We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for your much puchi tour”
Review of El Puma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Puma Hotel
Ranked #89 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 28 January 2014

near to everything you need and
safe good staf and clean rooms
wifi is a bit bad but it whas okay
morning breakfast is normal don't think its a 5 star buffet lol
yes in cusco they horn the cars but you can ask for a back room

Room Tip: try it its near to everything you need for your couple off days
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

I think the staff may have been ill prepared for a large group. When we checked in late at night, our room had no towels and several others in our group had no running water. The rooms were clean however the bathroom had several areas of mold by the showers so I didn't feel comfortable taking a bath. Anytime we tried to get water, tea or beer at the bar, there was no one to help us. Luckily we were not at the hotel often, as it was in a perfect location close to the main plaza. The rooms were very noisy, so I highly recommend ear plugs or a noise maker.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustfullife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here a couple times with a tour group, always too noisy, especially the rooms overlooking the streets. Even the interior rooms were noisy because of guests and poor insulation, strange air shaft glassed in amongst the rooms. Because tour groups stay here, often before dawn groups are chatting and moving downstairs with no regard for guests who might want to sleep til 8 am. Traffic noise begins too early, and then there are the car alarms...

The location is great, but few amenities, adequate breakfast, adequately clean. I don't plan on staying there ever again.

I've had to lower my expectations of hotels when traveling in Peru.

Room Tip: Find a top floor room, not on either street, and check to see if shower seems to work, though it may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Once we arrived we were met in the lobby with coca tea. The entire staff was very service oriented. The breakfast is included in the price, and was very good. The location is perfect, close enough to all the sites without being in the heart of the traffic/noise. This is not your hostel-college group at this hotel, which is nice. Since many of the hostels in Cusco start partying at 1pm and continue until 4am. Rooms are clean, bathrooms are clean, everything is very basic. No frills. I suggest you bring your own soap, washcloth, shampoo/conditioner. Towels are good. Great tubs for bathing. PLENTY OF HOT WATER FOR BATHS AND SHOWERS. Plenty of blankets, and we were furnished a small space heater. The only downfall of my experience was the other hotel guests were very loud. They would speak very loud to one another in the hallway and slam doors. But, you have allot of people from around the world and I suppose the "hotel etiquette" isn't the same in all parts of the world. The walls are thin, and therefore you do hear allot of what's going on. But, I was so exhausted from touring all day that I pretty much slept through it. This is an affordable hotel with a great staff. Luis the the bellboy and he is very shy but an excellent employee!

Room Tip: away from the elevator, street and atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in total as part of a G adventures tour. I stayed in double rooms and a single room. The single room was much bigger than the double and the shower was much better. The first room I stayed in had a crappy shower. The water didn't get warm until it was running for 10 or minutes - not great when the room is already cool. Breakfast was OK, typical of Peru and Bolivia: bread, cereal, yoghurt. On a few days, there were some hot foods. Cusco is at high altitude which can cause altitude sickness (headaches, nausea etc.). They had complementary coca tea which is used to alleviate the symptoms - very nice. The service was OK and the hotel was 10 minutes away from the main plaza.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
10 km away
Fuente de Agua Hotel
Fuente de Agua Hotel
#95 of 172 in Cusco
69 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mabey Cusco
Hotel Mabey Cusco
#84 of 172 in Cusco
238 reviews
0.2 km away
Antawasi Hotel
Antawasi Hotel
#78 of 172 in Cusco
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#40 of 172 in Cusco
465 reviews
0.3 km away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#98 of 172 in Cusco
130 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Puma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Puma Hotel

Address: Av Garcilaso 806, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: €43 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Puma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Puma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing