We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint colonial building, great location, no ventilation and too bright”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #23 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2017

This is yet another hotel that I want to give 5 stars, but I just can't. The building is so sweet, the view out over the town from the reception level is beautiful, they always have coca tea, muna tea, and coffee available, the breakfast is pretty good (the basic Peruvian hotel buffet, but better - they had tamales one morning!). The staff is friendly and helpful and patient when you can't talk because walking up the street or the stairs has left you breathless from the altitude. Our room was aesthetically lovely with a loft with couch and chair that I turned into my own dressing room. So what's the problem? To be nit-picky the lighting in the bathroom is difficult to shave or put your makeup with. But, more importantly. The only window that opened, opened to the hallway. It was stiflingly hot and we had no way to get circulation (they don't have AC in the Andean hotels). Then there was the skylight. This seemed really cool when we first arrived and we were shown how to use the remote control to draw the shade on it. And then it was 6am and we were staring at the very brightly lit shade over our bed. In their defense we never asked for a different room or a fan. I do recommend this hotel. The location is ideal as it is right by the Plaza de Armas. Just make sure you ask for some specifics like and external window and no skylight. Funny note - the road is so small that cars have to go down it backwards, because there is no outlet the other way and no way to turn around. It was some of the best driving I've ever seen.

Room Tip: Ask for external window for circulation and do not take a room with a skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kate_e1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva02, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear kate_e1974,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza with other travelers.

We really value the feedback from our guests because it helps us improve our service every day. We are committed to ensuring that every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels is as pleasant as possible.

Hope to welcome as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2017

I really enjoyed this hotel, they were very accommodating. They let us drop off our bags a few days ahead of time while we were staying in the Sacred Valley. One of the front desk employees, Harol, was incredibly helpful. The wifi was great, and there was free breakfast in the morning. This hotel is right on Plaza des Armas, which can make it a little tricky for tour pick up because cars can't drive right up to it, but it's worth it.

One thing to definitely make note of: there's multiple Tierra Viva Cusco hotels, so make sure that you know if it's "hotel" or "plaza" or any other version. We got dropped off at the wrong one, and walking to the Plaza on our first day in this altitude with all of our bags was slightly challenging.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva02, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Emily L,

Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza.

Our mission at Tierra Viva is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. And for us, help our guests and take care of them is part of our passion for service and love for our work and Harol shows what we all feel working in Tierra Viva!

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I stayed twice at this hotel, and appreciated the helpful staff assisting me with carrying bags to/from my room (no elevator). Free coca tea and 2 liters of bottled water daily were nice amenities, and the free breakfast was ample with eggs, sliced meats, cheese, fruit, olives, fresh juice and bread. Wifi was good. Rooms are cozy--I had one rustically decorated with antique musical instruments. A nearby club plays loud music that carries to the hotel, but I am a heavy sleeper and it didn't bother me. The hotel entrance is in a narrow street that not all tour operators can come to, but taxis don't have a problem. But the convenience of being 2 minutes away (walking) to the main plaza is fantastic. It's also close to Saqsaywaman (10-15 minute uphill walk) and other attractions. I loved seeing the clouds build to a thunderstorm and hearing the rain beat down on the sky window in the common area. The hotel also held my bags for 6 hours after checkout and arranged for my transport (10 soles) to the airport.

Room Tip: 1st floor is the noisiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva02, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Stacy E,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza with other travelers and for having stayed at our hotel.

We hope that you continue to be our guest at Tierra Viva Hotels if you ever have the chance to visit us again in Cusco, Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu, Puno, Arequipa or Lima.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed four nights in Tierra Viva hotel just off Cusco' s main plaza, and then one more night following our visit to Machu Picchu.

This is a wonderfully run hotel with exceptional guest services ranging from arranging taxis, tours, and restaurant recommendations. The morning breakfast, served daily from 5 to 10 a.m.,is delicious, and the young lady who sees to it all is excellent, and I wish we had gotten her name. She keeps everything neat and tidy and sees that there are never empty dishes.

Our room was on the bottom level, and was comfortable and quiet. There is plenty of hot water making for a great shower at the end of the day. When we left to go to Machu Picchu for two days, the hotel kept our excess luggage because luggage is limited on the Perurail trains to Machu Picchu, and had it waiting for us in our room when we returned.

And of course, the location is ideal. You will be happy you chose Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PWC148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva02, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear PWC148,

Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza!

Our mission at Tierra Viva is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. And for us, help our guests and take care of them is part of our passion for service and love for our work and Delia shows what we all feel working in Tierra Viva! I already shared your comments with the team and specially with her.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

This hotel was great, the staff was friendly, and though we had to pay, we were able to easily accommodate an additional last minute guest. They were able to assist in coordination with the two tours we had, and were able to point us in the right direction for restaurant recommendations, which were great. It is really close to Plaza de Armas so it makes everything convenient.

I will say that our room window was directly over a courtyard from one of the side streets from Plaza de Armas, and Cusco can party until sunrise. Since we had early morning tours we needed to be up at 3am for, we needed to get our sleep and the noise was a bit difficult and annoying to deal with, but that is no fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the interior of the hotel for less party noise from outside, good windows though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdegracia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva02, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear mdegracia8,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in spite of had experienced some noise issues. Luckily, after a really hard work with authorities and even press, all the clubs around the hotel have been closed!

We hope to see you again very soon at any Tierra Viva Hotel.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.5 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.4 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 172 in Cusco
1,554 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 172 in Cusco
1,562 reviews
0.3 km away
Los Andes De America Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cusco
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: €64 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing