We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

El Rincon de Cantuna
Ranked #150 of 1,722 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This restaurant has a good menu of tasty items. Food is presented well and well cooked. The complimentary starter of potato chips is very nice.

Thank Aussietriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director General at El Rincon de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Customer,

Thanks for your rewiew we are happy to know we met your expectations.


Best regards,

Ricón de Catuña

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Our family greatly enjoyed the meals we had in the restaurant at the Hotel Patio de Andaluz in Quito. The staff there is knowledgeable, polite and kind. The food was delicious. Breakfast buffet was outstanding.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank suzannemarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, Manager at El Rincon de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Suzanne,

Thnsk for your wonderfull review, we are glad to have met your expectations.

Best regards,
Ricón de Cantuña
Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Let's begin saying that this restaurant is located inside the Patio Andaluz hotel. If you are in the area and you ask for directions, very few will know about el Rincon de la Cantuña. So better ask for restaurante Patio Andaluz or Hotel Patio Andaluz. That will be easier.

Today was a sunny day in Quito and we were looking around the Plaza Grande where to eat. There are 3 options around Plaza Grande, two of them expensive, the other with some view, but not impressive, to the square.

We head to Hotel Patio Andaluz to check the restaurant and it was great to find this quiet place 2 ~3 minutes walking from Plaza Grande (1 1/2 blocks).

The restaurant is wide, well decorated with Ecuadorian classic furnitures and mirrors. The building is around 600 years old so the walls are thick and are well kept. The patio where the tables are, is nice, warm and inviting.

The food not being marvelous, had great taste and the salads looked fresh. Don't miss the interesting glassware designed exclusively for the restaurant.

We asked for a couple of drinks (soda + beer), one mixed sandwich, one sea bass (including salad, rice and plantatins). As entry the house offers bread with two different homemade butters and some fried slices of sweet potato and maybe yucca. [ USD35 including tax and 10% service]

Thank SARAGUEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at El Rincon de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Sara,

Thanks for share you experience at our Resturant. We are happy you had a good experience.

Please come back we will be glad to serve you again

Best regards,
Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the main square with a supermarket and bank right next door.
Hotel was decorated in colonial style as well as the employees clothing attire. Hotel has just over 30 rooms which is an add bonus with all the rooms facing an indoor courtyard in one of two.
The staff was very friendly and helpful when needing directions. The restaurant was exceptional- each time they brought local appetizers (and a welcome drink from the area on the first visit).

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at El Rincon de Cantuna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Mark,

Thanks for your review.

We hope to have you here soon again.
Best regards,
Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Ok, this place has some personal history. Happens that my grandmother in her youth years used to attend parties and dances at 'El Patio Anadaluz". According to my mom and aunt those dances took place at the back patio. People used to attend to those dances very well dressed or with costumes, I'm talking around 1950's ish.

So we enjoyed a delicious food at a great place, we got great pics to share with the family.

The restaurant is located in Quito Colonial, and it was a perfect stop for us during our visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Magali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rincon de Cantuna also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to El Rincon de Cantuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing