We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
15
12
6
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
12
6
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We took the top suite and we loved it. Lots of furniture and brick a brack to make it look homely and it worked. Couple of big double beds and a kitchen, spa bath etc etc. Nuts and comp drinks left as well. We loved it an also re-arranged furniture with ease to accomodate our 1 year old.

Sure breakfast is simple being a fruit plate, eggs and toast and jam but its free and its fresh enough to give you enough energy to go elsewhere if you wish.

Staff all helpful and willing to go extra mile.

Room Tip: suites are best
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zantonsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

We stayed at this hotel fourteen days with our twelve year old son. Little English was spoken except for Danny (staff).

Even though we spoke little Spanish we had no trouble getting anything we needed. They rearranged our room to give us more living space which we appreciated.

The free breakfast was simple and good but they were going to an in house restaurant. The quality of the food may be different from when we were there.

Fridays and Saturdays were crowded but the rest of the time we felt as though we had the whole place to ourselves.

We would stay at the hotel again. Now we live in Cuenca.

Room Tip: The second floor is the best since there are no elevators. Less noise from the streets. The higher floors have better views.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

The Hotel is located perfectly in the Center of Cuenca, the old Cathedral as well as Calle Larga with Bars and restaurants can be reached in less then 5 minutes. Entering the Lobby the high ceiling with the flowers looks impressive and quite nice. During the night its actually annoying that most of the windows go into that lobby and whenever the bell goes when people enter the hotel i was awakened by that sound. Also it would be nice to have some fresh air circulation in the room which is not really possible with the windows to the lobby. The service was ok but not special. Breakfast includes an egg, toast, juice, marmelade and coffee. If you are used to the european breakfast and might need a little more, you need to ask seeral times to receive more.

Room Tip: Room with Window to the outside not to the Lobby!
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Niatan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

The hotel is well located in the historical part of Cuenca, the staff (Mr. Coronel, Mrs. Jeannie, Daniel) are extremely helpful and go out of their way to assist you. The hotel is comfortable and offers good value for the money. At very close proximity to excellent restaurants and places to visit in Cuenca.

Room Tip: Rooms with outside windows
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

This is my fifth time visiting the city of Cuenca (which I absolutely love). Just to be upfront, my review is based on past experiences and expectations I've had from staying in other Cuenca hotels.

My mistake this time was not planning far enough in advance, and all the previous places we had stayed (which had been great!) were booked. This place had a 4 star rating on trip advisor, so I thought great! It's in our price range ($60 a night) and its close enough to the historic center. Let's try it out. This was a bad decision. There's a reason they still had rooms open.

Even if $60 was what we ended up paying a night (which it wasn't - when we got there they informed us that %12 taxes and %10 service was not included -- and they DON'T accept credit cards, which is ironic since I reserved my room on a credit card). Although this type of manipulative advertising happens in Ecuador (I've seen it many times in the three years I've lived here), this is the first time I've experienced it in Cuenca. Don't advertise $60 a room when it's going to be much more. And don't let me deposit 50% thinking it's going to be $60 when it's going to be closer to $70 a night.

The whole deposit and asking for more money when I arrived wouldn't have bothered me if the room was good (a lot of hotels in Cuenca have beautifully quaint rooms) and the service was good.

The room was TINY and poorly, poorly lit. There was barely enough floor space to walk around without bumping into the bed, dresser or bathroom. I was shocked. It was a room similarly set up to the $10 a night/per person hostel I had stayed at, which had a nicer room. We could barely sleep both nights because they have this chiming doorbell (horribly annoying) that goes off (very late into the night) and any conversation that takes place by the reservation desk carried all the way up to the third floor (where we were). I can usually sleep through anything (I've lived next to large roadways most my life) and could not for the life of me fall asleep until after that chiming annoying doorbell stopped late into the night.

There were a number of other things to happen, which I won't even go through, because I understand in the service industry, people make honest mistakes. I worked in the service industry for 4 years, my fiancé works in the office of tourism & hospitality in the city where we live in Ecuador - we get it. But this last mistake (after about 4 previous mistakes in our two day stay), was the last moment where I knew none of this hassle was worth it.

We were going downstairs for breakfast (which is included with your stay) and we went to eat in the side room with a view of the street where we ate breakfast without a problem the day before. However the receptionist ushered us to eat in the other room (presumably because there were many people, though the same number as the day before, and wanted us to be closer for faster service?). Well, the day before, we had been greeted immediately and although the service was slow, it didn't bother us because we had this great view of the street. Today, we were ignored, without even a buenos días for fifteen minutes... In no culture is 15 minutes an okay time to wait to say good morning and take your order, regardless of how busy you are (there were two servers, and two managers walking around). I couldn't believe it. I've never walked away from a table ever in my life, and I walked away this morning. This was also when I knew I needed to write a review.

On the upside we went to Cafe Austria about a block away, and had a DELICIOUS breakfast with incredibly fast service.

If you're looking to come to Cuenca (which I definitely recommend!!) look somewhere else and leave this as your last choice. Consistent errors are not something that just happened to us, consistent errors from management down mean they have issues managing. Choose another hotel with known quality in service!

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magrad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel CoronelC C, Director General at Hotel Coronel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014
Google Translation

Señorita Gradowski: Que lamentable vicisitud, me siento muy apenado. Por lo expuesto, supongo, nuestros colaboradores con la mejor buena voluntad, de atenderles, omitieron darles la atención que vosotros se merecen; En cuanto a la habitación, de hecho ,por ser casas patrimoniales, apenas cuentan con 16 m2, no obstante, si la Dirección, hubiéramos conocido este particular les hubiéramos acomodado en una habitación doble.
. Aprovecho la oportunidad para reiterarles nuestras disculpas y agradecerle por hacernos conocer nuestras debilidades.
Cordialmente, La Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews