We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to crash, that's exactly all you'll be doing.”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #94 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Mountain View, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place to crash, that's exactly all you'll be doing.”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here twice while traveling on an arranged tour with G Adventures (formerly GAP adventures). Our first night was when we arrived in Cusco, prior to our Lares Trek, and then the second night was several days later after our Lares Trek.

Our first impression of the place was favorable, friendly desk staff, fluent in English. Helpful doormen unloaded our bags from the shuttle to the lobby. They brought us coco tea while we gathered in the lobby to discuss our trip with our guide.

We soon realized the impact the altitude would have on us, as we had to carry our luggage up the 3 flights of stairs to our room. There are no elevators, and the hotel staff doesn't do this for you. Our room was outfitted with 2 twin beds (even though we were a couple) but we didn't complain. The bathroom window of our room opened into the hallway. This was a little odd knowing that everyone walking in the hallway could hear what is going on in your bathroom. The bedroom window opened to a middle courtyard below, and to the room directly across from us. No privacy there. The room was spartan. Just a bedside table to share and then a table and chair.

Our second room was on the other side of the hotel, which seemed more updated. this room had a double bed, an updated bathroom, a beautiful balcony overlooking the town, and a flat screen TV. How there are 2 totally different standards of accommodations in the same building I have no idea.

There is also a restaurant where we had dinner, this experience was standard. We were just too tired to go anywhere else. The restaurant also serves as the location for our complementary breakfast. I heard a rumor about eggs, but I never saw anyone eat them. There were hot cereals, puffed cereals, fruit, yogurt, breads, deli meats and cheeses, and spreads. There is always an assortment of teas (including coco tea).

The front desk was kind and will hold any of your valuables in a sealed envelope and in a safe at your request. We also kept our items in a storage room while we were on the trek, and we had no problems with security and getting everything back in the condition we left it.

This place is adequate as it was included in the price of my tour. If I were an independent traveler, I might look for something with more amenities and privacy.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left side of the hotel are newer/nicer than the ones on the right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrldxplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    154
    210
    57
    16
See reviews for
69
188
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Hotel was ok - it was part of a package pre-Inca Trail with Gap Adventures, I expect it probably costs c.$50 per night. Our first room smelled a bit damp and breakfast was not fantastic, but ok for the money. We stayed for the nights we had paid for but moved elsewhere (Rumi Punku Hotel) for a more luxurious recovery post-Inca Trail.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a view. Ours faced in to the lobby and had the potential to be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Location was about a 20 minute walk from main square. Rooms were clean and basic. Good hot shower and rooms a good size. No elevator so being on top floor was a bit of a challenge! We did get a good wifi signal up there though. Breakfast was included and was ok - eggs, bread, cereal, coffee & juice etc. Stayed as part of a g aventures trip so not sure how much it is per night if coming back to cusco I would try to get somewhere a bit nearer the square, otherwise if u can manage the stairs it's a good, safe choice!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

stayed here as part of a G Adventures tour. basic hotel, no lifts available so be prepared to carry your luggages up to your room. good location, close to eateries and plaza de armas. not a fancy hotel but good enough - tv provided in rooms, warm water available as well. the restaurant in the hotel actually serves up really good and affordable food so it wouldnt be a bad choice to have a meal there. breakfast is not bad either - typically cereal,juices, bread, cheese, ham and sometimes sausages are served. simple hotel but decent.

Room Tip: ask for a lower level room if you have heavy luggages. carrying your bags up to the 4th level is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here as part of the Gap adventure tour. Prisma is conveniently located within walking distance to the town square. It is a few blocks away from restaurants (both local and for expats) and supermarkets/little stores. The staff is friendly and helpful. They provide free wi-fi and a computer for guest use. The walls are thin and you can easily hear other guests. Bring ear plugs because you might get a room that faces the street and the noise is really loud. Our only gripe was that the staff didn't give us a wake up call and we almost missed our tour bus. I recommend setting an alarm.
Overall, Prisma is a decent hotel and is at a convenient location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the street because it gets a lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 km away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#97 of 167 in Cusco
123 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#66 of 167 in Cusco
223 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#98 of 167 in Cusco
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
#27 of 167 in Cusco
856 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 167 in Cusco
436 reviews
0.4 km away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#83 of 167 in Cusco
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Property: Prisma Hotel
Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing