We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Newly renovated room product is great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Newly renovated room product is great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

The hotel was under renovations when we stayed here, so the hotel is a work in progress. Our room was newly renovated, and was really lovely. Great bathroom! It had a balcony that looked out on the main street which we really liked (there was a parade during our stay...so we had an amazing view from our room of all the colorful costumes). One couple we were traveling with didn't like the street noise, so they hotel moved them to an interior facing room which was tons more quiet. The hotel staff looked to accommodate every request.

When I say the hotel was under renovations in May, the top two floors of the hotel were out of commission. I never heard any noise, so they must work on the renovations in the daytime, so it wasn't a problem and the renovations might be over by now?

The hotel front desk staff was great. The location was fine for us, but it was a bit of a walk from the main square. The walk is very easy and safe.

The only meal we ate at the hotel was breakfast...and it was yummy. Great chef making cook to order eggs/omelets and fruits. Of course if your head is aching from the altitude, there was always coca tea in the lobby which you can sip while using one of the computers in the lobby to check email. Overall, for the price this hotel was a good option.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful and detailed review about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website, I am sure all readers will have a great idea of the great service we provide.

I also would like to thank you for choosing us as the hotel to pamper yourself to experience during your stay in a Magic Cusco, it thrills me to know that you could experience our service combined with the staff charm.

Thank you for traveling in Peru, we have a beautiful country to explore, so we hope to have you and your friends on your next trip, once again accept my appreciation for your wonderful comments and for recommending us.

Warm Regards,
Ivan Pèrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,656
    618
    100
    31
    14
See reviews for
616
984
111
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

I stay for a three night stay finding it very confortable, nice and trendy with all the conforts of a 4 star hotel. Almost new rooms with new carpets, LCD with cable. Its location is around a 10 min walk to the plaza de armas, not a problem by night if you prefer to take a cab in & out no problem hotel staff helps into that or you can call it yourself enough taxis on the streets. Recommended for the price i got 89 + tax per night

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie24sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful and detailed review about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website, I am sure all readers will have a great idea of the great service we provide.

I also would like to thank you for choosing us as the hotel to pamper yourself to experience during your stay in a Magic Cusco, it thrills me to know that you could experience our service combined with the staff charm.

Thank you for traveling in Peru, we have a beautiful country to explore, so we hope to have you and your friends on your next trip, once again accept my appreciation for your wonderful comments and for recommending us.

Warm Regards,
Ivan Pèrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

A building site - the sixth floor, currently derelict, is being remodeled. It will be nice when it is finished in a year or so, but now it is a cacophony of pounding and drilling from 9 to 5.
Staff try to overcome, but food is very ordinary and the location is not the best
If you like Sonesta, stay at their Posada Del Incas property in Portal Espinar instead

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank langej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

I would like to extend my sincere grateful for your understanding with our remodeling jobs, nowadays our hotel has a very modern build with a high quality of service.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,

Iván Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

I did a lot of reviewing on TripAdvisor before reserving a hotel room in Cusco. There were only about 1 or 2 reviews at the time, but I liked the looks of this one and the price. It was recently remodeled to a very clean, modern looking hotel with comfortable beds and a great lobby. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the main square, but only about 10 or 15 minute walk. If you don't feel like walking because you've got altitude sickness or it's dark out, you can get a taxi ride for only 3 soles ($1.50 USD). Hot coca tea is served in the lobby/lounge area. A computer with free internet and a camera for Skype calls is there too. We weren't ever thrilled about the restaurant, but it was sufficient. Breakfast was free, but you had to pay for dinner (I'd recommend going elsewhere unless you're just not up for it). There's lots of shops on your walk from the hotel to the main square. We stayed here upon arrival in Cusco and then went on the Salkantay hike for 5 days. Upon return, we planned on staying at Hotel Marquesas, but ended up walking out (with quite a struggle to do so) because every room was filled with mold (something my husband is hypersensitive to). Note that most older hotels, although cool because of the architecture and style, did not have any ventilation which allowed mold to brew. We knew that Sonesta Hotel was free of it as it was new, so we took a cab for a restful night sleep before heading to the airport the next morning. Recommended. Oh, and they brought oxygen up to us for free when we were suffering big time from altitude sickness. Just call and ask for it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laureloo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,

Iván Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

My only gripe about this place was that it was too far from any of the action in Cusco. It's about at 15 minute UPHILL walk to the Plaza de Armas. It's not terribly uphill, but if you're suffering from altitude sickness, this might be a challenge.

It's very close to Korikancha, and the Crafts Market, however. If those things are important to you, this might be the place to stay at.

Breakfast was great, it's a huge buffet!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie_B_is_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful and detailed review about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website, I am sure all readers will have a great idea of the great service we provide.

I also would like to thank you for choosing us as the hotel to pamper yourself to experience during your stay in a Magic Cusco, it thrills me to know that you could experience our service combined with the staff charm.

Thank you for traveling in Peru, we have a beautiful country to explore, so we hope to have you and your friends on your next trip, once again accept my appreciation for your wonderful comments and for recommending us.

Warm Regards,
Ivan Pèrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.9 km away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.6 km away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.6 km away
Casa Andina Private Collection Cusco
1.1 km away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Property: Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cusco
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#14 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Hotel Cusco is the best place to stay away from the bustle of downtown, we are welcoming you to share contemporary and modern facilities with the comfort that you deserve, our associated are oriented to provide you the best quality services, finally you can delight with our specific services that will make your experience in the magical city fantastic. We are committed to create solutions to your needs, exceeding your expectations and leave you happy, that's our goal thinking in you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing