We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat in Cuenca”
other travellers have booked this property
Dining area and entrance to the charming one-bedroom, named 'Alpaca'.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area and entrance to the charming one-bedroom, named 'Alpaca'.
Courtyard, garden and stairs to second level.  The Alpaca one-bedroom faces the garden. Bathrooms are elegant and new.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Dining area and entrance to the charming one-bedroom, named 'Alpaca'.
Courtyard, garden and stairs to second level.  The Alpaca one-bedroom faces the garden.
Bathrooms are elegant and new.
Bathroom door and sink
Queen beds are new and comfortable and have side tables and lamps.
The couch is a sofa-bed for an additional guest. Original paintings by Charles Reddington.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cuenca, Azuay Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CarmenDBL
Salem, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat in Cuenca”
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Beautiful garden courtyard. Close to museums, great park, restaurants & more. The owners are lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
1 review
“Extraordinary People in an extraordinary Land”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stewart and Patricia the owners of this vacation rental were so warm and friendly.
I thought for a minute we landed in Utopia.

The property is so pleasant with its lovely garden and comfortable accommodations’.

It is centrally located in town. You can walk to all the wonderful restaurant’s and Caldron Square is close by as well.

Patricia had food in our refrigerator so that we didn't have to run out at night and shop.

I highly recommend this most Charming vacation rental.

It will always be a wonderful memory of Cuenca.

Susan and Bruce

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flordelal...
Caldas da Rainha, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Pumamaqui is a unique and wonderful place to stay, located in El Centro. I have stayed in three of the units here (all of which are lovely) and this is my favorite. This is a lovingly restored building -- incredibly charming with a beautiful courtyard and garden for you to relax in. The owners, Stu and Patricia, are fantastic hosts and are two of my favorite people in Cuenca -- muy buena gente. Stu is there to welcome you when you arrive with cheese, fruit, bread, and flowers, and will answer any questions that you may have about the building and the city itself. The unit is very spacious, with a full kitchen, eating area, living room, office space, bedroom (with a comfy bed), and bath. A washer and dryer are located in a room off the courtyard. There are several great restaurants a few doors down from Pumamaqui and its location is a great starting place to explore the city. You will not be disappointed with any of the 4 units in the building!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stu and Patricia, and the charm of the building, beautiful unit and courtyard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA-destr...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Classy Private Courtyard In The Heart Of Cuenca”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

If you would like to experience the lively city of Cuenca while maintaining a home base that is classy, comfortable, and clean then Pummamaqui Apartments are for you. The attention to detail in the courtyard design and the great care of design within each apartment to makes this place the best value in the city for 1 or 2 week stays. The ability to select various combinations of interior lighting created a variety of possibilities, from romantic to functional and the kitchens were built with the ability to produce a 3 or 4 course meal for four people. If you are staying anywhere in Cuenca near Centro I suggest you bring ear plugs. The noise did not bother me, but some sensitive travellers who either cannot deal with noise made by other people or have medical sensitivity will need ear plugs. You are close to it all here in this apartment. I seriously doubt you can do better than this place as you are near some of the best food in all of Azuay within Cuenca (eg: Tiesto's) and a short walk to the daily market for fresh seafood (mornings), fruits, and vegetables.

Also, I'd this is your first time in Ecuador and have never traveled in South America before then I highly recommend hiring a private driver, of which Stuart can provide you names. Guillermo can take you from Guayquil to Cuenca (or Guayquil to anywhere), and Angel can take you from Cuenca to Quito or Cuenca to Loja, Cuenca to Guayquil. Both can give you tours and speak English. Just ask Stu after you book.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jelcock19...
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Exceptional Accomodations”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stu and his wife, Patricia, are attentive hosts. Stu responded to our e-mails promptly-- both before and during our stay—and ensured that all of our needs were met. Additionally, Stu met us upon arrival and provided us with an orientation to both the property and Cuenca.

The property is centrally located and within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and Cuenca’s major attractions; Patricia also vends hand-sewn alpaca apparel at the on-site boutique.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing