We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home in Cuenca”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room and Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room and Dining Area
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Living Room and Dining Area
Living Room
Living Room
Flat screen TV with DVD player.  Library of over 100 DVD's included!
Chandelier over Dining Area
Entry to Living Room
Apt Entry and office desk
Entrance to kitchen.
Entrance to kitchen (mango area)
Kitchen has all the pots/pans, dishes, and cooking gadgets you'll need!
Microwave and toaster oven
Coffee Pot, Toaster, Hot Water Kettle
Breakfast table in Sun Room (just outside of kitchen).
Bedroom with Queen bed
Walk-in Closet
Ensuite bathroom with Shower and hand-held shower head.
Sunroom and kitchen area (kitchen in mango space)
Laundry Area (in sunroom)
2nd Bathroom with Shower (off of sunroom);
Another Angle of 2nd Bathroom
Rooftop terrace with amazing views for your enjoyment day or night!
Cathedral - just steps away
Flower Market across from Cathedral
El Centro (downtown)
Easy access to Mercado
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Cuenca, Azuay Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kristen S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home in Cuenca”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one week and it was a lovely place to call home. We were greeted at the airport and given an in-person intro to the apartment. What a spacious place! The colorful decor, bright and airy courtyard, living and dining room, bedroom with walk-in closet, & balcony made this a very easy place for one couple (& a friend who later joined us). It has plenty of amenities, including washer/dryer, microwave, large fridge, toaster oven, electric teapot, coffee maker, etc. The bed was comfortable and private, and the place clean and tidy on arrival. Also, the location is indeed very central to churches, mercado, flower market, restaurants, bakeries, main plaza, etc. We bought flowers for the apartment, ate fruit and baked goods for breakfast at home each day, & enjoyed the friendly neighbors who have the tienda downstairs and work at the dentist office. It’s an excellent value for the price and ideal if you want more independence and a sense of home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Gracias mi amigas!!! So glad you had fun and I hope the rest of your travels turned out the same!!
Dano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Criste T
San Antonio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment in center of Cuenca”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Interesting apartment on Plaza San Francisco in the center of Cuenca. Just a few blocks from the main square. Very spacious for 2 people. Plaza San Francisco is very busy during the day with Otavalan vendors, etc. which is a very authentic experience. We stayed in the 3rd floor apartment and the living area has a great view and small outside balcony overlooking the plaza. I always worry about noise but the square is very quiet at night and the bedroom is interior so there is no street noise at all for sleeping. The bed was comfortable enough even for 2 people accustomed to a king size bed. Felt very safe with several doors to lock on the way up to the apartment. Dano is very attentive. Was nice for him to pick us up at the airport. He came over the next day to change out some light bulbs. It did get a bit cold at night but we like to sleep in a relatively cold room with blankets. We were very comfortable. The 2 bathrooms were perfect for us as a couple. We washed clothes and used the kitchen for basic food prep, for coffee/tea and to warm up leftovers. Overall a great stay for the price and so close to everything.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Howdy folks!! Thanks for the thorough and complimentary review! Also, I really appreciated that you left the apartment in such great condition. Oh, and thanks for the charger gift...I'll put it to good use.
Til next time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickyboy2
1 review
“Everything; location, comfort, and privacy is great.”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The owner ensures that all your needs are met. He is very helpful and supportive. The kitchen is easy to use. The apartment is tasefully decorated.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a g
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first class all the way!”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We could not have asked for better accommodations in Cuenca then Danos apartment. It is exactly as he describes it in his ad. The kitchen is fully equipped, and he even brought a bag of coffee over with him when he came to pick us up, since he knew there was none at the apartment. After giving us a tour of the apartment and making sure we knew how everything worked he even drove us around the area a little to orient us and let us know where there were restaurants and other things we might need. Very very helpful. The apartment is close to the heart of downtown Cuenca, there are many restaurants and merchants and food stores within walking distance. He also went out of his way to help us when we had a problem getting transportation to our next destination. Thanks again for that Dano!! Would not hesitate a second to recommend both his place and him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sound of rain on the roof of the sunroom in the evening.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenandMar...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Truly in the heart of it all!”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Corazon of El Centro has all the comforts of home. Dano has done an outstanding job of making sure everything you need is there. He takes the time you need to talk through anything unexpected that might occur by meeting you in person when you arrive and escorting you to the place. He answers all your questions, and we even received many emails throughout the week full of research he had done to answer everything in more detail. And of course a phone is provided so that he can be reached at any time if you need it.
We were personally introduced to the Cuencanos who work in front of the entrance to the apartment and it felt very special to say good morning to them by name each day. We watched the hustle and bustle of the operations in San Francisco Plaza from our balcony and fell in love with the city. This city has just the right amount of tourism to make you comfortable, but if the tourists all went away life would still move joyously forward.
The first day we arrived there was a large pile of timber on the ground in front of the building. The following day I felt like we were watching an Amish barn raising (even down to the women bringing refreshments). We thought they must be making a new tienda, but when the tinsel, twinkle lights, flowers, and small figurines came in the next day, I realized that it was a nativity! Each night rows of chairs would be put out in front of the display and the rest of the week we were blessed with a beautiful scene of faith and fellowship as Christmas season was celebrated Ecuadorian style. One night on our way home we ran into Segundo (you will meet him) right as the greeting was commencing, and he came over and gave us big hugs. I honestly hated to leave after our nine day stay.
Dano has created a little bit of heaven on the roof of this building for all his apartment guests. We never ran in to anyone else up there (but would have enjoyed the company if we had), and the breeze and views of the city and the surrounding mountains are breathtaking.
We have rented several places with VRBO in other locations, and have had a great experience with them all, but Dano’s attention to detail and his personal investment in our stay were truly above and beyond.
Even though I can’t imagine a better apartment or location for your trip to Cuenca, I am sure that all of his places are special because of course- they come with Dano as your host!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being immersed in the culture, yet having the comforts of home at our fingertips-
Liked least: It is true that the smog from the city buses is hard to take at times.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
WOW!! What a writeup! It was so enjoyable reading about the fun you had. Look forward to seeing you here again down the road. BTW....Malcolm says 'Hi!!' (jejejejjee)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing