We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
233
69
10
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
69
10
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk hot water colca canyon eggs jose antonio beautiful terrace centre of town home from home coca tea the main square a great stay bread beautiful old building restaurant recommendations juice safe area rooms are spacious and clean
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Helpful staff, clean, quiet and comfortable room. The price is so good. We’d like to come back again. We com here in the morning and hotel let us check in earlier. So we can have a hot shower after night bus.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Liang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRAULIO L, Director General at Posada Nueva Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to be your choice in Arequipa. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope you enjoyed your time in our city. We work everyday looking to offer the best service and accomodation to our guests and all our staff will keep giving the best everyday with everyone who come here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

I booked this hotel in April, which is before the busy tourist season so prices all-around were lower. Normally ~$45/night, we were able to book Posada Nueva for $30/night! This is a mid-range hotel with extremely helpful and accommodating staff who speak English for the most part. It is in a safe area, though in general the staff do not recommend being out late in small groups (there were 2 of us). They have coca tea readily available to help with altitude sickness and they have a simple breakfast which is included with the stay. We were in the cheapest room which had very adequate accommodations including decent beds, a shower with warm water, tv, etc. We were able to take 20-30 minute walks and get to the main plaza and other markets. This was such a great deal!! I’d recommend it to anyone on a budget (or not) going to Arequipa.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRAULIO L, Director General at Posada Nueva Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. We appreciate you share with us all your experience during your stay. Like this we can improve our service and offer better acommodation to our guests. We'll keep working hard and giving our best to make them happen a nice time in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful find! A 10 minute walk from the centre of Arequipa. The rooms are spacious and very light. Big, comfy sofas in the common areas and a beautiful terrace where you have a huge breakfast (which is included) in the mornings. Staff and owner are so friendly and welcoming and gave us lots of recommendations on where to eat and what to see. I would highly recommend this as a gorgeous place to stay whilst in Arequipa!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NattyPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRAULIO L, Director General at Posada Nueva Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. It's so nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we could make you have a nice time in Arequipa. We are working to improve our service offering the best of us everyday looking to get happy guests everytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We loved this hotel! The service and the breakfast was awesome, and the hotel was beautiful. They fixed the trip to colca canyon for us, and they even let us leave our backpacks there until we came back from the trip.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRAULIO L, Propietario at Posada Nueva Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comment and preference in our hotel. All our staff work hard and try to give the best everytime to make you have a good time like you. It was a pleasure to book the colca canyon tour and storage your backpacks. We'll keep improving our service looking for happy guests.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Our stay here was absolutely wonderful.This was our 2nd stay at a restored colonial mansion the 1st being in Cusco. We enjoyed our stay here more.
Arequipa was our favorite city in Peru. So many things make this property special.

1- The staff and the owner treat you like family so welcoming and helpful. Even let us leave our luggage while we ventured to Colca Canyon on an overnight trip. Also helped us with accommodation booking in Miraflores Lima as well as ordering taxis and recommended things to do. We stayed 3 nights 2 adults and an 11 year old.

2- Location really suited us as it was away from the city center. Still a pleasant walk to main tourist attractions almost quicker to walk than take a taxi due to high volumes of traffic. We felt very safe walking day and night in the neighborhood. The hotel is like a hidden gem tucked down a side street picture postcard perfect.

3- We stayed in the original part of the building 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard.
Although the rooms offer basic accommodation they more than make up for in character. Crooked original wooden floors shutter style windows very special. The beds were comfortable and the room offered plenty of storage shelving.I believe we were the only ones staying here at the time so it was very quiet.

4- The breakfast was served on the second floor courtyard and it was lovely. The lady that serves breakfast was also the cleaner she was very nice. The courtyard was such a peaceful place it was hard to motivate yourself to move on.

5- We loved the interesting decor from the bathtub table conversion in the courtyard to the reception area.

6- Our most budget friendly stay in Peru but certainly one of our favorites many happy memories here. Highly recommend a stay here to others.

We are hoping all is well here with the recent earthquake and our thoughts are with you.

Room tip: 2nd floor courtyard view original part of the building offers the character of a true colonial mansion
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank ruizfamily2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRAULIO L, Director General at Posada Nueva Espana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay and had one of the best experiences in Perú. We are working searching for offer a better service everyday and get happy guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews