we have ever seen. The entire room was amazing and spacious. I asked for coffee about 0530 and we got a great french press carafe brought to the room at no charge. Later that morning we went one block to the main square and watched the school children get taken to class by their parents. Breakfast was very nice and wifi is available. The history of this building is unique. See other reviews. We would stay here again, and it would be nice to stage a visit to the center of Cusco from here.

Room Tip: Only 11 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tugokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel one night on our honeymoon and although it is quite pricey it was worth every penny. Our room was absolutely gorgeous with a fireplace, heated floors and towel racks, and a beautiful shower and bath. The spa was quite affordable, and the cuisine was exquisite, but the most memorable thing would have to be the unique decor and attention to detail. I hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeTrout14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
354 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I’ve stayed here twice – this eleven suite hotel is superb. Dating back to 1534 it has been brilliantly restored and furnished. So much to like; it’s in a good location for the main attractions, the food is good, beautiful bedrooms, bathrooms and main guest areas. It’s really difficult to find fault; just one thing, only Pisco is included in the happy hour drinks (16.00 to 18.00); a wider list of drink options would be appreciated. It also has bags of character - if only all hotels were like this.

Room Tip: bell ringers in the cathedral need practice - so take ear plugs just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

For those interested in historic colonial architecture, this is the place to stay. It is located in a converted 16th centurymansion occupied at one time by Simon Bolivar. Entry to the hotel is gained through an original door keeping it almost anonymous but safe. Rooms are located around the central courtyard. The location is on a small square one block away from the main colonial centre of Cusco.The hotel´s private and public areas are decorated with antiques and local textiles. All in done in a subdued manner.

The rooms are few in number. We stayed twice with a gap for Machu Picchu. This permitted us to view two rooms. The first was large with many rugs on the floor and a distinct seating area with three armchairs. There was an original fireplace with the option for a fire to be lit if requested. The bathroom had two separate enclosures for toilet and shower, both of which had underfloor heating. The bath was large and again there were rugs. There were also towels galore. Amenities were in bottles and there was no lack. Hot water bottles came as part of the turndown service and kept us very warm.

The second room was even larger with the bathroom behind the seating/sleeping area. This time there was a sofa as well as the armchairs. The bathroom had the same facilities but the layout was different with two separate basin areas as opposed to the twin basins in the previous room.

The dining room again had the trademarks of antiques. stuffed cushions and comfortable chairs. Breakfast comprised the usual fruits, eggs etc. Coffee was delivered in a cafetiere. Dinner was of relatively limited choice but the food was delicious. We opted for simple room service on occasion as we were tired. The fact that there was no additional charge was welcome.

WiFi was available throughout the hotel and free. Noise was minimal but it is located on a square so there may be some foot traffic rather than cars.

It was a sécial place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 km away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.1 km away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 km away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.4 km away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona

Property: Inkaterra La Casona
Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and TravelUp so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing