We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
31
71
47
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
71
47
23
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We stayed for 3 nights before doing the inca Trail with Explore! The Adventure Travel Experts, it was clean and beds were comfortable. The shower was hot, and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was continental, cereals, juice, fruit, yoghurt, cheese and cold meats, toast (like french toast) jam, marmalade and butter, and cake. There was coffee, hot water and leaves to make Coca tea. We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel, as our group ate out in Cusco, but for the price, I think a meal would have been fine. There's a chicken & chip shop a few doors down from the hotel, friends said the food was good there for the price. We left our main luggage behind whilst on the Inca Trail, and it was looked after by the hotel. You always feel nervous about doing this, but it was all safe and sound. The only downside of our initial stay, was we had an internal room, with no outside window, and the light, because it was energy saving, took a while to light the room properly. The room felt cold as it had had no sunlight, and there was no heater. We also had no hairdryer, and the safe was broken. But for a short stay before camping on the Inca Trail, it was fine. However, on our return from the Inca Trail, we had a bigger room, with hairdryer and windows, without having to ask. A nice touch is that the hotel put a small country flag outside your room (I guess more for the cleaners than us) so it was nice to see which other nationalities were on your floor.

Room Tip: When booking with your tour operator, ask for a room with an outside view (not an internal room)
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AberdeensGirlFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a tour with G Adventures and we really liked it here. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from Cusco’s main square and close by to lots of shops, restaurants and markets.

We had two different rooms – a twin room the first night before our trip to Machu Picchu which was perfectly nice accept that the windows looked out into other bedrooms which was slightly odd so just make sure you close the curtains! When we returned from the Inca Trail we requested a matrimonial suite and this room was a lot nicer and bigger with a large double bed, table and armchair, and looked out onto the street below. The only problem with this room was that the flush on the toilet broke off which meant we couldn’t use the toilet at all and even though the maid knew about this, they didn’t actually do anything about fixing it for us! We made do with using the public hotel toilets or a friend’s bathroom as it was only for the 1 night but it was a bit of a pain.

Breakfast was buffet style with a selection of cereal, yoghurt, fruit, rolls, cheese, ham and scrambled egg but after everyone had had breakfast and left for their tour there wasn’t much left for the other guests and the hotel didn’t seem to replenish it. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night which was good and they stayed open late for our big group which was a nice gesture.

The free wifi worked okay most of the time but only in the reception area and there was a computer I used which was handy as the internet worked a bit faster on there.

Despite a few flaws, this was a nice relaxing hotel to come back to after a tiring hike on the Inca Trail to find that they’d kept our belongings safe while we were away and our rooms were ready for us to crash out in. The hotel was full of people doing the hike so you’d always bump into someone who was either going on the tour or had just come back which made it nice to be able to swap stories with people.

If you’re not after anything particularly special but want a good base in Cusco before or after the Inca Trail, then this is a good place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsAylasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Stayed in this hotel as part of a tour package, so I did not select it myself and probably wouldn't have done, but El Puma was adequate for our needs prior to and after trekking the Inca Trail. We stayed in two different rooms, both similar, with twin beds and windows looking across into other rooms rather than outside (a little odd and had to be careful to close the curtains). It was fairly noisy - thin walls and lots of people leaving early for treks, as well as noise outside - but we managed to sleep through the night. Rooms were cold (I believe this is common in Cusco), but there were enough blankets. Showers were hot, which was the most important thing, and everything seemed clean. Breakfast was disappointing, varied a little each day but kept running out and water for tea was not hot enough. Staff were fairly polite and helpful - we were able to weigh our bags prior to our trek and store our cases until we returned. The hotel was about a 15 min walk away from the centre of Cusco, so not bad, and there were shops nearby (supermarket, pharmacy, souvenirs etc). Overall, a reasonable and practical hotel for a short stay, but could probably do better.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

The front desk staff was very helpful and the rooms were comfortable with plenty of hot water, even if the carpet was a little old. Breakfast was great though! Good bargain for the price. We stayed only one night, and it was just fine.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2014

Stayed here 3 nights. Location is ok, not far from the main square and other attractions including a pretty cheap handicraft market , convenient store and pharmacies . Breakfast was ok as we didn't eat much in Cusco due altitude sickness . Rooms were too small and dark, the heater didn't work and neither did hot water one night. I am pretty sure there are better options in town

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews