We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of Posada Misti House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada Misti House
Ranked #62 of 178 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2012

After reading the reviews, we had expected a little more for the money - kind of like the photos

Pros - clean, safe, friendly staff,comfortable mattress, comfortable pillows

Cons - for $24/noc for 2 - we expected more than a chipboard box of a room, floors that caved under our feet (chipboard), a little charm, paper thin walls and floors - we could hear everything ALL night long from the rooms at the sides and below, no breakfast, lots of street noise and we were at the back.

Basically this is a bare bones room without any furniture besides a bed, wooden chair and a bedside table with the drawer inoperable. We figure it should have been going for around $16/noc and we have traveled a lot of Peru. Nothing bad about it - just nothing really good either.

No fire escape and the whole building is chipboard. With exception of the front and the stairway into it. Even the shower pan was chipboard!!!

Room Tip: Not sure there is one. But if you are a huge fan of chipboard- you may love it here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
posadaMistiHouse, Propietario at Posada Misti House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012
Google Translation

Como bien comienza este comentario, dando los pros de nuestro hostal, yo le pregunto a usted querido lector: que es lo que busca un huésped al venir de viaje a un país que no es el suyo? Limpieza, Seguridad, Amabilidad en nuestro personal, Comodidad, y es justamente lo que el mismo resalta de nosotros, y algo también importante agua caliente todo el día, tenemos 9 años en esta actividad y siempre han sido las mayores características que nosotros tenemos, las que justamente, el mismo huésped refiere en su comentario.
Si el hubiera deseado desayuno tan solo hubiera tenido que agregar 2 dolares mas por persona y hubiera tenido su desayuno, lo que el ve mal en nosotros y que es algo que ningún otro huésped se ha quejado es el tipo de construcción que el denomina "chipboard" y aca le denominamos "dry wall", y que es un material que justamente se utiliza en la mayoría de construcciones en el país de donde proviene el huésped, dentro de estas paredes todas tienen en su interior fibra de vidrio que justamente las hacen acústicas y no inflamables.

En Perú ningún local que da servicios puede funcionar sin tener un certificado de seguridad, por que somos una zona con historial sismico.y nosotros no somos la excepción y cumplimos con todas las normas de seguridad para nuestros huéspedes.

Fernando Polanco Velazco
Posada Misti House
Arequipa, Perú

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed here for a few days and really had a good time. The staff here (e.g. Yasel) was really nice and helpful. The kitchen is small but you don't have to pay to use it. The baños is clean and the hot water is nice. It's also very quiet at night, so I am able to get very good night sleep here. I met a lot of cool travelers here as well. The terrace is a great place to hang out with new friends. The location is also fantastic. One block from the Plaza de Armas and also very close to the Mercado de San Camilo. Best of all, this place is very affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yahcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A friend recommended I stay at Misti House when he found out I was traveling through Arequipa. I am very happy I took his advice. The hostel is right next to the main square with a great view of the gigantic volcanoes surrounding the city. The accommodation is very nice and makes for a great way to meet other travelers. The people running the hostel are extremely nice and helpful. They offer many different reliable tours to the Colca Canyons, Mt. Misti, etc.
Very happy with my stay at Misti House. Not to mention, prices are fairly inexpensive, making it a great place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Nice and simple, hot water can be scarce at peak times. Clean and cheap, very close to main square. Has wifi for free, could use some shelfs/wardrobes in the rooms. Floor is shaky a bit, but definitely not scary. Good value

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarusaSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great place.
Very close to the main plaza.
The staff is very friendly.
The rooms are cheap - starting from 15 soles for the dorms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.6 km away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
1.1 km away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 102 in Arequipa
276 reviews
0.9 km away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#7 of 178 in Arequipa
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 193 in Arequipa
354 reviews
0.5 km away
Hostal Inka Roots
Hostal Inka Roots
#41 of 193 in Arequipa
47 reviews
0.8 km away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#125 of 193 in Arequipa
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Misti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Misti House

Address: Calle Alvarez Thomas 204-A, Cercado | A una cuadra de la Plaza de Armas, Arequipa., Arequipa 04000, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range: €17 - €25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada Misti House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Misti House offers you a quiet, safe and clean place to stay And just like our slogan says: we are 'your home away from home'Just one block south from the main square, we have rooms with private bath, common bath and dormitorySince 2004, we are growing for you, improving the quality of our services.We have created a cable TV room with movies, games, book exchange and where you can share a conversation, coffee or beer.Nowadays, all our rooms include breakfast and wi-fi service; and everyone enjoys the terrace, kitchen and hot water all day long.Our staff are known as friendly and helpful and they offer you 24 hours attention. We will help you to plan your travels around Arequipa and Peru.In Posada Misti House, you will find a good place to sleep as well as a house where you can learn and share with fresh and happy people from around the world.Make you stay in Arequipa better, and enjoy Misti House with us.WelcomeBeatriz y Fernando ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Posada Misti House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing