We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like in the French Alps! Loved it”
Review of Fondue Garden

Fondue Garden
Ranked #48 of 622 Restaurants in Cuenca
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Description: We are the First and Only restaurant in Cuenca with specialty in Cheese Fondues, Chocolates and Caramel; Also we have an exquisite offer of national, international and author dishes. We are Unique because it gives us PASSIONATE WHAT WE DO WITH THE HEART, and is: Serve with Quality and Warmth Come and enjoy the most delicious desserts, cocktails, coffees, smoothies, and many more surprises!
Restaurant details
Description: We are the First and Only restaurant in Cuenca with specialty in Cheese Fondues, Chocolates and Caramel; Also we have an exquisite offer of national, international and author dishes. We are Unique because it gives us PASSIONATE WHAT WE DO WITH THE HEART, and is: Serve with Quality and Warmth Come and enjoy the most delicious desserts, cocktails, coffees, smoothies, and many more surprises!
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Warmly greeted by the owner. Allowed us to test all the wine before choosing a bottle. Go for the Malbec! Fondue like in the French Alps! Good bread and potatoes. Good and efficient service. Even called us a cab at the end of dinner. Highly recommend!

3  Thank Jedevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe R, Propietario at Fondue Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Jedevill, thank you very much for your visit and for your comment, we are passionate about serving you in the best way, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Best regards
FONDUE GARDEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Our waiter made a fresh lemonade that was oh so delicioso! We had the Carmel fondue. Du-et! The service and ambiance was fabulous. Highly recommend if you're in the area.

1  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe R, Propietario at Fondue Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Megan, thank you very much for your visit and for your comment, we are passionate about serving you in the best way, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Best regards
FONDUE GARDEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Visittet Fondue Garden at Switzerlands Birthday (1st of August) to eat a cheese-fondue. The nice location, a (for ecuadorian-cheese-conditions ) very good fondue and the awesome cheese-cake for desert (which you should share with somebody if you are not that hungry anymore after the fondue) make this restaurant worth a visit.

1  Thank egloff42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

My mom was visiting us in Cuenca to celebrate her 60th birthday and wanted to fondue, like they had done in Switzerland for my dad's 60th. The cheese and dark chocolate fondues were both delicious! We also added sides of beef, chicken, mushrooms, and shrimp. In the US, we would fondue these in hot oil or broth, but here those items come out already cooked and you simply dip it into the cheese mixture. We all enjoyed those items as well. Listening and watching the Tomebamba River while we ate was an added treat. When the chef came out to make sure we enjoyed the meal and found out it was my mom's birthday, he went back to the kitchen and made her an additional little birthday dessert! Memorable meal and great service!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I was both apprehensive and excited to try fondue in Cuenca. It's not always easy to find good bold cheese here, so you might understand my hesitation. I have to say that the portion size of the fondue pot (designed for two) was perfect and the bread was excellent (also another difficult hurdle sometimes here) but we did have to order and additional portion between the four of us. That they offered it with baby potatoes in addition to the bread, was a beautiful Ecuadorian touch and blended perfectly with the cheese fondue. We ordered additional meat portions and were slightly disappointed by the portion size, but anywhere else it would be considered a deal. We had the classic fondue and the fondue Neapolitan. We'll definitely try the pesto the next time we go. No matter where you go, fondue seems to be expensive (considering the ingredients), but we found that the $20 price tag (for 2) was reasonable for here in Ecuador and well worth the outlay to have a new taste experience in the city. Really worth a try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank danrobe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe R, Propietario at Fondue Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear danrobe, thank you very much for your visit and your comments, we will work on the mentioned details, the same ones that help us to keep improving. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.
Best regards
FONDUE GARDEN.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fondue Garden also viewed

 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Fondue Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;