We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
14
10
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
10
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2015

A beautiful house and friendlily service a 10 minute walk from plaz de armas in Arequipa. Although we had a problem with parking this was quickly solved by the staff. A very affordable hotel considering it's architectural beauty, carved wooden panels and elegant alabaster pillars make it a pleasure to stay at.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

It's a (very slighly steep) 15 mn walk or a 4 soles taxi (2012) away from the loud plaza de Armas.
I had room 104, internal windows= silent room,
Charming architecture: lovely carved wood, mahogany flooring.
Easy satin lounge chairs, many beautiful picture books of all Peruvian regions to consult.
Bathroom serves soapies and things, not usual for this price rate.
Ever so helpfull staff : we inquired for the current rate of silver, MariLou took the trouble of phoning three jewlers to find out ! (silver between 9 and 12 soles / gram => buy in Lima, mercado central for they have 5 - 8 soles /gram) also, we craved fresh papaya with a bit of lime and were not charged extra (The American Breakfast includes eggs.)
The slow but available computer on the second floor will be replaced in a near future.
Excellent price/quality !! We all enjoyed our stay at El Balcon !! We recommend it

Room tip: room 104 is very calm !
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleOyegorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Previous recent reviews say it all. Gorgeous old mansion, short walk to city center, helpful and pleasant staff, nice comfortable rooms, great breakfast. Good value for the money. No surprises or unplesentness. The hotel is a little bit off the beaten path so don't be surprised if the taxi driver from the airport seems to be wandering around leafy residential neighborhoods. That said the location is really charming and pleasent.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff3599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This hotel is located in a former mansion, and is a short walk away from Arequipa's city centre and the Plaza de Armas. The staff is exceptionally friendly and very helpful.

Room and bathroom were decent and the breakfast is prepared to personal preference. There's a computer upstairs that's free to use and lots of books and maps present. When you're not sure about walking back to the hotel at night (Arequipa is not a safe city, apparently), the staff will gladly arrange a taxi for you and give you several numbers that you can call.

We would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Day or late night it was a fast walk to La plaza de Armas and back. El Balcon is full of wonderful people readdy to make your stay a wonderful one. Continental breakfast included,but if you would like anything different just ask. When In Peru we walk as much as possible so that we will be ready for our Machupicchu hike in Cuzco.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AREQUIPENA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews