We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay at Wantara”
other travellers have booked this property
Wantara Garden Suites
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
private terrace
kitchen
dining table for 3
view into the garden
modern wood burning stove for cool nights
bedroom on first floor
double bed (180 x 190 cm)
convertible in two single beds
two single beds (90x180cm)
comfortable desk
Suite Luna and Suite Sol are  also apt for a family or friends sharing one terrace
mountain view
enjoy the garden
gazebo with barbecue
Suite Luna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Quito, Pichincha Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AnnViola
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at Wantara”
Reviewed 12 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed one month in the Luna Suite. I found Wantara to be a great choice. Andi and Wolfgang are really nice hosts. They speak English, German and Spanish! They are available if you need anything but also you have privacy. The best of both worlds!
The garden is a lovely and serene.
I liked staying in Old Town. Wantara well located as it is just 3 blocks from La Ronda, 4 from Plaza Santa Domingo, 3 from the Trolebus (you can take for 25c and can get to La Mariscal with one easy transfer) and about 6 blocks from a good grocery store. It's on a fairly quiet residential street away from bus fumes and traffic noise. Also, there was safe in my unit.
The kitchen was really well equipped. The apartment was clean and had lots of natural light. The hot water worked really well in the shower. The wifi worked quite well too. I felt safe and secure staying there. I highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a kitchen to cook in and the view from the windows upstairs.
Liked least: Not being able to walk around at night in the area, but that's a Quito issue, not a Wantara issue..
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Peaceful Suites in Historical Centre”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 for a stay in November 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Me and my husband spent 1.5 months in Wantara Suites, and had a delightful stay all the way. Yes, the place is as nice as on the website pictures: the rooms are spacious, very tasteful and fully equipped (you can even make cappuccinos in your kitchen!). Fresh flowers from the peaceful garden will welcome you upon arrival. A cleanup twice a week is included and laundry service is at 5$ a load.
Wantara is situated in the historic city centre, at walking distance from the main tourist attractions there. It also lets you experience the typical Ecuadorian “barrio” life: you will soon know the neighbours, local shops and bakeries.
Security wise the historical centre and the Panecillo area have improved enormously in the last years: during the day and at night when still busy you can walk around freely. At night best take a taxi as everywhere else in the city.
We highly recommend this place and its hospitable and generous owners for prolonged stays in Quito!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of the place (owners, garden, suite)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No better place for an extended, full-service stay in Quito.”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 for a stay in October 2011
4
people found this review helpful

I spent three months in the Lagarto Suite with my wife and 3 month old son. We could not have asked for a better or more accommodating place. Not only do the suites live up to the pictures, but in the case of Lagarto, I would say that the pictures don't do it justice! The suites are all modern and inviting and have been furnished/equipped with great attention to detail. We arrived late on our first night and, although we were also a little resistant to the mandatory airport pickup, the service was well worth the money. We were met in the airport by the driver's wife and driven by private car direct to Wantara. Upon arrival, Wolfgang and Andi had stayed up to meet us, had started a fire in our suite's fireplace, had setup a crib for our son, and had stocked the fridge with breakfast food for our first morning! Needless to say, as a frequent traveler I can hardly think of another instance of such attentive service. The warm welcome continued through the duration of our stay. Andi and Wolfgang are amazing hosts and made us feel at home throughout our time there, which included Christmas and New Year's. Wantara is in an area of Quito in which ones needs to exercise caution at night, but cabs are cheap and plentiful and the hosts can certainly help guide you/arrange transportation. This area has also greatly improved in recent years, and a newly renovated plaza in the area should help further increase security due to a greater police presence. If you are in search of great quality, suite-style accommodation in Quito, then look no further than Wantara. You will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Suite, Garden, Hospitality
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egeris
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in the heart of Quito”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Wantara Gardens is the perfect place to stay in Quito if you plan to stay for a longer period. I rented the Luna flat for 3 months and it became my second home. The flat has everything you need - comfortable bed, good bathroom, nice views from the top floor and your own private outdoor area. The garden is beautiful and very peaceful and it is only a 10 minute walk from the heart of the historic center. Wolfgang and Andy are very helpful hosts - and it's very inspiring that you can share all your trips and experiences with other lodgers and get tips and ideas for new trips. I simply can't imagine a better place to stay in Quito.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful garden in the middle of the city.
Liked least: The neighbour's barking dog - but that's an integrated part of life in Quito
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisB332...
Ladysmith, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Travelers oasis in the city.”
Reviewed 10 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Wantara Suites for one month. The suite we stayed in was everything we wanted and more. It was very comfortable, clean, nicely decorated, had a full kitchen, lots of hotwater, and great hosts. Andi and Wolfgang were very helpful in assisting us to plan our excursions to Otovalo, Banos, and the Galapagos, as well as local sightseeing in Quito.

We found it was a short walk to the historical center and all it's sights from Wantara. When you returned, the peaceful tranquility of the garden awaited you. One of the great things was the ability to meet fellow guests and exchange information about travelling in Ecuador.

We both would highly recommend Wantara as a great place to stay in Quito.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful escape from the bustling city.
Liked least: Nothing really comes to mind.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing