We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
18
10
2
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
10
2
8
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The place has amazing gardens and comfortable rooms. You can truly experience the Ecuadorian countryside and witness the Ecuadorian way of life in a rural setting. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the personnel very pleasant. It is close to the city of Cuenca so you can plan for activities in the city as well as on the countryside. My family and I (two adults and five children) had a wonderful experience!

Room tip: rooms close to the reception are the best.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed with several things that happened while we were staying here. The only reason why I give it 2 stars is bc the scenery around the property was beautiful, but other than that, the hotel was horrible. I warn you, this is going to be long. i have a lot of pictures that go with my horrible findings.

1. The cocking in the bathroom was BLACK, in the sink and in the shower. If I wasn't with a group of 10 people, I would of gone running out the door the second I saw this.
2. The lamp in our room would start smoking bc there was duck tape around it.
3. There were flower vases where the glass was all broken.
4. There are 2 types of floorings in the room, where the two meet, there is this wooden slab (not sure what it is called) well that piece was all broken and there were nails that my kids would constantly either get their socks or pants caught in. Needless to say, i had to throw away at least 2 pairs of socks and 3 pants.
5. The second day that we were there our chimney began to spit out ashes all over our room. i told several people about the issue, no one told the person in charge of the chimney, and when i saw in at night, i told him about it and he said there is nothing to be done, so i proceeded to tell him to please not turn mine on, and he said it was too late bc he already turned it on. SUPER rude
6. In the restaurant, most of the chairs have nails that poke your legs or hands while you are sitting down. I informed a couple people about this, but there wasn't much they could do considering the fact that almost every chair was like that.
7. For new years we were told that they had an event planned, which ended up being a lie. The waiter and chef tried to accommodate us as best as possible and put us in this little room between the reception and the restaurant. It was nice, but they asked if we wanted a bottle of rum, they brought AN OPEN BOTTLE, we drank maybe 3 drinks, and left the bottle, and we got charged for the whole thing.
8. The following day we decided to go horseback riding, and in order to get to where the horses are you have to go through this other building they have, where they had a private party for new years. It was pretty disgusting to see the mess that the party had left the night before. I was walking with my teenaged daughter, nieces and 4 year old son and we were walking through broken bottles, cigarette buds, empty cans, there was a broken table. Needless to say, they should of not had horseback riding available if they were not going to hire anyone to clean right after the party.
9. The cleaning lady is HORRIBLE. Underneath our bed was disgusting, behind doors were left constantly dirty, there was a bug that i killed the first day in the shower and the bug remained there 2 days later until i complained about it.
10. there are paved walk ways throughout the property, but please be careful bc half are loose and come out if you step on them. My 65 year old mother in law almost fell bc she stepped on a loose paver.
11. since you are out in the wild there are a million bugs, and obviously you are going to kill them, the least they could do is clean up the dead bug marks all throughout the rooms.

This hotel would be amazing if management would step up with game and make sure that the property were clean, safe and mildew free.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

Very close to Cuenca and Baños, this can be the base to visit places nearby as well as the city center. Setup of the hosteria is quite nice and staff is helpful. Rooms near the reception can be noisy and beds can benefit from a mattress upgrade. Having the fireplace lit by the staff every evening is a very nice touch.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank janosh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

The hosteria is quite nice. But most important, they do present shows and other entertainment on a regular basis in their own theater-like setting. In the city, yet far from the noise it is a place to rest an quiet soliltude.

Room tip: It is on or about Cuenca, which in itself is a wonderful destination. The entire city is a colonial place with so many restaurants to choose from and boutique style hotels reasonably priced..
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0rian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando T, Manager at Hosteria Caballo Campana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Thank you very much for your review, we are really glad that you have enjoy your visit to our Hosteria, and we hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

A nice beautiful country site! At Hosteria Caballo Campana you can ride horses, enjoy a great meal at the restaurant, walk their gardens or just breathe the fresh air. Nice for families, friends or couples. Just ask a taxi driver and they know where to take you!

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando T, Manager at Hosteria Caballo Campana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Dear Elizabeth: thank you very much for your review, and tanks for the beatifull pictures.
We hope you come back soon.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews