We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, lovely hostal with homely atmosphere.”
Review of Hostal NuevaMente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal NuevaMente
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at Hostal NuevaMente, Vaparaiso, Chile for 3 nights, and it was our good and happy time. We reserved double room, but Alvaro David Ulloa Espinoza, the owner gave us a nice, clean, and spacious triple room. Overall environment is quite good, quiet, beautiful decoration and clean. The hostal kitchen is equipped with everything, needed for cooking. Alvaro had everything in the refrigerator such as bread, eggs, sausages, yogurt, butter, cheese, jam, coffee, fruit juice, and milk, when he let us do our breakfast ourselves. Also, we took this opportunity to buy some seafood and cook at the hostal's kitchen. Do you believe ! Alvaro even had cooking oil ready. This is something we didn't have at other places.
As for the location, it is in-between bus station and tourist attractions. When we arrived Valparaiso after our flight from Buenos Aires to Santiago, and continuing by bus to Valparaiso, we were glad that the hostal was not farer and Alvaro was waiting for us and concerned for our long journey.
This is because by nature , Alvaro is very polite, helpful and nice. Nearing the end of our S. America trip, when there was Sunami of Fire in Valparaiso, we knew that Alvaro was one of the firefighter volunteers. He has sent us some news about disaster, happened in Valparaiso.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
4 of 5 stars Value
3 of 5 stars Location
4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
3 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nateewutikul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

So this is one of the cheaper hostels in Valparaiso, but not a place I would choose to stay for any length of time. We were there for three nights.

When we arrived, the hostel was deserted. No staff, no guests. The front door was open so we sat and waited for twenty minutes before the owner turned up (he works in a shop across the road).

Our room was okay - very large, big bed, although not the most comfortable, springs sticking into your back if you sleep in the wrong place. The room stank of wood polish, overpoweringly so. We later realised that this was to mask the smell of damp. The room was clean though.

All the floors are wooden so anyone walking around can be heard anywhere in the building. The rooms are locked from the outside by small padlocks - given the front door is left open and nobody is around, we didn't feel it was especially secure.

The bathroom was pretty horrible - no windows so the smell of damp (severe damp, more like rot) is incredibly strong. Shower was okay, hot water and good pressure, you won't want to hang around though because of the smell.

The kitchen is small and everything had to be washed before use. Everything in there was quite dirty.

Breakfast was reasonable - avocado, yoghurt, bread, cheese etc.

Finally, the most irritating - the aforementioned permanent guest (well we assumed he was). This guy loves to watch loud TV in the dining area until late at night, and sings along in a very loud high pitched voice. He also doesn't flush the toilet after he's used it.

The owner asked what time we were checking out on our last day, but then didn't show up anyway. Fortunately we had paid the night before!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike_Ehrmantraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here over new year eve. Lovely house and friendly relaxed owner, who let's you go as you come and please. Our twin room had no window so got quite hot, so maybe ask for a room with a window. Location is walkable from bus station (email the hostal before arriving to get a pdf map) and so easy, quick and cheap to get to the main town. Supermarkets nearby and kitchen on each floor which was great, good wifi. New years eve here was fantastic and couldn't recommend more highly. Thus is a very affordable option for travellers and prices extremely good given all hostals had hiked their prices up for new year. Manager was very accommodating when it came to checking out and storing luggage as we had a bus a 9pm that night. Recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MK123431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The good things first: The hostel has a good location really close to the bus terminal and it is owned and managed by a super nice guy. The prices are fair for Valparaíso and the old house has a special charm. However, especially the kitchen and the bathrooms need to be renovated. I am sure the 2010 earthquake hit the house hard but since then nothing really happened to fix the damage. The hostel is not the cleanest and the breakfast is just standard for Chile (toast, butter, jam, and instant coffee).

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the main road, so rather the opposite side of the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Gustavo, the owner of Nuevamente truly loves his job. We arrived late, and when I called to tell him we were behind schedule at the border, he told me not to worry, to be patient and have fun! He waited up for us, and then ordered us a midnight pizza so we wouldn't have to go look for open restaurants. The next morning he sat us down with a map and a pen and wrote all over the city map with helpful tips and tricks. Restaurant recommendations, bus routes, which ascensores were closed... he knew it all.

The hostel itself is bright colored and light feeling. It appears to be an old house, with hardwood floors and original french doors into each room.There are only 8 rooms (some dorm style and some doubles) and there is a shared bathroom on each floor. It was kept spotlessly clean. There were two kitchens, also one on each floor. Breakfast was bread, butter, jam, coffee, cornflakes and yogurt, and was included. The common room was large, with a decent dvd collection, cable and a nice TV, if you are interested in watching TV in the evenings. The double room we stayed in was HUGE and had french doors onto a window-balcony. Also, they had reliable wifi, which I've found most other places will advertise but it never comes through.

It is not in the port area of the city, but the walk is pleasant (no more than 20 minutes), and there are also parks and plenty of food places around the hostel. Supermarket, bakery, butcher are all only a few blocks away.

The place is easy to walk to from the bus station (less than 10 minutes) and Valpo is a very well-lit city at night. We actually walked at 11 pm and felt very comfortable. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
1 km away
Latinoamericanohostal
Latinoamericanohostal
#101 of 225 in Valparaiso
9 reviews
2.5 km away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,817 reviews
2.2 km away
Ecomusic Hotel
Ecomusic Hotel
#21 of 35 in Valparaiso
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hostal La Colombina de Valparaiso
1.6 km away
Lemuria Hostel
Lemuria Hostel
#17 of 225 in Valparaiso
83 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal NuevaMente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal NuevaMente

Address: Pocuro No 1088 | Calle Pocuro No 1088, Valparaiso Chile, Valparaiso 2340480, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Valparaiso
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New mind Hostal is a budget hostel with ideal for the passing tourist who needs to get to relax in comfortable and spacious rooms and refuel on their way to basic amenities. We are located in the plan of Valparaiso just 5 blocks from the bus station (5 minutes walk), walking distance to business center and supermarkets, in a quiet and nice area called El Almendral, one of the oldest in our city. Surely the charm of this little corner of Valparaiso pleased and you will not regret visiting us ... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing