We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
539
217
22
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
217
22
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location business center chain of hotels colca canyon street facing room great breakfast buffet street noise central location the main square good size overnight trip comfortable hotel no window breakfast staff two blocks juice excellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015

This was our fourth Tierra Viva in Peru, and we were not disappointed. The room was spotless, the staff very helpful, and the breakfast wonderful. The desk manager recommended a wonderful restaurant and arranged for complimentary transportation to the airport in the morning. We could not ask for more!

Date of stay: November 2015
Thank playabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

Dear playabonita,

Many thanks for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza with other travelers. We are happy to know that you find our chain as "Consistently Excellent".

We hope to see you again very soon at any Tierra Viva Hotel.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Couldn't ask for more! This is a quiet, simple hotel, in a great location. Close to the plaza, but not so close that it's noisy. The rooms are simple, but still decorated well. We had problems with noise at some other Tierra Viva locations, but not this one. It was perfect. Definitely recommended and would stay again if we were in Arequipa.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShugrGrl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Dear ShugrGrl55,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza with other travelers and for having stayed at our hotel.

We hope that you continue to be our guest at Tierra Viva Hotels if you ever have the chance to visit us again in Arequipa, Cusco, Machu Picchu, Puno or Lima.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015

three night stay. room in back cut off street noise, but we were awakened every morning by a loud barking dog in building next door. might have been less bothered if window was closed, but it was hot during our stay and there was no a/c. staff are attentive and courteous. standalone breakfast room was cheerful and the buffet was quite satisfactory. excellent shower, with good water pressure.

only one negative that, unfortunately, reflected badly on the hotel related to the complimentary shuttle service from the airport. this service is provided by a third party contracted, but not controlled, by the hotel. normally, this would be an appreciated public relations gesture. however, we encountered an aggressive driver who demanded we pay for his parking and waiting time, then asserted he was due a "propina" after taking us to the hotel through the back roads of arequipa. his justification was that his "contract" with the hotel covered only transport from the airport!

we discussed this incident a couple days later with the hotel manager, who was sympathetic and very interested in the details. she offered to refund our out-of-pocket costs which, i told her, was not the purpose of raising the subject. rather, it was to alert her that, what should have been a positive public relations gesture, actually reflected badly on the hotel.

normally, the shuttle service is complimentary only from the airport. however, unbeknown to us, the manager arranged a courteous driver with a spacious car to take us to the airport on departure day. when we tried to pay him at the airport, he said it was complimentary from the hotel! furthermore, the manager also arranged to have our one damaged suitcase wrapped in plastic before our departure-at no charge.

an incident which could have left a bad taste was artfully turned into a public relations plus by a conscientious manager.

Room tip: away from the street
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

The hotel is in very good conditions and very well located near the Plaza de Armas. The superior rooms are very spacious and the beds very comfortable. Beautiful shower!! Be careful not to choose rooms on the street because very noisy. In the hot months, the lack of air conditioning and/or fans can be hard to overcome... Breakfast is a bit weak but could be improved easily and make of this hotel a real gem. The staff is very competent, helpful and with a pleasant attitude. we were not happy with our rooms and the hotel management changed to for us without any problem. If the rooms had fans or air conditioning and the breakfast was a bit more varied and tastier, I would have given with great pleasure a fiver star rating.

Room tip: Some single rooms do not have a window. Rooms facing the street are noisy.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bongorock56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Dear Bongorock56,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza with other travelers.

We are sorry that the first room assigned to you has not fully met your expectations. As we are committed to ensuring that every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels is as pleasant as possible and we had the availability, we are very glad of knowing that you enjoyed your second room.

We really value the feedback from our guests because it helps us improve our service every day. We are committed to ensuring that every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels is as pleasant as possible.

Hope to welcome as our guest again soon.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

This was one of 3 Tierra Viva hotels we stayed with in Peru - very impressed with all of them.

Location was great - walking distance of the main square & lots of restaurants. Staff were charming & helpful. Room clean & modern & spacious.

The restaurant was large & served a generous buffet breakfast, supervised by such a friendly lady, who made sure that everything was beautifully arranged, topped up & fresh. Such a delight.

If & when we return to Peru, we will seek out Tierra Viva hotels as our first choice.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VamosChicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Dear Christine W,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for praising our chain of hotels Tierra Viva.

We hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Lima, Cusco, Machu Picchu, Arequipa or Puno!

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews