We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible staff, great location and good value!”
Review of Unaytambo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Unaytambo Hotel
Ranked #40 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible staff, great location and good value!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We booked this hotel based on great trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed! The staff were so helpful, they gave us a great briefing on cusco when we arrived (where to eat, what to do, etc - all turned out to be really good) and went out of their way to help in anyway ( laundry, directions, taxi's). The rooms were lovely and very clean. They also looked after our bags for 3 days while we toured machu picchu and the sacred valley. It is a 5 min walk frim the main plaza in the city, and we felt safe walking to and fromthe hotel.?Highly recommend and would definately stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    81
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
106
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This hotel is very well located a short walk to the main Plaza and directly opposite one of the main attractions in Cusco.
The entrance is in an alley way, which leads through some small streets into the centre.
The reception does not do the rooms justice as i was quiet surprised by the quality of the bedrooms.
There is noise however from the streets and the rooms on the ground floor close to the reception particularly noisy as the the activity in reception can be heard in the room.
The bathrooms are a bit basic and water pressure quiet low.
However the room are clean and beds comfortable.
There is a courtyard for relaxing or having breakfast which is comprises of fruit, bread, cake and eggs of your choice. Hot water is provided and a selection of teas all day long.
The staff are very helpful most understand a bit of English. Laundry service is efficient same day and very reasonably priced all my clothing came back the same colour.
When my pick up to the airport did not arrive the guy at the front desk followed it up with phone calls, checking the street etc.. even though it was not there responsibility as this was booked by my tour company.
They were happy to store my luggage whilst i visited Machu Picchu and returned to the hotel.
Would recommend as a good not too expensive place to stay in Cusco.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the ground floor to the right of the reception if you have a choice. You will hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My family of 5 stayed here for 4 nights, 2 before and 2 after Machu Picchu. The wonderful staff was the highlight of our stay--everybody spoke English and worked really hard. Melvin, who worked the front desk most of the time we were there, gave us great restaurant recommendations and attended to our every need. The breakfast was okay. The building is quite old and has a lot of character--great "bones", and some huge beautiful rooms with really comfortable beds. So we were disappointed that it was lacking in some pretty important ways. The space heaters in the rooms were inadequate to heat them; when we complained, they gave us much better heaters which made the bedroom toasty. However, when we returned after MP, they had given the good heaters to other rooms and no others were available, so the rooms were cold again. The shower temperature was erratic (and you have to make sure to ask them to turn on the hot water as they turn it off in the middle of the day)--the first two nights, when we were the only ones in the hotel, the water was lukewarm; when more people were in the hotel, it alternated between scalding and freezing, with no way to regulate it. Also, the water pressure was consistently weak, and when combined with the lack of heat in the bathroom, made showering a miserable experience. The lighting was also inadequate--virtually impossible to read in the room. Finally, there is a huge disparity in the room sizes. We had 2 rooms facing the street, which were HUGE with high rafters. Our double room had a double and a single bed; the triple room had a double and 2 single beds; both lovely rooms. When we returned from MP, they replaced our triple with a tiny room at the back with 3 single beds, no window, and no room for luggage. We ended up putting 3 people in our "double", and 2 in the "triple." Both rooms were the same price! If you stay here, insist on one of the large rooms facing the street.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are huge; back rooms are small with no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelluver222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

It's hard to find the right hotel in Cuzco and not spend an insane amount, not be in a dumpy hostel, not be located above a noisy bar, not be far from Plaza de Armas, and get some local charm. Unaytambo ticks all the boxes.

+ Good location, a few blocks from Plaza de Armas, across the street from the most important Inca ruin in Cuzco, next door to the $600/night Libertador. On a small but brightly-lit alley. I've been robbed in Cuzco before, so I strangely felt good when the owner left $250 sitting on his desk when he helped me with an issue. All the staff speak at least some English.

+ Quiet, at least as quiet as possible in Cuzco. Car alarms and honking horns are a fact of life here. At least there is no bar with noisy revelers at 3am.

+ Very historic. It's an old Spanish mansion with stone walls 2 feet thick. Pay a little extra to get a big room with a sitting area.

+ No rip-offs. Water is reasonably priced at 2 soles and laundry is 7 soles a kilo, same-day turnaround. These costs can add-up fast at other places. They use a reasonably-priced taxi service. It's 25 soles to Poroy station and 30 soles back.

Cons

- Water not totally reliable. The trick is to turn up both the hot and cold when the pressure goes down.

- Confusion over transfers. There was some confusion over whether the return transfer to the airport was included in the room rate or not - depending on who I asked. It was 8 soles so I didn't fuss about it.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a few dollars more for their best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colonel_Montoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

--Room is very clean/charmingand warm, the only minor issue I have is with the bathroom, which doesn't match the charm of the room and the hotel.

--Breakfast at courtyard was so nice and lovely. Location is quite good.

--Staff---extreamly healpful and nice, the owner should really treasure them.

--They have been very flexible with my itinerary as well, and I really appreciate that.

--a very good choice if your budget is around USD 100.

Room Tip: standard room on the upstair is quite nice. We stayed at room 209....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 km away
MARQUESES Hotel
MARQUESES Hotel
#55 of 165 in Cusco
381 reviews
0.2 km away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#29 of 165 in Cusco
1,360 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.4 km away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.7 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unaytambo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unaytambo Hotel

Property: Unaytambo Hotel
Address: Pasaje Romeritos Nro. 402, Cusco cuzc 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Unaytambo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Unaytambo, meaning in Quechua "Ancient Resting Place" a doorway to the history and culture of traditional Cusco, located on one of the city's principal streets next to Qorikancha "The Temple of the Sun" where inca walls remind us of the greatness of our ancestors, chowing the whole world the richness and history of our Imperial City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Unaytambo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing