We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel - not a treat”
Review of El Puma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Puma Hotel
Ranked #90 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Perhaps I have reached an age where I like to be delighted by the hotels I stay in. And perhaps I have had some great experiences in my travelling life, but the hotel Puma was really quite grim. The decor tired, and brown, the taps in the bathroom had a mind of their own and the water pressure would get stronger and weaker as you stood under the shower. The rooms were big, which was good, the windows were flimsy and the noise from the road really loud. Our second room, post Inca trail, was not noisy, but our window opened out into a central area which looked into other people's rooms. In our first room there was a window above our door that opened out into the corridor, and this let light pour into our room at night. I did ask the hotel to assist us and to cover this window. They did oblige, which was appreciated. Breakfast, was grubby, with bread rolls really rock hard, fruit that was out without cover for at least an hour. The final insult was that part of our group had money and valuables stolen from their safe, which although they accidentally left in their room after departing for the Inca trail, really should not have gone missing, given that the only people who should have been able to access the safe would have been the hotel staff.

Also - there was no heating in the rooms whatsoever. At least there were thick blankets in the room!

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2015

We stayed for 3 nights before doing the inca Trail with Explore! The Adventure Travel Experts, it was clean and beds were comfortable. The shower was hot, and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was continental, cereals, juice, fruit, yoghurt, cheese and cold meats, toast (like french toast) jam, marmalade and butter, and cake. There was coffee, hot water and leaves to make Coca tea. We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel, as our group ate out in Cusco, but for the price, I think a meal would have been fine. There's a chicken & chip shop a few doors down from the hotel, friends said the food was good there for the price. We left our main luggage behind whilst on the Inca Trail, and it was looked after by the hotel. You always feel nervous about doing this, but it was all safe and sound. The only downside of our initial stay, was we had an internal room, with no outside window, and the light, because it was energy saving, took a while to light the room properly. The room felt cold as it had had no sunlight, and there was no heater. We also had no hairdryer, and the safe was broken. But for a short stay before camping on the Inca Trail, it was fine. However, on our return from the Inca Trail, we had a bigger room, with hairdryer and windows, without having to ask. A nice touch is that the hotel put a small country flag outside your room (I guess more for the cleaners than us) so it was nice to see which other nationalities were on your floor.

Room Tip: When booking with your tour operator, ask for a room with an outside view (not an internal room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AberdeensGirlFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a tour with G Adventures and we really liked it here. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from Cusco’s main square and close by to lots of shops, restaurants and markets.

We had two different rooms – a twin room the first night before our trip to Machu Picchu which was perfectly nice accept that the windows looked out into other bedrooms which was slightly odd so just make sure you close the curtains! When we returned from the Inca Trail we requested a matrimonial suite and this room was a lot nicer and bigger with a large double bed, table and armchair, and looked out onto the street below. The only problem with this room was that the flush on the toilet broke off which meant we couldn’t use the toilet at all and even though the maid knew about this, they didn’t actually do anything about fixing it for us! We made do with using the public hotel toilets or a friend’s bathroom as it was only for the 1 night but it was a bit of a pain.

Breakfast was buffet style with a selection of cereal, yoghurt, fruit, rolls, cheese, ham and scrambled egg but after everyone had had breakfast and left for their tour there wasn’t much left for the other guests and the hotel didn’t seem to replenish it. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night which was good and they stayed open late for our big group which was a nice gesture.

The free wifi worked okay most of the time but only in the reception area and there was a computer I used which was handy as the internet worked a bit faster on there.

Despite a few flaws, this was a nice relaxing hotel to come back to after a tiring hike on the Inca Trail to find that they’d kept our belongings safe while we were away and our rooms were ready for us to crash out in. The hotel was full of people doing the hike so you’d always bump into someone who was either going on the tour or had just come back which made it nice to be able to swap stories with people.

If you’re not after anything particularly special but want a good base in Cusco before or after the Inca Trail, then this is a good place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsAylasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Stayed in this hotel as part of a tour package, so I did not select it myself and probably wouldn't have done, but El Puma was adequate for our needs prior to and after trekking the Inca Trail. We stayed in two different rooms, both similar, with twin beds and windows looking across into other rooms rather than outside (a little odd and had to be careful to close the curtains). It was fairly noisy - thin walls and lots of people leaving early for treks, as well as noise outside - but we managed to sleep through the night. Rooms were cold (I believe this is common in Cusco), but there were enough blankets. Showers were hot, which was the most important thing, and everything seemed clean. Breakfast was disappointing, varied a little each day but kept running out and water for tea was not hot enough. Staff were fairly polite and helpful - we were able to weigh our bags prior to our trek and store our cases until we returned. The hotel was about a 15 min walk away from the centre of Cusco, so not bad, and there were shops nearby (supermarket, pharmacy, souvenirs etc). Overall, a reasonable and practical hotel for a short stay, but could probably do better.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

The front desk staff was very helpful and the rooms were comfortable with plenty of hot water, even if the carpet was a little old. Breakfast was great though! Good bargain for the price. We stayed only one night, and it was just fine.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel de la Villa Hermoza
Hotel de la Villa Hermoza
#149 of 172 in Cusco
96 reviews
0.3 km away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#97 of 172 in Cusco
131 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mabey Cusco
Hotel Mabey Cusco
#83 of 172 in Cusco
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 km away
Fuente de Agua Hotel
Fuente de Agua Hotel
#92 of 172 in Cusco
69 reviews
1 km away
Del Prado Inn
Del Prado Inn
#96 of 172 in Cusco
264 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Agustos Cusco
Hotel Agustos Cusco
#73 of 172 in Cusco
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Puma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Puma Hotel

Address: Av Garcilaso 806, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: €42 - €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Puma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L. and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Puma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing