We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
77
47
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
47
15
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A great base close to the tram line, places to eat, and an artisan market. Rooms are very spacious. The rooms in the back courtyard are the best and quietest. We really appreciated how accommodating they were in keeping our luggage for free. It was so convenient not to have to leave our bags for the Galapagos when we went to Peru, also our tapestries from Otavalo. We never doubted that our bags would be there and in good condition when we returned. Great hot chocolate and cafe con leche for breakfast! Also, good and free internet connection.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seekingmoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a terrific experience at Los Alpes. The rooms were very comfortable, and we were given a choice of rooms when we arrived. We were able to have 2 rooms next to each other, which worked out great as we were traveling with our 20 year old son. There was always hot water, but you sometimes have to ask for it depending on the time of the day(let it run for a little while and it does get hot). There was always bottled water available in the rooms for drinking. The wifi worked very well, which was particularly important for our son. We didn't need them when we were there but they provide lots of blankets. The location was good, near the Parque del Ejido, the artisan market, and transportation (trole). If you want to be right in the middle of things in La Mariscal, this may not be the place for you, but we liked being in a more quiet area that was still convenient.

Both Claudio Sr and Claudio Jr are extremely helpful and friendly. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. They helped us figure out transportation to get places, whether by helping us get a taxi or by telling us exactly where to get the bus to get to Mitad del Mundo. They also were able to help us with all kinds of random things we needed, such as where to get our laundry done and where our son could get a haircut. They also saved some money that our son had accidentally left in his room while we were gone for a few days visiting other parts of Ecuador, and had it saved for us upon our arrival back.

We were able to leave our luggage while we did some traveling to other places. On our last day, our flight home didn't leave until midnight, and they let us stay into the evening so we could just leave from the hotel. We would definitely recommend Los Alpes to anyone traveling to Quito. There are certainly other places that would be a little cheaper, but this met our needs perfectly.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank AndiKminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The staff was very helpful, they arranged our transportation, stored our luggage while we went to the Galapagos, suggesting restaurants and sites to see. The hotel is very charming, and the breakfast is very good. This was our first trip to Quito and I wont hesitate to stay there again when we return.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way back home. The place is an old house, jam packed with furnishings, pictures. The rooms were clean and pleasant - we had a suite with a private bathroom.They had bottles of water in the rooms.
Location is convenient - many eating places and a supermarket nearby.
The owners are Italian and were very kind to us when our daughter arrived here with a bad stomach bug. It was Sunday, most things were closed and we were anxious about our daughter. Claudio Sr. drove my husband around to find a pharmacy that was open, translated for him and helped us find a medication that helped. They went above and beyond to help us and we appreciated it. The kindness of strangers does make a difference when you travel!

Room tip: We were on the top floor, and the room was quiet even though we faced the street.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kagotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Everything was perfect from the time of arrival until the time we checked out 4 days later. We had breakfast every morning from 7 to 9, but one morning we didn't get up out of bed until 10 and they still offered to prepare breakfast for us. They were extremely helpful in suggesting places to see in Quito. They were good in calling cabs and giving us advice about the city. The beds were comfortable and the maid service was great! I would definitely stay at Los Alpes again.

Room tip: There were 4 of us traveling so we got 2 rooms and they were both nice
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews