We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
90
83
23
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
83
23
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

This hotel is in a lovely quiet area, and on beautiful grounds. I think the staff must love to work here, as everyone seemed to go about their business quietly without noise and nodding to you as you walk past. It is a clean and lovely place, there is everything that a solo or a family would need to have a good quiet relaxing time, even those with young children. Everything was well maintained, and the views from the pool area is great. The town center is not far, though you will have to take a taxi ride. Walk to the main road for one, it will be cheaper!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malnit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Manager at El Lago Estelar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Guest.

We appreciate your comments about our Hotel, thank you for taking the time to write them. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope we can welcome you back any time soon.

Best Regards.

Maria Patricia Andrade Sterling.

Country Manager-Hoteles Estelar Del Perú.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Bravo for the people working on the kitchen, the rest of the hotel is alright - it has the potential to improve on the HK and events departments. Outdoor corporate activities should be happening away from the room buildings to not disturb guests.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beetbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Manager at El Lago Estelar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Guest.
I want to thank you for your candid feedback, sharing your experience during your recent visit and helping us to improve our services with your comments. We will continúe working to provide our guests an exceptional service.
Best Regards.
Maria Patricia Andrade Sterling .
Country Manager - Hoteles Estelar Del Perú

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

El Lago Estalar is located on the south end of town, far from the airport on the north side and also a long way from Arequipa Centre. The taxis are cheap but mostly low quality vehicles and the drive from the hotel to the town centre is very unpleasant. Very congested with traffic and not a nice part of town to be driving through. I would give the property itself a 2-star rating. The grounds are OK at best and there is no way anyone would go for a walk off the property, given the location. No A/C or heating. The first night it was warm so we needed to open the window in the room. They have quite a problem with stray dogs in the city and they literally barked all night long - non-stop. Made it difficult to get a decent night's sleep. If I were returning to Arequipa I would definitely pay a bit more for nicer property near the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerrickNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Gerente at El Lago Estelar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Guest.

I want to thank you for your candid feedback, sharing your experience during your recent visit and helping us to improve our services with your comments.
We will continue working, since our biggest commitment is to provide our guests an exceptional service and the best possible experience.

Best Regards.

Maria Patricia Andrade Sterling.
Country Manager - Hoteles Estelar Del Perú.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

The outdoor area is great for children and they have a nice pool and some games to play. The location is great eventhought it takes some time to go to downtown. There are still lot of improvement potential. One of the thing I didn´t like it was that we booked the room for 4 (2 adults and 2 children) and it is written in small letter that breakfast was only for 2! This is a total nonsense (eventhough is contractually correct). Additionally, they say that they have a fitness area but all the equipment wasn´t working well and ,even after I asked to repair, until the last day the equipment couldn´t be used. It is good that they have sauna and whirlpool and I have used. The only problem is that it has to be booked one day in advance in a very limited time frame.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joudiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Manager at El Lago Estelar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for your candid feedback,sharing your experience during your recent visit and helping us to improve our services with your comments.We hope we can welcome you back any time soon,thanks.

Maria Patricia Andrade Sterling.
Country Manager-Hoteles Estelar Del Perú.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

I was there with my family (2 children & my wife) for 3 weeks last summer. My wife is from Arequipa so we were 15 minutes away by car from her parents house. We spent 3 wonderful weeks @ this hotel and were treated very well by all the staff (dining room, cleaning ladies, front desk). The food is excellent, yes, it's more expensive than Downtown but the quality is very very good. I would recommend this hotel for someone who is looking to explore the outside of Arequipa (Colca Canyon, Volcanoes Misty, or the desert...). If you are more into nightclubs; you should look for a hotel closer to Downtown. Thanks again to all the staff (from: Martin from Montreal Canada)!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the same room for 3 weeks we were on the back side (very quiet except for the roosters @ night)...
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARTIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Manager at El Lago Estelar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Dear Guest.

We appreciate your comments about our Hotel, thank you for taking the time to write them. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope we can welcome you back any time soon.

Best Regards.

Maria Patricia Andrade Sterling.

Country Manager - Hoteles Estelar Del Perú.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews