We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
753
158
39
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
753
158
39
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red castle no elevator attached restaurant bellavista neighborhood pablo neruda's house patio bellavista bohemian area lounge area restaurants and bars beautiful hotel perfect location bella vista area night life old mansion the hotel staff first floor minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were really happy with our stay here - we were especially appreciative that we were able to check in early, and we were even lucky enough to be upgraded, which was just the icing on the cake! It’s a fabulous spot.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curious796768, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, we are happy that you share your experience and we appreciate your comments, which allow us to improve every day.

We will be waiting for you on your next visit to Santiago.

Kind regards,

Paola Jara, Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Excellent boutique hotel experience. Must get one of the larger rooms since apart from more space you also get a wonderful balcony with a view.

Upon arrival we were received by a very friendly and helpful staff.
The room was outstanding (Room 17) with a balcony & view of the Andes mountain range (it was a clear day). The room was well furnished and the bed was a dream.

Wine tasting in the early evening was complimentary and staff/bartender were outstanding.

Dinner options are abundant and varied a short walk from hotel.

Uber worked just fine for pickup to airport early AM.

Overall - highly recommended for business travelers, couples and for the more adventurous who do not want to stay at a manufactured cookie cutter franchise hotel.

Room Tip: Choose and pay for a larger room on upper floor with balcony + view. I had Room 17 - Excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Pedro Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curious796768, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!.

We are pleased to know that our excellent service, comfortable rooms and location accomplished a nice stay for you.

We will be waiting for you on your next visit to Santiago.

Kind regards,

Paola Jara, Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Let me start by saying the most important thing: This is the coolest hotel we have ever stayed in. It feels like Dracula's mansion straight out of Transylvania (in the best sense possible). 90% of the value of staying here is the physical hotel itself.

Location is great as well. Bellavista is a central and vibrant neighbourhood with lots of restaurant options. Not the safest neighbourhood in the early hours, as we learned in a very strange situation where a non-guest stormed the hotel breakfast room and stole as many items as possible as the hotel staff ineffectually told him to leave. Security really could be improved.

Now comes the "But"! Their devotion to period decor was sometimes their downfall. The taps leaked and the shower sprayed water EVERYWHERE. Have you ever seen a showerhead wet the ceiling? Well... You're going to!

Due to airline issues, our flight was delayed 6 hours meaning we arrived at 4am. To avoid frustration at the crack of dawn, we accepted the hotel's offer to book a car for us. Not only was the driver late and at the wrong gate (we had to go look for him), the cost was exorbitant and though we clearly told the hotel we needed to pay by credit card, the driver only accepted cash. We ended getting a small cash advance from the hotel to pay the driver which they booked themselves. This was very poorly handled and not a good first impression.

For anyone else coming in, just find an Official Taxi at the airport. You can pre-pay with credit card and the taxis are in large supply at any time of day, even 4am as we disappointingly learned while walking around the airport looking for our overpriced private driver.

Room Tip: Be warned there is no elevator (again, true to the period).
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dibgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curious796768, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. Your evaluation will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

We have shared your feedback with our team members and we will work hard to improve.

Kind regards,

Paola Jara, Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Attractive, quirky hotel right in the middle of the bars and restaurants of Santiago. 2 mins from the funicular. Great location. Hotel very clean and staff super helpful for us. The evening “wine with other guests” is a nice touch and gives the opportunity to swap experiences with other guests.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MarkB11167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curious796768, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your opinion through Trip Advisor. We will continue working to improve!.

Kind regards,

Paola Jara, Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at Castillo Rojo for 5 days last week. It is a wonderful boutique hotel with a cosy atmosphere. From arrival you feel welcome by the always helpful staff, the lounge offers a wine hour everyday from 7-8 pm with the captivating attention from Sebastian and Mario. The rooms pay attention to detail and the bed is one of the most comfortable we’ve ever slept in. If you need help, the staff will do anything in their power. I’d not hesitate to go back anytime. Thank you Castillo Rojo

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank manoloandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curious796768, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind review and for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the travellers.

We will be waiting for your next trip to Santiago.

Kind regards,

Paola Jara, Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews