We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
3
8
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
8
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

So this is one of the cheaper hostels in Valparaiso, but not a place I would choose to stay for any length of time. We were there for three nights.

When we arrived, the hostel was deserted. No staff, no guests. The front door was open so we sat and waited for twenty minutes before the owner turned up (he works in a shop across the road).

Our room was okay - very large, big bed, although not the most comfortable, springs sticking into your back if you sleep in the wrong place. The room stank of wood polish, overpoweringly so. We later realised that this was to mask the smell of damp. The room was clean though.

All the floors are wooden so anyone walking around can be heard anywhere in the building. The rooms are locked from the outside by small padlocks - given the front door is left open and nobody is around, we didn't feel it was especially secure.

The bathroom was pretty horrible - no windows so the smell of damp (severe damp, more like rot) is incredibly strong. Shower was okay, hot water and good pressure, you won't want to hang around though because of the smell.

The kitchen is small and everything had to be washed before use. Everything in there was quite dirty.

Breakfast was reasonable - avocado, yoghurt, bread, cheese etc.

Finally, the most irritating - the aforementioned permanent guest (well we assumed he was). This guy loves to watch loud TV in the dining area until late at night, and sings along in a very loud high pitched voice. He also doesn't flush the toilet after he's used it.

The owner asked what time we were checking out on our last day, but then didn't show up anyway. Fortunately we had paid the night before!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike_Ehrmantraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here over new year eve. Lovely house and friendly relaxed owner, who let's you go as you come and please. Our twin room had no window so got quite hot, so maybe ask for a room with a window. Location is walkable from bus station (email the hostal before arriving to get a pdf map) and so easy, quick and cheap to get to the main town. Supermarkets nearby and kitchen on each floor which was great, good wifi. New years eve here was fantastic and couldn't recommend more highly. Thus is a very affordable option for travellers and prices extremely good given all hostals had hiked their prices up for new year. Manager was very accommodating when it came to checking out and storing luggage as we had a bus a 9pm that night. Recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for with a window
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MK123431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The good things first: The hostel has a good location really close to the bus terminal and it is owned and managed by a super nice guy. The prices are fair for Valparaíso and the old house has a special charm. However, especially the kitchen and the bathrooms need to be renovated. I am sure the 2010 earthquake hit the house hard but since then nothing really happened to fix the damage. The hostel is not the cleanest and the breakfast is just standard for Chile (toast, butter, jam, and instant coffee).

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the main road, so rather the opposite side of the entrance.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Gustavo, the owner of Nuevamente truly loves his job. We arrived late, and when I called to tell him we were behind schedule at the border, he told me not to worry, to be patient and have fun! He waited up for us, and then ordered us a midnight pizza so we wouldn't have to go look for open restaurants. The next morning he sat us down with a map and a pen and wrote all over the city map with helpful tips and tricks. Restaurant recommendations, bus routes, which ascensores were closed... he knew it all.

The hostel itself is bright colored and light feeling. It appears to be an old house, with hardwood floors and original french doors into each room.There are only 8 rooms (some dorm style and some doubles) and there is a shared bathroom on each floor. It was kept spotlessly clean. There were two kitchens, also one on each floor. Breakfast was bread, butter, jam, coffee, cornflakes and yogurt, and was included. The common room was large, with a decent dvd collection, cable and a nice TV, if you are interested in watching TV in the evenings. The double room we stayed in was HUGE and had french doors onto a window-balcony. Also, they had reliable wifi, which I've found most other places will advertise but it never comes through.

It is not in the port area of the city, but the walk is pleasant (no more than 20 minutes), and there are also parks and plenty of food places around the hostel. Supermarket, bakery, butcher are all only a few blocks away.

The place is easy to walk to from the bus station (less than 10 minutes) and Valpo is a very well-lit city at night. We actually walked at 11 pm and felt very comfortable. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Gustva the owner is just the best - he was so kind and lovely and even helped us book air plane tickets on a Chilean website as we couldn't read the Spanish. He gave us good tips on what bus to take to see Valparaiso so we didn't have to organise a tour, answered all our questions, advised us where the shops where and what to see and even lent us his heater as the rooms get so cold. You could not ask for more from a host. Even his girlfriend and the cleaning lady were lovely and helpful.

The house is beautiful with spacious, tastefully furnished and clean rooms that have comfortable beds. The kitchens are a little small but adequate to use and the bathrooms are simple. The TV room is great with a decent selection of movies and a good TV. As with all hostels in Chile (and south america) there is no heating in the rooms but the showers have hot water and there are always extra blankets available. As far as I could see the dorms were all single beds, not bunk beds. Not a house for people with mobility problems as the stairs are narrow and steep.

I would definitely stay here again, especially in the summer as some of the rooms have balconies and when the sun floods the house is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews