We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
313
59
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
59
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles turn down service garden room main building rose petals la mirage piano player beautiful garden lovely hotel old world standard room old style first floor three nights antiques suite ecuador
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017

A most lovely hotel in a convenient location. As the name suggests this is a hotel that has personality rather than a chain style property. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms large and airy.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

We loved the Mansion Alcazar. It was elegant, extremely stylish and the staff were impeccable. Initially we were disappointed to have a room in the newer section overlooking the garden but then realised we had light and the aromas of honeysuckle and jasmine wafting into the room.
The decor reflected the old world charm of a private home but the facilities met all modern standards. It’s well located near the delightful old town and is very accessible. We highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

OK, so it's on the pricey side for Ecuador... But this is a truly lovely luxurious step back into another time of simple elegance. Amazingly well sound-insulated considering you're in the heart of the central district. We had one of the deluxe suites with a window looking onto the garden courtyard and kept the window open the entire time without any excessive noise or insects, and woke to birds singing every morning.

The real value in Mansion Alcazar is the outstanding staff and in all the personal touches (hot water bottles to warm your feet in bed -- where else could you find that?). An afternoon tea service. Fantastic turn down service with a little bedside treat every night. Flowers everywhere. Slippers that actually fit.

The staff accommodated absolutely ever single little request: extra water bottle at night, birthday cake (!) with morning breakfast, transportation, guides, restaurant suggestions.

No problems, no hassle whatsoever being a same-sex couple -- staff appeared perfectly comfortable and nonchalant. 21st century has reached Cuenca in this regard and the staff is just very professional.

Location is great: walked to the main square Plaza Calderon every evening for a stroll. Walking distance to all the highly-rated restaurants.

Will never forget our stay at Mansion Alcazar. Warm thanks to owners, management, and staff.

Room Tip: Loved our deluxe suite "Sirena".
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HTMurgatroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

This place is amazing, my parents spent a weekend there, they said: the service is excellent, the breakfast really good, and the hotel is gorgeous.
Christopher and Maritza were very helpful giving me and offering me crucial information in order to organize this trip.
You really pay for what you get. Is a delightful place if you like to indulge.
Highly recommended for any special occasion.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Mansion Alcazar is a very quaint hotel. Is located in the center of Cuenca. Is a traditional Ecuadorian hotel with lots of charm. There are rooms inside the house and others in the patio out back. It’s clean and the people are very friendly. It can be loud at night (piano playing or people gathering in the “lobby”) if you room is inside. Some rooms are bigger than others depending on location of the room in the house. The restaurant is amazing. Really good food and good prize.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank MaryAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews