We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret of Calle Larga”
Review of El Mercado

El Mercado
Ranked #4 of 675 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Restaurants just don’t get any better in Ecuador. Our food was outstanding, the service the best. We live away from Cuenca, but anticipate our next visit.

The wonderful view at the back was an added bonus.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 67 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2018

Beautiful setting, stunning interior, great food and all shared with dear friends. What more does one need?

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We enjoyed a creative late lunch at El Mercado recently. Seating further in the back provides good views overlooking a portion of Cuenca. I had a six tomato salad (six different types of tomatoes) which was different, light and tasty. Our waiter was helpful describing the menu and specials and a fine source for other questions we had about his hometown.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

As you set your foot on the door you notice the well designed decoration, leaning towards industrial but with some details of the local culture. They have an overall well tough menu of Ecuadorian "haute cuisine" that sometimes is a bit far off from the flavours and techniques that are based on. I had the sea food rice, grilled octopus and the creme brûlée and pisco sour. Delicious flavours and nice presentation.

The vegan choices are minimal, they have to do variations on their dishes to do so.

Still, will visit them again on my next time on Cuenca.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

El Mercado is one of those places that is a must do if you are stopping by in Cuenca while Touring Ecuador. The food is Top Notch and above all the atmosphere and view of the new city of Cuenca while sitting in the old city is breath taking. I had the pleasure of visiting El Mercado a week ago on a foggy night Wednesday night and it felt as if the stars aligned to create an all around great night. The food was savory and flavorful. You can tell the chef took pride in each dish my recommendation if you are into eating fish and/or beef please try the "TABLA DE MARISCOS/SEAFOOD BOARD" or "CHURRASCO DE BIFE" you will not regret it. El Mercardo is and will be my new go to spot while in Cuenca.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeffrey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mercado also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to El Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing