We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$59
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Los Tambos(Arequipa)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$61
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Arequipa(Arequipa)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Sillar(Arequipa)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Hosteria(Arequipa)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Positive Hostel & Backpackers(Arequipa)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bothy Hostel Arequipa(Arequipa)(Great Value!)
US$15
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
64
38
20
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
38
20
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is a typical backpacker’s hostel with younger clientele, however we were a family of four and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are cheap and clean and we had no problems with hot water. You have a very small (really, very small) kitchen that you can use and wifi everywhere until 11pm. They also have a nice terrace where you can relax or have a smoke. Nevertheless if you like it quiet you should ask for a room not to close to the terrace, as it can get quite noisy in the evenings.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bego75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

After reading the reviews, we had expected a little more for the money - kind of like the photos

Pros - clean, safe, friendly staff,comfortable mattress, comfortable pillows

Cons - for $24/noc for 2 - we expected more than a chipboard box of a room, floors that caved under our feet (chipboard), a little charm, paper thin walls and floors - we could hear everything ALL night long from the rooms at the sides and below, no breakfast, lots of street noise and we were at the back.

Basically this is a bare bones room without any furniture besides a bed, wooden chair and a bedside table with the drawer inoperable. We figure it should have been going for around $16/noc and we have traveled a lot of Peru. Nothing bad about it - just nothing really good either.

No fire escape and the whole building is chipboard. With exception of the front and the stairway into it. Even the shower pan was chipboard!!!

Room Tip: Not sure there is one. But if you are a huge fan of chipboard- you may love it here
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
posadaMistiHouse, Propietario at Posada Misti House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012
Google Translation

Como bien comienza este comentario, dando los pros de nuestro hostal, yo le pregunto a usted querido lector: que es lo que busca un huésped al venir de viaje a un país que no es el suyo? Limpieza, Seguridad, Amabilidad en nuestro personal, Comodidad, y es justamente lo que el mismo resalta de nosotros, y algo también importante agua caliente todo el día, tenemos 9 años en esta actividad y siempre han sido las mayores características que nosotros tenemos, las que justamente, el mismo huésped refiere en su comentario.
Si el hubiera deseado desayuno tan solo hubiera tenido que agregar 2 dolares mas por persona y hubiera tenido su desayuno, lo que el ve mal en nosotros y que es algo que ningún otro huésped se ha quejado es el tipo de construcción que el denomina "chipboard" y aca le denominamos "dry wall", y que es un material que justamente se utiliza en la mayoría de construcciones en el país de donde proviene el huésped, dentro de estas paredes todas tienen en su interior fibra de vidrio que justamente las hacen acústicas y no inflamables.

En Perú ningún local que da servicios puede funcionar sin tener un certificado de seguridad, por que somos una zona con historial sismico.y nosotros no somos la excepción y cumplimos con todas las normas de seguridad para nuestros huéspedes.

Fernando Polanco Velazco
Posada Misti House
Arequipa, Perú

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed here for a few days and really had a good time. The staff here (e.g. Yasel) was really nice and helpful. The kitchen is small but you don't have to pay to use it. The baños is clean and the hot water is nice. It's also very quiet at night, so I am able to get very good night sleep here. I met a lot of cool travelers here as well. The terrace is a great place to hang out with new friends. The location is also fantastic. One block from the Plaza de Armas and also very close to the Mercado de San Camilo. Best of all, this place is very affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yahcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A friend recommended I stay at Misti House when he found out I was traveling through Arequipa. I am very happy I took his advice. The hostel is right next to the main square with a great view of the gigantic volcanoes surrounding the city. The accommodation is very nice and makes for a great way to meet other travelers. The people running the hostel are extremely nice and helpful. They offer many different reliable tours to the Colca Canyons, Mt. Misti, etc.
Very happy with my stay at Misti House. Not to mention, prices are fairly inexpensive, making it a great place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Nice and simple, hot water can be scarce at peak times. Clean and cheap, very close to main square. Has wifi for free, could use some shelfs/wardrobes in the rooms. Floor is shaky a bit, but definitely not scary. Good value

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarusaSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews