We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful interiors, but nobody speaks english”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada del Parque

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arequipa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada del Parque
Ranked #66 of 168 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful interiors, but nobody speaks english”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Rooms and halls are adorable, old colonial style, very clean and well maintained, spacious, comfortable with nice view – especially dining room and kitchenette on the rooftop, from where you can see tops of volcanoes and a cathedral.
Unfortunately there is NO ONE who speaks English, not the nice lady (I guess the owner), not anyone on the reception – very inconvenient, as you always get the best information at your hotel when you’re in the city for the first time. The only person we could communicate with was a friendly man at tourist office (only few hours a day present). We bought a bus ticket for Colca Canyon and condor watching, but the bus was an hour late (we waited in cold at 2:30 AM!) and we stopped for breakfast (it wasn’t mentioned while buying the trip) for like 40 minutes and for condors we had only half an hour – definitely too little time :(
The breakfast is optional, so is laundry service, the costs is almost double comparing with prices in the city. There is no possibility to negotiate prices, even for longer stay, or couple of pesos.
To sum up: beautiful but not very tourists friendly hostel, though good value for money (55 soles per night in big double room with bathroom and balcony, TV). Very good wifi.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
11
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Clean, well-decorated. Hard to get a hold of staff, though-- the front desk wasn't always manned, and they didn't necessarily respond to the bell. Also, breakfast wasn't at 7:30, as advertised on the sign in the lobby-- you had to make arrangements the night before in order for the cook to get there on time. Would have been nice to have known before we sat at the restaurant for 45 minutes, waiting for someone to show up. Otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lk0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Owner on site 6 days a week to operate his agency so very aware of what is going on and very eager to make is hotel even better. He asked me if I had suggestions and all I found was to tell him an extra towel would be nice to put on the floor when getting out of the shower. That should tell you how I had nothing negative to say about his place. He speaks perfect english by the way and a little french too.

The neighborhood is fine, the breakfasts are good, the fact that it is served on the terrasse on the roof with the mountains/volcanos in the background makes it even better and the staff is very helpful. There is a laundry service that dries your clothes in the sun when possible and it is a nice touch for me. The rooms are roomy and clean and for 15$ a night for a single room with a double bed as of may of 2011, it is hard to ask for a bette value!

Ty Cesar for the great hospitality, I would return for sure!

Room Tip: reserve in advance?!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doumdoum1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

I really liked this hostel. It's an excellent deal in a great location, close to everything and really cheap. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiestatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

I made a reservation by telephone and e-mail to this hotel. I told them I'll arrive the night from friday to saturday, they undertood wrong and the cancelled our reservation, so we arrived to Arequipa at 5 a.m. without a place to stay. Great :-(

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javierly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.6 km away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.8 km away
La Casa De Sillar
La Casa De Sillar
#10 of 168 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 km away
La Posada del Cacique
La Posada del Cacique
#46 of 168 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 168 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Casona Solar
Hotel Casona Solar
#5 of 168 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.8 km away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#88 of 168 in Arequipa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Parque

Property: Posada del Parque
Address: Dean Valdivia 238 A | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 168 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic center of the city, only three blocks from the main square, you will find Park Hostel (before Posada del Parque). A large colonial house, specially remodeled to offer you a friendly service for a most relax and enjoyable stay. The hostel has a great and colorfull design with a nice terrace where you will have one of the best panoramic views of the city and three volcanoes that surround it: Misti (5,825m), Chachani (6,075m) and Pichu Pichu (5,600m). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing